Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 07:36 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default i7 fun....not really

FRUSTRATING! EX58-Extreme, 920, and 12GB Patriot DDR3 1600 (yea I know, 6 sticks of RAM, bad idea...)

But really. So far running happy at 3.74GHZ, load temps of 50C. Completely stable.
My QPI is 187.
uncore x17,
mem x8
loose timings, spec RAM voltage,
CPU Vcore 1.3 in BIOS
QPI VTT 1.26
CPU PLL 1.84


The thing I dont get.... I try QPI of 188, and it wont even boot to BIOS! Tries, then autoloads safe default settings. What the hell? Tried various V increases to no luck. Whats going on??
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 07:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Are we talking QPI or BCLK here?

188 may be the BCLK 'breaking point' at which you begin to require large voltage increases to boot.

Increasing BCLK, you will need to increase virtually all of your voltages as it will bump up the speed of all components (RAM, Mobo, QPI, etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 07:41 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Ah, yea BCLK. Man these are a pain compared to S775!

You may have just got me nice and close to my goal. Keeping in mind I am very pleased with this Vcore and temp, and knowing now that my BCLK at 187 is where it is most happy, I decided to try BCLK of 185, turn Turbo on, and re-enable HT. Stressing now, (slightly higher core temps about 56), however running 3.88GHZ now. Will go for 187 x 21 soon. Thanks! (getting an understanding now!)
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.

Last edited by Cptn Vortex; November 18, 2009 at 07:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 08:53 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

3.925 now.... still 1.3v, 59c max. Woot! Going to lower vcore.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 09:03 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,798

My System Specs

Default

I bet if you remove 3 sticks of ram you'll be able to take it higher. My first 920 was limited to 185 blck w/ 6 sticks of ram. Removed 3 sticks and it could clock to 220 blck.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 09:36 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

Is that 920 a DO or C1?
I'm running my QPI (Bclk) at 202 with Mult x19 (no Turbo n HT "on")...gets me 3.83 Ghz with Ram at 1612 Mhz.....
vCore 1.31875 Uncore x16

Played around a bit trying to up my Bclk and bring up my RAM a bit, but couldn't get stable without large vCore boost, vtt and running Uncore x17....at the same time these Classified Boards are infamous for running a "warm" NB, so want to keep all of my Voltages down.
May monkey with it some more in the future (my Chip is a C1)..really though, this I7 running at 3.83 with Ram at 1612 OS on an Intel G2 SSD flys along pretty good....I know what I have to do to bring up my Vantage score !!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 09:43 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

D0 core. so far stable at 3.93ghz, reduced Vcore to 1.275 in BIOS (1.25 in HWMonitor). Max load temp now 56c. I bet I can go lower on vcore still. I'm actually pretty happy with this now.

Also, all 6 sticks are going to remain, not my machine sadly hehe.
And 256GB Corsair P256....friggin fast. Boots into 7 Pro 64b in about 12 secs, shuts down in 2. Its putting my system to shame!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 09:49 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

Yeah so of the low vCore's I'm seeing with those DO chips is pretty amazing...great Temps you got thier!!
My CPU running LinX gets a Max Temp around 68c......

My Boot up is no where near 12 sec...another anomaly with thses Evga X58 / Classified Boards is the extremely "slow to Post" bug after pushing the power button....think its about 20 sec from the time I push the power button till I here the Beep and Post...then it rockets to Desktop pretty quick..think its around 45 sec from power button to Desktop.
Still waiting on the new FW for this G2 Intel...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2009, 10:41 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Oh yea, the pause from hitting the power button is still there. I am basing the boot up time from when the BIOS is done loading storage controllers, etc. As soon as the win logo is visible.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 11:33 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Yeah that sounds very similar to my set-up then!! Sure nice eh?! The Slow to Post is odd alright, my 780i Board and E8400 Post almost immediatley after pushing the power button, think I read that thier are so many items to load / check on these Evga X58 Boards which results in the delay.
Sounds like a nice rig you put together.....that Corsair 256 GB SSD is huge $$$$, worth the cost of my entire 2nd Rig
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Americans are having fun 486 Off Topic 20 July 14, 2009 09:55 PM
Amd FUN, try elec999 CPU's and Motherboards 1 October 9, 2008 03:13 PM
This was fun tao5269 Off Topic 0 October 7, 2008 02:52 PM
BOINCing is FUN! misterlarry HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 September 20, 2008 10:53 PM
New build -Yes it's fun... Il Duce CPU's and Motherboards 15 July 8, 2007 07:57 PM