Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 13, 2007, 12:36 PM
Rookie

Default E6600 overclocking on P5B standard

Hi all,

i am a newbie in overclocking and after reading many posts about the e6600 and what can be achieve with such a cpu.... I am still wondering if it is faisable to overclock my cpu to 3ghz..... i don't want to go higher, I don't need it.

Nevertheless, there is no post about the e6600 and the asus p5b standard
especially for the bios setting in the regular asus P5B.

Here are the specs of my rig:

e6600 box
asus p5b standard
2 gig of ram ddr2 pc5300
bfg 8800gts 640mo

So far everything is working fine, I am happy with my rig... i just want to overclock it to 3 Ghz.

Any help will be appreciated.

thank you guys and by the way nice community here
:-)
Old September 13, 2007, 12:52 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H

Welcome to HCF

You may be able to get there with stock intel cooling if your chip doesn't need much more volts than stock.

in bios,advanced,jumperfree set clocking to manual then you can set your fsb yourself. also disable asus hyperpath under chipset setting i think.

As a minimum you need a stability tester like orthos to ensure your rig is stable at each oc you try and asus probe to monitor temps.
You should try to keep temps under 60 ideally running orthos but 70 is possible without errors. Over that is getting too hot and is likely to be very unstable.

you should be able to set fsb to 300 without changing anything else unless your cpu chip is a real dud.

To get to your goal of 334 fsb x9 cpu multi (3.06 ghz), you may need a small increase in cpu volts depending on cpu and to a lesser extent your mobo.

Don't try to oc your memory when finding your cpu oc ... leave it on auto ... memory comes later.

I have to run now, but that should get you started.

Last edited by pscout; September 13, 2007 at 02:40 PM.