Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 03:16 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default 32 FPS in crysis 8)

I think i got a nice score. and some good OC'n.
Attached Images
       
__________________
Death to Apple

Last edited by Overclocker~4.1; November 17, 2009 at 03:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 03:38 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

I just did a little bit better. This 8800 card is awesome.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 09:30 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Now try to voltage tweak the card and go further:P nice result carry one push it more and more!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 10:54 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Tweak its voltages? I have heard you can do that, but only with a firmware update. And from what i hear.you can easly kill your card.... that and i have no clue on how to proceed with volt moding.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 12:02 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

The 8800GTXs can't adjust the voltage with hardmods.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 12:23 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Is that to say it cant be done with the 8800GTX?
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 12:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
The 8800GTXs can't adjust the voltage with hardmods.
I think he means the ONLY way to increase the voltage on a 8800GTX is by performing a hardmod. The voltage cannot be changed in the video card's BIOS like a 4870 for example.

Edit: You should also be able to push the shaders and RAM some more on stock voltages.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 01:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Nah, i can drive the core up a little more. but anymore then that and my temps go up over 75-80 Degrees. and with my shaders and ram, anymore and the card crashes.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 03:43 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Edit: You should also be able to push the shaders and RAM some more on stock voltages.
I doubt it very much!! My old 8800 GTX Card would not OC all that great without Artifacts or very high temps!

Your OC on your 8800GTX is very good....I would be happy with that. the 8800 GTX was (and still is provided lower Res monitor) a very good GPU (only the ultra was better a few years ago!! I played right through Crysis on my 8800GTX at High settings (32 Bit) on a 19" native Res monitor!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2009, 04:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

I played x64 high settings through crysis and warhead on win vista with an average of 28-30 FPS on one 8800GTX. and i'm suprised with my card. other then my ram, I have surpassed the ultras speeds... and your right, the OC on my card is verry good. and on air none the less. I cant wait to get this beast under water.

I absolutly love this card.. it is the best I have ever had. (mind you I havent tried any 200 series) and i Ihink my investment in it was quite justified. I wouldn't even trade it for a newer card. well, unless it was one of the 280's i'm after lol.

This voltage matter intrigues me tho. how is this process carried out? if at all possible, and what are the benefits? I am assuming it would have to be WC'd
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best free fps himynameis O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 August 22, 2009 09:57 PM
crysis vs. crysis warhead shayan288 Gaming 2 January 7, 2009 11:18 AM
FPS GAMES! shayan288 Gaming 11 November 17, 2008 11:04 AM
For Sale: $20 Crysis Warhead Digital Rights w/Crysis 1 CD Key arekieh Buy/Sell & Trade 0 October 6, 2008 09:20 PM
How to tell FPS mattydies Gaming 5 May 13, 2008 11:06 AM