Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 08:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 47
Default Gigabyte GA-P35DS3l Overclocking help

Hey guys I have been running into this weird problem with my gigabyte board recently. It will not keep my FSB setting when I try to overclock. I have an e6550 and I have had it at 3.0GHz before but it does not want to keep the setting anymore and reverts back to stock FSB. Is there anyway to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 10:47 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Reset the CMOS.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 11:06 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,126

My System Specs

Default

But first take the battery out and disconnect the power supply for at least 15 minutes. I had this problem with my board as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 01:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 47
Default

Alright thanks, I hope this works I will try it when i get back from class. Just for clarification does taking the CMOS battery out and disconnecting the power supply reset the CMOS or will i still have to after?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 02:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 18
Default

It will (or should) reset your BIOS settings, so you will need to re set all of them after.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 02:51 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,632

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried updating the BIOS? Maybe you got a FSB hole?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 03:24 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,126

My System Specs

Default

It's a known issue with that board. I've had it happen to me a couple of times. And yes, clear the CMOS after disconnecting the battery and PSU. It worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 04:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 47
Default

Thanks a bunch guys I am home now so I will let you all know if it is working when I do it
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte Overclocking Championship 2009 - Worldwide Finals! FiXT Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 June 3, 2009 09:03 AM
Overclocking Using GigaByte Easy Tune 6 DaKine Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 April 13, 2009 02:27 PM
GIGABYTE Open Overclocking Championship (GO OC 2008) MAC Press Releases & Tech News 17 September 24, 2008 10:02 AM
Gigabyte Launches Overclocking Contest Shadowmeph Press Releases & Tech News 4 December 21, 2007 12:39 PM
Problems Overclocking with Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L DukeNukem Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 December 13, 2007 05:35 PM