Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 03:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Hey guys,

Tried SCG's settings but still getting the same error (fail on pass #1 LinX; 1024 MiB test) -> positive normal residual w/o BSOD.

Anything else I should be looking at?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 03:25 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 985

My System Specs

Default

Do you have CPU and RAM clock skews? On my ASUS R2E I have to put ~200ps delay on both.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 03:48 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Well mine is the P55 version so that could be the difference.
Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
Hmm... do I have the only motherboard that isn't like that?
My Vcore always drops under load whether LLC is on or off.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 04:18 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 407

My System Specs

Default

Did you at any time in the past put Memory voltage at auto and tried to run memory at 1600? I tried it once shortly, and the memory voltage was set auto at 1.71v, way higher than the recommended max of 1.65v. I shut it down at once (after running P95 for about 10 minutes) and fortunately did not sustain any damage to my memroy controller.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 04:34 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

If you leave it on auto it will scale with VTT. Set it manually.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 04:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Hey guys, Thanks kindly for the replies!

@zoob - Skew is available to be adjusted, but I do not know how to appropriately adjust and test this parameter. Any advice on this from your experience would be appreciated!

@chris - I have always kept the VDimm within 0.45V of VTT

Re: LLC on vs off, here are the results on my computer LLC on - 1.28125V target; 1.248V idle; 1.232V load (-0.26V; 21% droop under load) LLC off - 1.36875V target; 1.312V idle; 1.280V load (-0.32V; 24% droop under load) I realize that I didn't use the same target voltages so this may be skewed, but given this data, is it suggested I leave LLC on or off (I realize my BIOS voltage will need to be set higher with LLC disabled). Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 04:59 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

What OS are you running?
If it's 64bit make sure it's set accordingly in BIOS (your board should have that setting).
I've heard a couple people say that caused problems with linX.

Can you run Prime 95 Blend test OC'd with no problems?
Have you tried to run linX @ stock settings?
Maybe reset CMOS and then load optimized defaults.
Then see if linX gives the same errors @ stock..
Then try your OC again, but don't load it from a saved profile... input all settings manually again.

As for clock skew...
I don't really have any suggestions.
I've not had to mess with it yet.
Check out this link for a bit of info.
I've had trouble finding good info on clock skew and i7.

How to: Clock Skew Can Save Your Overclock And Memory - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

Last edited by somecanadianguy; November 15, 2009 at 06:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 10:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
HPET timer is set to 64 bit in BIOS

Prime 95 blend fails within 5 seconds at 17x uncore (@ 200MHz BCLK)
Will run stress tests on stock settings tonight.

Last edited by Fireball; November 15, 2009 at 11:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2009, 07:31 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 407

My System Specs

Default

Did you try a ram speed just below 1600, i.e.,1520.
cpu 190*20=3800
ram 8*190=1520

Sometimes these rams just do not meet the spec. I had to run mine at 1520 and was stable until I rma them to this new set I have now. 1520 is not that far off from 1600.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2009, 12:31 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Can you post all your RAM settings from BIOS?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going to jump in: i7 upgrade suggestions appreciated chrisk New Builds 90 November 30, 2009 03:20 PM
Gratuities Are Appreciated Arinoth Off Topic 3 July 18, 2009 03:36 PM
i7 Gaming/Office - Feedback Appreciated rbird New Builds 12 June 30, 2009 03:48 PM
build advice appreciated Hreidmar New Builds 7 October 15, 2008 03:59 PM
Oh Crap... input appreciated... TwystedMonkey O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 August 2, 2008 10:26 AM