Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 04:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 57
Default Help please

Ok, I just overclocked my i7 920 to 3.8mhz.
Are these voltages correct/safe?
I followed a few different tutorials and pieced them together for my needs.

\
Is refresh cmd delay(88 clocks) high?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 04:31 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

The settings are all perfectly safe. And the Tras is perfectly normally for DDR3 @ 1600.
I suggest you run some IntelBurnTest/LinX to make sure your settings are 100% stable.

Also, register your motherboard with eVGA for warranty and download the latest version of Eleet. (I've got 1.06.3)

If your chip is a DO, you should be able to run vcore a bit lower. Some chips will do 3.8GHz at stock (1.200v) volts.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 04:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayah View Post
The settings are all perfectly safe. And the Tras is perfectly normally for DDR3 @ 1600.
I suggest you run some IntelBurnTest/LinX to make sure your settings are 100% stable.

Also, register your motherboard with eVGA for warranty and download the latest version of Eleet. (I've got 1.06.3)

If your chip is a DO, you should be able to run vcore a bit lower. Some chips will do 3.8GHz at stock (1.200v) volts.
My chip is a DO. I would change my vcore lower but babrbarossa said that the "QPI/DRAM needs to be within .05V of your CPU V".

ALso, i have already registered with EVGA, and will download the new version of ELEET.
Next step is to run prime95.

Is the tRFC safe? its at 88 clocks.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 04:48 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

He meant CPU VTT not vcore. CPU VTT must be within .5v of DRAM and QPI.

That tRFC is definately "safe". Higher latencies are always safe, but won't be as high performing as lower latency. My particular memory (OCZ Obsidian) likes to run with a tRFC of 74 @ DDR3-1600.

I've actually found that IntelBurnTest/LinX will destabilize a system a lot faster than Prime95/SuperPi.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 04:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayah View Post
He meant CPU VTT not vcore. CPU VTT must be within .5v of DRAM and QPI.

That tRFC is definately "safe". Higher latencies are always safe, but won't be as high performing as lower latency. My particular memory (OCZ Obsidian) likes to run with a tRFC of 74 @ DDR3-1600.

I've actually found that IntelBurnTest/LinX will destabilize a system a lot faster than Prime95/SuperPi.
Is DRAM and QPI the same thing?
Basically, from my pics above, what three things need to be within .5 volts of eachother?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 05:50 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

On the voltage tab:

DIMM Voltage (1.5v stock) @ 1.65v (yours)
CPU VTT Voltage (1.1v stock) @ 1.1v (yours)

My fingers don't always like to type words in the right order. CPU VTT = QPI (different manufacturers call the same thing differently on different boards)
VTT and DIMM should be within 0.5v of each other.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 05:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayah View Post
On the voltage tab:

DIMM Voltage (1.5v stock) @ 1.65v (yours)
CPU VTT Voltage (1.1v stock) @ 1.1v (yours)

My fingers don't always like to type words in the right order. CPU VTT = QPI (different manufacturers call the same thing differently on different boards)
VTT and DIMM should be within 0.5v of each other.
So i need to increase my CPU VTT/QPI by .5 correct? Like this?

Last edited by NexRedshirt; October 31, 2009 at 06:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 06:29 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

That's 0.05v. And that's right.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 06:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayah View Post
That's 0.05v. And that's right.
Awesome! Thanks so much for your help!
As far as you can tell everything else looks ok?
Also what is DRAM? and is 1.71v for DRAM safe?

Last edited by NexRedshirt; October 31, 2009 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 07:15 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

1.71 is a little high, but the eVGA 758 does like to supply extra voltage. You could taper it down till it reaches 1.65v for 100% safety if you want.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes