Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 11:12 AM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default AMD Phenom 920 OC 3.7ghz

Welp it took a bit of work and quite a few reboots to do it. So far it is stable enough to post and run a few bench marks. I can't leave it like this and game for 3 or 4 hours as the overall water cooling temp starts to rise to a point that the cooling doesn't work very well. I reckon a triple rad would solve this issue.... anyway I managed to get 3.8ghz out of it but could only complete about 80% of 3dmark 06 before it froze up.



Here is a pic... and a link to my 3dmark score. Cheers ( you need a user account to see this link properly)

18305 3dmarks

SM2.0 score = 7268
SM3.0 score = 8278
CPU score = 5510

ORB - World of Performance



Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 11:19 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Why is the NB so slow?

Up that NB, 2400 should be possible without upping the NB volts.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 11:24 AM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I can try later... i was going for a stable OC... trying to keep the temps down on the NB. 1600 is stock for this cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 03:15 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Damn 57C, is that NB temp during idle?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 06:34 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yes it is 5IL. Ok i mananged to crank all the other stuff up so far so good. NB is just a hair under 2400MHZ and the HT link is the same. See how long it lasts... and i doubt that temp reading on the NB is accurate.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 07:27 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

If its idle NB temp geez what is it at load after a few hrs?
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 08:25 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
If its idle NB temp geez what is it at load after a few hrs?
probably 10-20C differences in load i think.

as for the NB, would 2400mhz get better you better performances in daily usage? or just in benchmark.

Good to see some AMD action here at HWC besides mr.Supergrover's rigs

awaiting to see some good results from you
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 01:04 AM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I did some reading and apparently NB temps can vary board to board chip to chip. 60+ you have stability issues etc...fail at 90+. So I'm within reason for the time being as much as I'd rather see that temp lower. I did manage to increase all the other settings super mentioned and it resulted in a much better score on the 3dmark.

18744 3DMarks

If you follow the link you can see... I also managed to drop the volts to around 1.56. Temperature is gonna stop me from going any futher so the single 120mm rad has reached its max. triple rad or TEC cooling is the only thing stopping me from going 4GHZ+ Braineater is currently working on a custom TEC cooler I will test when ready. If I can get the temps down to around 30c at 3.7 I should be able to hit 4ghz.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 07:34 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,627

My System Specs

Default

So this is pretty much a suicide run.....Nice!

What's 24/7 stability like?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 09:06 AM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I mentioned before I can't run it 24/7 like this... not because it isn't stable but because of the heat. I was watching the ticker on orb last night as scores come in from around the world and I beat a lot of high end rigs. I'd really like to borrow one of my friends 280's and sli this to see what kinda scores I can get. Some of the sli'd i7 975 extreme rigs were getting around 21-22 thousand.

Personally I'm rather impressed considering AMD's are known to not be great overclockers. I'll post some more pics etc once Braineater finishes his TEC inline whatchamacallit woodbox watercooling.

Last edited by HaDeS; October 18, 2009 at 09:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 550 unlocked to B50 X4 OC @ 3.7GHz 1.415v canmx120 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 October 2, 2009 08:50 PM
Phenom 920 HaDeS Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 September 18, 2009 06:31 PM
[WTB] AMD Phenom II X4 920,940 or the 720 j-ronde Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 21, 2009 11:20 AM
Phenom II 3.7ghz with stock cooling Jonwall Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 February 25, 2009 10:35 AM
AMD prepares its Phenom FX, Phenom X4 and Phenom X2 lineups Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 May 4, 2007 07:38 AM