Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2007, 08:24 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yeah- speedfan shows +12 = 11.25 and AVcc = 3.22.

I think it's always read those voltages, and I haven' ttrusted it in the past- just assumed it wasn't reading correctly. But since the beginning I have had suspicions about the psu- the two fans running off one connector don't seem to be getting as much juice as the other fans- and when I plugged a gas tube-light into that connector it wouldn't even light properly- when I switched, it did. Is it safe to just stick a multimeter in the plugs and check it?
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2007, 08:32 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Yes you can do that if you know what the pin-outs are supposed to be.

I'd try it out of the system (jumper the green + any black on the 20/24 pin connector) and if your +12V line isn't above 12v without a load you can be pretty sure that you've got a problem with the psu. (Mine runs 12.30 under speedfan, but I've never needed to check it properly with a DVM).

Here's a link to the pin-outs....

http://www.helpwithpcs.com/courses/p...nc-pinouts.htm
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2007, 08:57 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

That's a handy little link- Thanks! Temps are normal today so I hope it behaves itself until my new motherboard and watercooling get here so that I only have to pull it all apart once. I also hope that waiting doesn't turn out to be a big mistake.

edit: think i might try this test

Last edited by Babrbarossa; March 7, 2007 at 10:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2007, 06:12 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I just flashed to th elatest bios today, and two wonderful things happened: The first id that the temperatures seem to be reading correctly, or at least mroe correctly CPU at 44 and Cores at 38 with and overclock of 3.2 (I'll try 3.4 again soon)

The second thing is that the freekin CPU heatsink fan is finally going at the correct rpm's. On the old bios it seemed to go how ever fast it felt like (usually only 1000 rpm even though I set it to run at 100% in the bios- this was causing the fluctuating temperatures, and was allowing it to get too warm.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2007, 11:03 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Yeah a BIOS flash can do wonders for your mobo sometimes, have you tried seeing if you can get anymore out of it with this new BIOS?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2007, 12:22 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

yeah! I got it up to 3450!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes