Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2007, 11:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Coast Canada
Posts: 175
Default 24/7 Overclock?

Hi people, I have been wondering something with regards to my light overclock of A E6400 C2D. I have found the limits (2.84 GHZ) I can get with my Ram, It is the weakest link in terms of speed. Being DDR2 533MHZ running at a top speed of 710MHZ At 5,6,6,18 is as high as I get get. Anyways I have settled on a 2.4 GHZ speed for 24/7 use. When I plan on gaming for a bit I will bump it up to 2.75 GHZ for a stable speed with moderate volts to Ram and CPU. So my Question is, How long realistically will my Processor last with this kind of abuse?? The temps never get above 55C at load. I can't seem to get a solid answer on this. I hear "oh it won't last a year" or "It'll out last 5 years":help: Which is right? Should I just go back to default speeds when not gaming to help preserve life. I get the concept of as long as the temps aren't above 60-65C I should be fine for a long time. But also what about my Ram? Can budget Kingston handle 2.2 volts for a 6 hour haul?Please somebody help me sort this out. I am not rich so I need to be careful in how I treat my Rig
__________________
System spec: Intel i7 2600k, Gigabyte GTX 570 Super Overclock, Kingston DDR3 2X4 GB sticks, ASUS P8P67 PRO, Cooler Master 700 watt PSU, 750GB*2 Sata,SATA III 1TB HDD Acer 24 Widescreen, Antec 300, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 12:45 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

I've been running my AMD AthlonXP 2500+ at 2.2 GHz (up from 1.8 GHz) for 4 years running pretty much 24/7/365 ...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 07:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

You didn't mention what voltage you're pumping into the chip.

The two things that will degrade your chip over time are heat (we can control that) and Vcore.

The C2Ds haven't been around long enough to provide us with any real data, but I'd expect a chip who's Vcore was kept below 1.6 and who's temp was kept below 60C under load to last at least 5+ years.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 08:52 AM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

I don't think this will help, but I turn my Vcore down and overclock to 2600MHz (from 2400MHz).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2007, 11:10 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Your hardware will be fine @ those speeds and volts.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2007, 04:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Coast Canada
Posts: 175
Default Believe it or not my volts are the lowest I can go:

Basically it is at 1.18 V.core which is way less than the default 1.35 V.
Core at 2.13Ghz So I guess it'll hold out for a while till I can afford to buy a good Quad. Even at my max speed I didn't have to go above 1.4 V.core. Soon as I get some faster Ram things will change I'm sure. Thanx for the feedback
__________________
System spec: Intel i7 2600k, Gigabyte GTX 570 Super Overclock, Kingston DDR3 2X4 GB sticks, ASUS P8P67 PRO, Cooler Master 700 watt PSU, 750GB*2 Sata,SATA III 1TB HDD Acer 24 Widescreen, Antec 300, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Successful Overclock vintank Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 January 25, 2008 11:09 AM
Problems with overclock FritzGuy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 December 10, 2007 06:14 PM
Help me Overclock my Firestix. Dethredic Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 November 9, 2007 09:15 AM
8800 GTS 320 MB overclock belgolas Video Cards 2 September 21, 2007 05:52 PM
Well I got one, now how do I overclock it? Supergrover Off Topic 11 May 1, 2007 02:30 PM