Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2007, 08:26 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Default A1640n Hp

I have a HP a1640N , with a daul Core 6300 , and was just wondering how to overclock it
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2007, 08:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

HPs in general don't have overclocking available to them in bios, and my few attempts at using software on them for OCing haven't been pretty.

Another thing to keep in mind is that while the motherboard may be branded as a known make/model do not!!!! under any circumstance attempt to flash the bios with anything other than something supplied directly from HP themselves. Chances are that it's a proprietary HP bios which is not compatible with the mobo manufacturer's specs and you'd end up not only with a door stop instead of a motherboard, you'd also have lost your OS license as they are tied directly to the hardware and cannot be transfered over.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2007, 08:11 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

Also, they're usually low-quality motherboards and memory, so I wouldn't even advise overclocking them if you could (which you can't).

HP generally uses custom-made motherboards by Asus w/ a custom BIOS which contains a "tattoo" for hardware activation. As wilson said, if you flash the BIOS (which you generally can't as they're usually not consumer-available mobos), you will most likely lose your OS as well as your warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2007, 10:50 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

I use have a HP a420n with an AMD Athlon XP 3000+ Barton and the motherboard in there was a Asus A7V8X-LA which is pretty much the exact same as the Asus A7V8X-MX . The only difference is the A7V8X-MX did not have SATA controllers. Because Asus made the A7V8X-LA for HP/Compaq if you went into the BIOS you were not given any control over raising the FSB, Voltage or Memory timings. And yes if you try to Flash the BIOS say with the BIOS for the consumer version of your motherboard and you are successful (highly unlikely) you will most likely lose your warrant and could damage the board.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes