Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 04:41 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default 260 OC'ing

hi,
i have a gtx 260 core 216 superclocked, i'm thinking of overclocking it a little bit for folding, i uploaded an image of the stock settings with fan at 70% and temp at 60 so i think i have room (temp wise) to OC a bit, do i un-link and just raise the shader clock? or do i leave it linked and raise the core clock too? and whats a good starting point? core @700 and shader @1500? also is there any safety shut down like the bsod so i dont cook my card?.. lol
Attached Images
 
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 04:57 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

oh, i forgot, i lowered fan to 61% and its at 63c full load with F@H.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 05:02 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

There is no real safety shut down, it just locks up. I really find the 2x0 series cards to be a pain to OC, not a joy like the 8800/9800 cards.

If you are lucky your card will do 670 with linked shaders, maybe get over 700 with EVGA Voltage Tuner (Try it at around 1200mV, or whatever)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 05:20 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

so should i unlink and just raise shaders? i dont think i'm comfortable with changing the voltage just yet ;)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 07:08 PM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BT! View Post
so should i unlink and just raise shaders? i dont think i'm comfortable with changing the voltage just yet ;)
Pussy.

Voltage is where you start to get the REAL over clocks.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 07:15 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

There is NO point in putting your core up if you are going to be folding, it just causes more heat that your fan has to deal with. Myself, i have everything stock except fan speed at 70% and shaders at 1520MHz and it folds never over 65C
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 07:42 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
There is NO point in putting your core up if you are going to be folding
thats what i was wondering, i see most people talk about shaders when folding so i didn't think i need to raise the core, i'm going to try 1500 and see how my temps are. thanks. :)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 07:45 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy View Post
Pussy.

Voltage is where you start to get the REAL over clocks.
hehe, i can't afford another card if i fry it atm.. in a couple months i might buy a 295 so i'll mess with voltage and OC more with this card then. :)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 08:17 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

cool, i put it to 1500 and got a 1000ppd increase, from 7200ish to 8200ish :)
Attached Images
 
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 08:19 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

now just keep checking your log files and make sure it doesn't complain about unstable_machine or EUE's or anything.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] EVGA GTX 260 and DangerDen GTX 280/260 full coverage water block - Price drop! Lima Buy/Sell & Trade 4 June 18, 2009 05:39 PM
[WTB] GTX 260 216sp or GTX 260 192 sp or HD4870 1GB rom0n Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 10, 2009 03:19 PM
oc'ing q9550 johnnyuterus Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 February 9, 2009 11:49 PM
GTX 260 (216) n 260 (192) in SLI? rjbarker Video Cards 4 September 23, 2008 11:47 PM
SLI and OC'ing...???? frosty Video Cards 1 August 25, 2007 04:12 PM