Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 03:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Default Once stable OC is now unstable?

Hey there Canuks, quick question about a little OC I did this past week.

I'm running a new build here with some cheap G.Skill ram (4 gigs of 9-9-9-24 DDR3-1333MHz), a Phenom II x3 720 BE and an EAH4870 DK 1Gig.

I OC'ed the CPU to 3.4 GHz and +0.1V (to around 1.426V) and was able to run Prime95 for 8hrs over night and figured hey, everything is prob good. The GPU was also OC'ed to 800MHz for GPU and 1100MHz for memory. The RAM has been untouched as I believe its not even worth trying as it was fairly cheap and I don't believe it was ever meant to be overclocked.

This morning I went to restart my computer when I get BSoD of type 0x0000000a, which I believed referes to many, many different things but I figured it was prob the OC. I restarted and fired up P95 and started blend... which died in about 15 mins. Confused I dropped it down to 3.0GHz and have Blend running now.

While I think the 3.0 will do what I need to it, I'm curious as to why a once stable OC could become unstable. I'm running with a Coolmaster 212+ for cooling, which seems to be doing a phenomal job (only 30C under load, 22C minimum).

Also, I ran memtest for 2-3 hours, which got throught 4 loops and a bit clean, going to run it again tonight for a full 12hrs.

Any advice? It's sort of unsettling doing things when I know that the computer could BSoD at random = /

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 03:45 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Depending on how you overclock, your RAM might've been overclocked as well when you changed some BIOS settings. Make sure that is not the case.

Run OCCT for like 5 hours and Memtest test #5 for like 3 hours before running it overnight.

For your GPU, check that it's stable as well by running FurMark for say an hour or so.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 03:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Default

Thanks for the reply, I'll give it a look.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unstable while browsing, but passes large FFT Fenrise Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 September 1, 2009 12:03 PM
E6750 unstable core voltage fire_storm CPU's and Motherboards 1 July 30, 2009 04:42 PM
Unstable i7 920 System NightRain CPU's and Motherboards 2 April 9, 2009 06:54 PM
FAH "Unstable Machine" EUE limit etc... chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 November 5, 2008 03:56 PM
BIOSHOCK PC - An Unstable P.O.C. ? DarKStar Troubleshooting 8 July 30, 2008 08:27 PM