Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 07:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Default Unstable while browsing, but passes large FFT

Hey there Hardware Canucks, quick question regarding my overclocking...

I ran Prime95's large FFT last night for 10 hours, completely stable with temps never raising above 35C. This morning I was doing a little bit of browsing on Firefox when all of a sudden I get a BSOD, I think it must be the OC and quickly jump out of it to go back to stock for the day.

Then I start thinking, if I was able to run large FFT for 10 hours, how could Firefox bring it down?

I have a Phenom II x3 720 BE, stock settings at 14x and 1.325V overclocked to 17x with a 1.426V. This seems like a fairly conservative OC, I have no need of the 3.7GHz, but I would most definably like to get the 3.4 if possible.

Anything I should look at? Bad memory perhaps? Loose connector? Let me know!

Thanks =)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 07:53 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I've had Firefox, and some reports from others of Firefox crashing out with flash heavy pages.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 07:54 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenrise View Post
Hey there Hardware Canucks, quick question regarding my overclocking...

I ran Prime95's large FFT last night for 10 hours, completely stable with temps never raising above 35C. This morning I was doing a little bit of browsing on Firefox when all of a sudden I get a BSOD, I think it must be the OC and quickly jump out of it to go back to stock for the day.

Then I start thinking, if I was able to run large FFT for 10 hours, how could Firefox bring it down?

I have a Phenom II x3 720 BE, stock settings at 14x and 1.325V overclocked to 17x with a 1.426V. This seems like a fairly conservative OC, I have no need of the 3.7GHz, but I would most definably like to get the 3.4 if possible.

Anything I should look at? Bad memory perhaps? Loose connector? Let me know!

Thanks =)
You want to either run Blend (memory) or Small (cpu) with prime 95.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 07:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Default

I did run both Blend and Small for about an hour each, I'm guessing that wasn't long enough. I'll bump it back up and see if I can reproduce the error; see if it really is about the OC.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 08:00 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Run OCCT for like 4 hours. If it passes, you should be good.

What does the BSOD say?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 08:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Default

That's the thing, I jumped out of it to quickly on the assumption that it was my OC, so I never got a real good look at it.

I have it bumped back up, so I'm going to see if it happens again.

Also, I believe it was an IRQL_NOT_LESS_THEN_EQUAL error. That would be my best guess.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 09:59 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Now that you are not testing your overclocks stabilty, but rather troubleshooting an error, just set your clocks back to normal and see if it happens again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 11:36 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

As Enab pointed out...run the "Blend" test..an hour isn't long enough....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 12:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I usually run fft blend test before I go to bed and see if it craps out overnight.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 01:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

I'm not entirely sure, but I had the same BSOD when my RAM settings were sort of messed up, either your divider, clocked too high, timings..

Clock it down a little bit and try it out, but before you do that, try what enaberif said, an hour really isn't long enough..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P6T squeezing noise when browsing pp1111 Troubleshooting 6 June 28, 2009 03:52 PM
Folding@Home Passes The 5 Petaflop Mark LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 February 19, 2009 10:53 AM
Torrent killing browsing connection? chouchou Troubleshooting 18 February 5, 2009 09:30 AM
BIOSHOCK PC - An Unstable P.O.C. ? DarKStar Troubleshooting 8 July 30, 2008 09:27 PM
Browsing Issue with Firefox BALISTX O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 March 4, 2007 05:48 PM