Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 05:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default Overclocking questions

Guys. I had some questions please.. System is in my sig, though I'm on air right now, including the cards.. what's the max cpu, ram voltage would someone recommend when on air.. I got e8400 stable at 4.3ghz.. though it took 1.5v and around 2.2v RAM, I know I could do it on less voltage, just need the RAM and voltage tweaking.. Secondly, I got some Crucial Ballistix PC8500 2x1GB RAM, is there anyone who can help me with RAM timings.. and also how does the RAM dividers work, for the life of me, since the last time I oced (almost more than an year ago), I cannot remember the methodology and how to implement when ocing.. Thanks .. :)
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 05:38 PM
Kylzer's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Aberdeen,UK
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
Guys. I had some questions please.. System is in my sig, though I'm on air right now, including the cards.. what's the max cpu, ram voltage would someone recommend when on air.. I got e8400 stable at 4.3ghz.. though it took 1.5v and around 2.2v RAM, I know I could do it on less voltage, just need the RAM and voltage tweaking.. Secondly, I got some Crucial Ballistix PC8500 2x1GB RAM, is there anyone who can help me with RAM timings.. and also how does the RAM dividers work, for the life of me, since the last time I oced (almost more than an year ago), I cannot remember the methodology and how to implement when ocing.. Thanks .. :)
Ok well.....1.5v is way to much and will degrade your chip in no time i used like 1.325v maximum on my E8400 for 4ghz

once you go past 4ghz the better performance vs the voltage increase is just not worth it.

Anyways on to the ram i would aim for 5-5-5-15 @ 2.2v

Now ram dividers The divider takes the FSB and runs the memory at a set "divider" of the Bus Speed.

As can example... if you have a bus speed of 266 and set the memory to a 1.5 divider you get 400 MHz memory. Memory is dual double rate and so transfers data at two times the MHz. 400 = 800, 533 = 1066 and so on.
__________________
CPU: i7 920 @ 4.4ghz
MOBO: GA-X58-UD4P
RAM: Corsair 3x2GB 1600mhz
GPU: PowerColour HD 4890 Xfire
PSU: Corsair HX850
Case: CMD690

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 06:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kylzer View Post
Ok well.....1.5v is way to much and will degrade your chip in no time i used like 1.325v maximum on my E8400 for 4ghz

once you go past 4ghz the better performance vs the voltage increase is just not worth it.

Anyways on to the ram i would aim for 5-5-5-15 @ 2.2v

Now ram dividers The divider takes the FSB and runs the memory at a set "divider" of the Bus Speed.

As can example... if you have a bus speed of 266 and set the memory to a 1.5 divider you get 400 MHz memory. Memory is dual double rate and so transfers data at two times the MHz. 400 = 800, 533 = 1066 and so on.
I see your points, at the moment, i'm just trying to push it as far as I can on air, for fun man.. I think I got to 4.05ghz on around 1.4v, after that I had to push further..

As the RAM timings, I was wondering about full timings, like in the BIOS, when you set the RAM timings, you have to set all the required settings, otherwise leave the whole timings part on auto..

About timings I forgot to mention, I don't really have a divider, mine's more like it goes by the bus speed.. if I set it at (E.g.) 450 x 8, then I have to choose a speed to run it at.. kind of confusing..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 07:31 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

1.5vcore is way too high for air. i think your on water so the max i would go for 45nm is 1.45 and 55nm would be 1.55 vcore max
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 07:47 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

vCore 1.5v is a tad high...but i certainly wouldn't "freak" over it...not in the least.
Quote:
Ok well.....1.5v is way to much and will degrade your chip in no time i used like 1.325v maximum on my E8400 for 4ghz
Very "generalized" statement.....pointless to express what your vCore is, as all Chips are not created equal. Miggs, for what its worth, my E8400 requires 1.45v to get stable at 4.05 Ghz....its been running at that vCore for about 16 months now. I have ran mone at 1.5v to get stable at 4.2 Ghz and run some Benches....left it like that for about a month or two, then rolled back to 4.05 ghz.
Although many on here turn thier noses up at the nVidia Chipset, provided you got a decent one (I know seems rare but my 780i is still going strong), this Board allows the user to "unlink" Memory from the FSB....allows for easier OC'ing imo.

As for your RAM Timings....all I recall doing was setting the vDimm to 2.5v (I think, whatever the Mushkin vDimm spec states) 5-5-5-12 2T....all the rest on Auto......then went to 1T and it remained stable.
Maybe someone on here with the Ballistix RAM can provide full set of Timings.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 09:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
vCore 1.5v is a tad high...but i certainly wouldn't "freak" over it...not in the least.


Very "generalized" statement.....pointless to express what your vCore is, as all Chips are not created equal. Miggs, for what its worth, my E8400 requires 1.45v to get stable at 4.05 Ghz....its been running at that vCore for about 16 months now. I have ran mone at 1.5v to get stable at 4.2 Ghz and run some Benches....left it like that for about a month or two, then rolled back to 4.05 ghz.
Although many on here turn thier noses up at the nVidia Chipset, provided you got a decent one (I know seems rare but my 780i is still going strong), this Board allows the user to "unlink" Memory from the FSB....allows for easier OC'ing imo.

As for your RAM Timings....all I recall doing was setting the vDimm to 2.5v (I think, whatever the Mushkin vDimm spec states) 5-5-5-12 2T....all the rest on Auto......then went to 1T and it remained stable.
Maybe someone on here with the Ballistix RAM can provide full set of Timings.
Well hello barker, thanks for the comments. So I should be happy with this right..

http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/2650/sp1clocked.jpg
ORB - Compare
ORB - Compare

that sp1 run was a suicide run.. Pretty lucky to get past at 4.5ghz without a BSOD lol.. Both 3dmark runs are on a single stock 4870 card.

Seems like whatever I do, 490x9 around 4.4ghz is the most I can get without getting a BSOD on a 3dmark06 run.. 4.3ghz is stable, though temps get hot, off course due to the high voltage..

Also guys I'm only pumping 1.5v through this sucker for benching purposes, no way i'm running it 24/7 this hot.. You know.. ima go to 4.3 ghz and run a F@H on the weekend, stability testing, and I guess some help..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 02:04 AM
Kylzer's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Aberdeen,UK
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
vCore 1.5v is a tad high...but i certainly wouldn't "freak" over it...not in the least.


Very "generalized" statement.....pointless to express what your vCore is, as all Chips are not created equal. Miggs, for what its worth, my E8400 requires 1.45v to get stable at 4.05 Ghz....its been running at that vCore for about 16 months now. I have ran mone at 1.5v to get stable at 4.2 Ghz and run some Benches....left it like that for about a month or two, then rolled back to 4.05 ghz.
Although many on here turn thier noses up at the nVidia Chipset, provided you got a decent one (I know seems rare but my 780i is still going strong), this Board allows the user to "unlink" Memory from the FSB....allows for easier OC'ing imo.
What stepping ?

mine was a C0 not even a E0 but i guess i was lucky :P

but yeah i still think my "generalized statment" is safe maybe not completely correct though.
__________________
CPU: i7 920 @ 4.4ghz
MOBO: GA-X58-UD4P
RAM: Corsair 3x2GB 1600mhz
GPU: PowerColour HD 4890 Xfire
PSU: Corsair HX850
Case: CMD690

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 09:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 61
Default

good info in this thread
__________________
Q8200 @ 3.0GHZ
Asus Maximus 2 Formula
2x ATI 4890 1gb
Gskill 2x2gb PC 8500@ 1200MHz
Western Digital SATA 320GBx2 RAID0
X-Fi Supreme
Sony Bluray dvd-rw
PC P&C Silencer 750w
antec Scout
Panasonic 56 inch lcd
Vista Ultimate SP2 x64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 11:05 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
What stepping ?
Whatever the initial Stepping was...(sorry forgot..its been a long time since I played in the BIOS or messed with it)...the wife has that Rig now, but still toodling along at 4.05 Ghz.....think the first was CO Stepping ...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 01:23 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Well hello barker, thanks for the comments. So I should be happy with this right..

http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/2650/sp1clocked.jpg
ORB - Compare
ORB - Compare

that sp1 run was a suicide run.. Pretty lucky to get past at 4.5ghz without a BSOD lol.. Both 3dmark runs are on a single stock 4870 card.

Seems like whatever I do, 490x9 around 4.4ghz is the most I can get without getting a BSOD on a 3dmark06 run.. 4.3ghz is stable, though temps get hot, off course due to the high voltage..

Also guys I'm only pumping 1.5v through this sucker for benching purposes, no way i'm running it 24/7 this hot.. You know.. ima go to 4.3 ghz and run a F@H on the weekend, stability testing, and I guess some help..
Pretty impressive OC thier Miggs.....makes me want to "open up my 2nd rig" again and go for some Benches ;) .....never could crack 20K with 4.05 Ghz and 2 x 9800 GTX +'s.....think a 4.2 Ghz run would do it though ....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking the Q6700 questions kragnorok Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 March 31, 2009 10:27 PM
A few questions on overclocking my E8400 and 4870 lanken123 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 January 11, 2009 07:49 PM
Pre-overclocking questions Nodscene CPU's and Motherboards 5 June 15, 2008 07:20 AM
Some questions about F@H qwerty HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 October 16, 2007 06:45 PM
some questions about the pc... omgwtf CPU's and Motherboards 17 August 17, 2007 09:44 PM