Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 12:01 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default First A64 OC Attempt only 2070Mhz???

Well I decided to start my A64 OC. Here is what I did.

First went into the BIOS and set the the mem timing from auto to stock settings, saved and rebooted, ran good.

Next went in upped the FSB to 210 and set the memory divider to 1/02 saved rebooted and go to Windows logon screen and rebooted itselfs, so then I went back into the BIOS set the FSB to 205, loaded into Windows, ran Super PI worked. Then upped the FSB to 207, booted into Windows ran Super PI worked. Upped the FSB to 208, got to Windows login screen crashed. went back in set the FSB to 207, set the mem divider to 9/10, loaded into Windows ran Super PI worked, that is where I am currnetly at.

Any ideas on why it wouldn't go to 208?



__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 12:15 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Try 1:1, sometimes a few of the dividers work weird and cause instability. U sure all your mem settings are good? Did you change LDT to 4x?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 12:17 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Yep mem settings are good. Set the LDT to 4x

current mem divider i'm on now is 9/10 running at 188
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 12:17 PM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

Locking up, crashing, or restarting when loading or using Windows is an obvious sign of memory limitation.

Loosen up your memory timings. I would recommend to simply dock them back to your BIOS' "AUTO", or loosen them manually to something like 3-3-3-6 or 3-3-3-7. You can also reduce your HyperTransport link down to 800MHz or less, then set the Bus:RAM divider to 5:3 or 4:3.

If that boots stably, raise the memory voltage to 2.8v (you can keep it at 2.8v 24/7 for all speeds for the Platinum editions). Finally, you can proceed to increase the system bus.

Your Venice should be able to pull 215MHz at stock 1.4v Vcore. 1.4750v Vcore is the highest I recommend going, which is good for about 235MHz+ system bus; 1.5v for 260MHz and beyond! My San Diego and your Venice are identical processors, bar L2 cache and maybe HTT link. The San Diego is a bit sensitive to heat, pretty much giving in at 50 centigrade.

Last edited by Amon; August 9, 2007 at 12:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 04:58 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Drop your cpu multi and retest to see if it's the mem.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 05:25 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Drop your cpu multi and retest to see if it's the mem.
QFT As both posters said it sounds like memory, do you know the limit on your ram yet? I find the limit of my ram first ( or cpu first it doesn't matter ) drop the multi, throw 2.7v @ least ( I had mine @2.95v for years but whatever ) run stock timings or loosen them abit. I wouldn't go 3-3-3-8 yet but drop to 2.5 if your inclined. so start raising the FSB 1:1 5mhz @ a time if it boots to dows, run super pi, if it passes raise the FSB again. if it fails to boot or fails super pi then give it 2.8v if that fails loosen timings, once your @ the limit of your ram then you do the same thing with you cpu, raise the multi and drop to your lowest divider.
Now your ready to overclock, it rarely works perfect , @ least for me, now you know the "range" of what your hardware can do, now start fiddling to get the best clocks out of both cpu/ram, this isn't something that happens overnight. And thats the best part of overclocking, the little tweaks, the mass of notes on different settings scattered amongst my desk
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 07:30 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Is that kit TCCD?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 08:13 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Is that kit TCCD?
No, they are Aeneon or Infineon IC's in them according to OCZ
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 08:22 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
QFT As both posters said it sounds like memory, do you know the limit on your ram yet? I find the limit of my ram first ( or cpu first it doesn't matter ) drop the multi, throw 2.7v @ least ( I had mine @2.95v for years but whatever ) run stock timings or loosen them abit. I wouldn't go 3-3-3-8 yet but drop to 2.5 if your inclined. so start raising the FSB 1:1 5mhz @ a time if it boots to dows, run super pi, if it passes raise the FSB again. if it fails to boot or fails super pi then give it 2.8v if that fails loosen timings, once your @ the limit of your ram then you do the same thing with you cpu, raise the multi and drop to your lowest divider.
Now your ready to overclock, it rarely works perfect , @ least for me, now you know the "range" of what your hardware can do, now start fiddling to get the best clocks out of both cpu/ram, this isn't something that happens overnight. And thats the best part of overclocking, the little tweaks, the mass of notes on different settings scattered amongst my desk
Not quite understanding.

So should I drop my CPU multi down from 10x to 9x?

Leave my mem divider @ 1:1?

So I'm increasing my memory MHz 5 at a time or the FSB 5 MHz at a time?

Up my voltage on the memory to 2.7 and should I leave my ram settings on auto?

So far on auto they show at 2-3-2-5

Here is what i've done so far it's been a mess.

I tried loosing the timings to 2.5-3-3-7 and left my mem div @ 1:1. I had my FSB to 208, wouldn't boot, drop it back down to 205 still wouldn't boot. Put everything back to auto for the memory and dropped the FSB back to 200 it booted.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 08:30 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Basically you have to test the max of CPU and mem separately so you know where the instability is coming from. To test mem max, drop your cpu multi, to test cpu max, use divider.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Cooling Attempt enaberif Water Cooling 13 February 18, 2008 04:35 PM
First OC attempt,any suggestions or opinions? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 August 12, 2007 08:59 AM