Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 08:33 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

How low should I drop my CPU multi?

Right I went back in set my timings manually for my memory.

As for my memory voltage it's currently at 2.6v
Memory is showing 1.37 in CPU-Z and 1.4v in the BIOS.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 08:55 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Low like x7 or x6

I would up the volts to 2.7v on the memory, 2.6v is stock your not trying to run them stock.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 09:01 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

I think I understand. by dropping the cpu multi down to 6x or 7x i'm underclocking the processor and then I raise the FSB to see what my max memory is. Should I leave my timings at stock? Also should i drop my LDT/HTT down to 3x?
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 09:27 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

yes start @ stock timings, dont think you'll get far though, I would go 2.7v and 2.5-3-2-5 1t

Yes drop the htt
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 10:33 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Here is how far I got.

FSB - 203
CPU Multi - 7x
CPU MHz - 1421Mhz
HTT - 3x (609)
vdimm - 2.7v
Mem div - 1:1
timings - 2.5-3-3-5

I tried timings of 2.5-3-2-5 - crashed loading windows, tried 2.5-3-3-6 error on Super PI

I then tried

FSB - 204
CPU Multi - 7x
CPU MHz - 1428Mhz
HTT - 3x (612)
vdimm - 2.7v
Mem div - 1:1
timings - 2.5-3-3-5
- Wouldn't boot to Windows. Tried 2.5-3-3-6 - BSOD tried upping the vdimm to 2.8v - crashed loading Windows., tried upping the vdimm to 2.9v - corrupted drive error.

I can't seem to get past 203 FSB.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2007, 11:09 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

UPDATE

I set the timings to 2.5-3-2-5 1T and dropped the vdimm back to 2.6 stock, got it up to 205 FSB . Tried 206 - booted, ran Super Pi and then when I went to open notepad BSOD and it rebooted.. I then tried upping the vdimm to 2.7v it failed to boot into Windows. Changed the memory timings to 2.5-3-3-5, failed to boot into Windows. Dropped the vdimm back down to 2.6v at memory timings of 2.5-3--3-5
failed to load Windows.

It appears upping the vdimm on any FSB past 2.7v causing the system to crash. I'm gone as high 2.9. I've even tried these vdimm settings on 210 FSB.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com

Last edited by BALISTX; August 9, 2007 at 11:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2007, 06:46 AM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

The gain from overclocking your memory for more bandwidth is a debatable affair. If you're trying to increase the memory bandwidth, then you are basically nearing the limit of your modules. The K8 architecture's integrated memory controller is much more sensitive to memory timings than transfer rates, so by your timings being as incredibly low as they already are, you've basically squeezed as much as you can as far as memory is concerned.

If you want maximum computing power from your processor, your memory must sacrifice the timings you are used to having them run. You need to ramp them up to 3-3-3-6 2T if you want a chance at breaking your overclocking barrier. Up-volt the DIMMs to 2.8v and leave them there; you are using Platinum EL DIMMs, which can take the overvoltage easily.

FYI: forcing a T1 command rate is somewhat useless when you are aiming at maximum processing power.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2007, 06:59 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

The RAM I have is OCZ Platinum EL PC3200 1GB (2x512MB) DDR400 Rev 1 CL2-3-2-5 (OCZ4001024ELDCPE-K). I've heard that it's very rare that any one has gotten them passed 230.

I'l try upping the vdimm to 2.8 and setting the timings at 3-3-3-6 2T and see if that gets me past 205. I've been leaving my Trc on auto.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2007, 07:13 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

I tried that. I put the vdimm 2.8v, settings the memory timings to 3-3--6 2T set my cpu multi to 7x and my HTT to 3x and set my FSB to 206. It wouldn't even get to the XP splash screen. So I then dropped the vdimm to 2.7v got to the login screen and crashed. Then I set it to 2.6v and I was able to log into Windows but when I got half way through running Super PI it BSOD and rebooted. So then I set to the vdimm to 2.9 and it gave me a corrupted disk error. I'm starting to think, maybe the max of my RAM is only 205.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2007, 08:17 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon View Post
You need to ramp them up to 3-3-3-6 2T if you want a chance at breaking your overclocking barrier.

FYI: forcing a T1 command rate is somewhat useless when you are aiming at maximum processing power.
Okay are you telling him to run 2T on a 939? 2T sucks dog balls on ddr, pure and simple, correct me if I am wrong but isnt it like a 20mhz hit running 2T.
BALISTX: doesnt sound like your going to get much out of those sticks, figured they would have done @ least 210mhz.
NP so they top out @ 205mhz. Thank god a64 doesnt take big divider hits.

Have you found the limit of your cpu yet? Now that you know your not going to get much out of the ram it's time to raise the multi on your cpu and run the lowest memory divider. Start with stock volts on the cpu and start uping the fsb.

Keep your htt @ x3 for now
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Cooling Attempt enaberif Water Cooling 13 February 18, 2008 04:35 PM
First OC attempt,any suggestions or opinions? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 August 12, 2007 08:59 AM