Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 12:00 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default Noob i7 Overclock

Well i finally decided to take the plunge, i bought a Cooler Master Hyper 212 yesterday from Direct Canada and it got here today. Now i have no reason not to OC my i7 920 C0/C1 that's in my sig. I have OC'ed intel chips before (775s), however i7s are a completely new ball game to myself and i don't want to either push it or the ram to high/hard at the beginning and damage something, though neither do i want to come up "short" because i didn't bump it up one more safe notch. After posting this i am going to be installing said hsf into my computer, then pop back on here at stock bios (make sure my temps are good) then see what insightful information i can use to fold even higher and keep above Trayton in folding and catch up to somecanadianguy.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 12:03 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Glad to see you got your cooler!
Can't wait to see how it performs... and how far you're going to push your i7.

As I said earlier (check your PM ) there are a few "basics":
First, check BIOS to see what Vcore, Qpi/Vtt are, and set them manually to what's shown (maybe a step or two higher).
Also, set your DRAM to whatever your RAM is specd.
Set QPI Link Multi to lowest (x36 I think).
Keep Uncore Freq Multi 2x Ram multi or 2x + 1...
Raise bclk a little (10 - 20Mhz) and reboot.
You can lower the bclk multi, but it may not be necessary.
If you don't get into windows, or crash while testing look for the ***STOP xxxxx101 or xxxxxx124... 101 means raise Vcore, 124 means raise QPI/Vtt (generally).

You could even try the EasyTune QuickBoost just to see what voltages it sets for a moderate OC (3.3GHz is the highest I think).
Then enter those numbers in your BIOS and either raise your bclk or start lowering voltages (or both).

Keep a close eye on your temps for sure.
I hit 60c - 63c @ 3.486GHz and 70c - 74c @ 3.8GHz depending on ambient temp.
Once I get to 4GHz it gets into the mid 80's and that's too hot for me.

There are others here who know more than me so I hope they offer some advice.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; August 6, 2009 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 12:29 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Here's some settings to get you towards 3.8GHz...
Can't guarantee they'll work for you though.
It may still be smarter to start slowly and work your way up.


MB Intelligent Tweaker (M.I.T):
CPU Clock Ratio [19x]
CPU Frequency [3.8GHz] [200x19]
QPI Link Speed [x36] [6.48GHz]
Base Clock Control [Enabled]
BCLK Frequency (Mhz) [200]
Performance Enhance [Standard]
System Memory Multiplier (SPD) [8.0]

Advanced Clock Control:
Base Clock (BCLK) Control [Enabled]
BCLK Frequency (Mhz) [200]
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) [101]

Uncore & QPI Features:
QPI Link Speed [x36]
QPI Link Speed [6.48GHz]
Uncore Frequency [x17]

Advanced CPU Features:
Intel Turbo Boost Tech. [Disabled]
CPU Cores Enabled [All]
CPU Multi Threading [Enabled]
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) [Disabled]
C3/C6/C7 State Support [Disabled]
CPU Thermal Monitor [Enabled]
CPU Eist Function [Disabled]
Virtualization Technology [Enabled]
Bi-directional PROCHOT [Enabled]

CPU Vcore 1.37500V
QPI/Vtt 1.34000V
IOH Core 1.12000V
DRAM Voltage 1.65000V (I'm guessing... check your RAM specs)

Advanced Voltage Control:
Load-Line Calibration [Disabled]
CPU Vcore 1.37500V
QPI/Vtt Voltage 1.340V
CPU PLL 1.800V
>>>MCH/ICH
PCIE 1.500V [Auto]
QPI PLL 1.100V
IOH Core 1.120V
ICH I/O 1.500V [Auto]
ICH Core 1.100V [Auto]
>>>DRAM
DRAM Voltage 1.650V


A couple of things...
If you go with 200bclk x 19 and RAM multi 8x your RAM runs @ 1600Mhz.
You could go with 190bclk x 20, or 180 x 21 (turbo on)... depends on what you want to try, and what your system likes.
I found 200bclk x 19 to be more stable and require slightly less voltage.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; August 6, 2009 at 12:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 12:39 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

Ugh. I had a long post being put together, but my f-ing laptop (rma'd already) powered off abruptly. Here is some of the post again;

I am in the same boat as you Arinoth. Probably pick up a Gigabyte board for an i7 this evening.

Found this so for in my research;
Guide to Overclocking the Core I7 920 to 4.0ghz - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
Good overall view of i7 overclock. A primer at least.

http://images.tweaktown.com/imageban...2.12_(ENG).pdf
Guide to OC a 920 on a Gigabyte board. I would not follow all suggestions, as the volts seem high, but a good tour of the Gigabyte bios.

- TweakTown Forums
This is the closest thing Gigabyte has to a support forum. Lots of good info in there. I use this site from time to time.

LSDMEASP on the Tweaktown forums is really helpful, and has the same board as yourself:
Please help me overclock my i7 920 w/ EX58-UD4P!! - TweakTown Forums
A typical i7 920 thread over there. I also know that there are a few on this forum with lots of experience on Gigabyte boards.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 01:16 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Ok, well i finally got it installed, turned out i stripped a part of one of the back nuts ever so sightly that the nut they gave me wouldn't fit on one. Using some smarts, i found a different metal nut and used a metal washer or to to allow it to still fit snugly against it. Next i had to battle with the fan to clip it on since i'm not used to that kind of style. I am currently taking baby steps, this is a screenshot of stock speeds and temps given by core temps. Are these good for what i got? (i think normal "idle" temps previously were 40-45C but i was folding 24/7 i can't quite remember)


Update: Running 4 instances of vmware at stock with step up i seem to float around 53-57/58C (did i install my heat sink properly and put on enough thermal paste?). I was seeing previously 70-75C folding so i'm assuming its a good temp drop

Last edited by Arinoth; August 6, 2009 at 01:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 01:40 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Temps look fine... idle and load.
Does RealTemp give the same readings?

How many fans are on the 212?
What kind of TIM did you use?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 03:02 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Time to post the results, using what somecanadianguy recommended/said off of his own settings i was able to hit 3.8GHz prime95 stable. Only difference for me was 1.6V for the ram rather then the 1.65V. I owe ya a beer or somethin!

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 08:18 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Lookin good!
Now start dropping Vcore and QPI/Vtt a little...
I can get 3.8GHz Prime stable with Vcore @ 1.36875V, but need 1.37500V to be folding stable.
If you can get stable on less than that you're a lucky guy.
I've been able to drop QPI/Vtt to 1.3V, and have dropped a few other voltages a little as well and it's still stable.

Temps are looking pretty good too.
Maybe a little higher than mine, but not by much.
What's the ambient like?

Last edited by somecanadianguy; August 7, 2009 at 08:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 08:44 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I can get it to boot and load Windows and be fold stable for 5 minutes 3.8GHz at Vcore 1.325V, however i seem to be fold stable only at 1.37500V so i think i may be stuck at that.
My temps may be a little "higher" then some people though folding is slightly lower temps then prime 95 by a degree or two. I believe my ambient temp is around 22-25C seeing as i'm in a basement that is finished and rarely seems to have air conditioning on in the house and unable to open the windows to let the cool air in.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 12:05 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

That CM 212 looks to be doing pretty well.
Almost makes me wish it was out when I built my rig.
How many fans do you have on it?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] I am a noob and i need some help :D eltiti55555 Buy/Sell & Trade 16 March 9, 2009 01:02 PM
Noob here, trying to get my first WC setup together. jaszypoo Water Cooling 13 December 11, 2008 06:25 PM
Noob Overclock Question Phaddie Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 November 4, 2008 11:02 PM
A watercooling noob! implosion222 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 11 October 20, 2008 01:29 PM
Folding Noob :/ kruzn4evr HardwareCanucks F@H Team 31 October 16, 2008 10:15 AM