Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 09:54 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default Q9550 Overlocking

Hi all,
I have a q9550 E0 stepping that I have overclocked to 3.8ghz (OCCT and P95 stable) and I am trying to get it to 4ghz
However.. It seems impossible, I even tried 3.9 and it didnt work...

Settings:

Vcore 1.36250
FSB Volt: 1.4
Someother stuff that I will have to look at if it must be known.

I dont have a case at the moment and I am using a OCZ Vendetta 2 cooler (stock fan) (Is there a possility that I can get an improvement by sticking a yate loon on to the vendetta 2?)

Thanks in advance.

PS. I am using a EVGA 780i MOBO and I do NOT have the latest BIOS version... Could that be a reason? Is it worth flashing the BIOS?

PSS. What is strange is that when I am running OCCT or orthos/P95, My temps would never go above 55C.. and yet at 4ghz it would fail after like 4 minutes.
s288
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Last edited by shayan288; August 4, 2009 at 10:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 10:28 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Try dumping 1.4v into that chip and see if it posts, I know my chip needs at least that to be completely stable at 4.0GHz.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 10:43 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Yikes!... Isnt that like.. dangerous? I heard somewhere that 1.36250 was the max recomended volt for the q9550 and that anything above that would cut the "life expectancy"... Is that true? If so, how much of the life expectancy would it cut?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:27 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Its been much debated about, I personally don't think its going to kill my processor anytime. If someone says otherwise I will drop my voltage and backoff to 3.8GHz, because its not like 200MHz makes any difference performance wise.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:39 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

yeah true, anyways, I just tried 1.4 vcore and it was unstable so im trying 1.41850 atm :S
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:40 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Weeeeell whaddaya know... UNSTABLE :'( oh well, Il jsut leave it at 3.8 ghz 1.36250 vcore. meh
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2009, 12:00 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

It could be the board you're using, its likely that 0.5 divider is causing some issues it does for me especially at higher FSB frequencies. Trust me 3.8GHz is nothing to be ashamed of thats a monster overclock if you ask me, the only thing holding back that system in any game would be your GPU.

If you're still set on hitting 4.0GHz stable, try and find a guide through google I know there are lots of people with similiar setups that have tried the very samething, you might just find out how they did it.

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2009, 12:12 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

its you board holdin you back
a p45 would be better and would require less volts on cpu
you should be able to do 8x500 on a good p45
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2009, 07:43 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

I let prime run all last night, core 2 failed after 5hrs, 56mins.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2009, 10:32 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

same man... Mine failed on the 3 hour on 3.8 GHZ!!! :'( I think Imma try 4GHZ on maybe 1.43vcore and maybe bump up the vtt? would tyhat be safe?
And wow I cant believe it... My 780i would hold me down? I thought those boards were supposed to be good... :'( this sucks.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Q9450 or Q9550 HoTiCE_ Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 7, 2009 07:39 AM
best heatsink for Q9550 johnnyuterus Air Cooling 11 February 11, 2009 04:26 PM
oc'ing q9550 johnnyuterus Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 February 9, 2009 11:49 PM
Canada overlocking database list hausner Troubleshooting 12 July 6, 2007 02:54 PM