Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 11:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 36
Default Temp Issues with Q6600 on water

I'm running @ 3.17ghz on stock everything 9x350 on a p5q pro system is stable just im worried about temps i applied thin line across heat spreaders The rad as 2 120mm 110v industrial fans pushing tons of air...I'm just lost on what to do next.. any help would be great thanks...
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 06:24 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,599

My System Specs

Default

71c at stock volts max temp? Yeah. Something isnt right. Generally speaking you dont want to go above 65 ever, and try to keep it under 60.

I see that your Core Volts are 1.3125 in windows. (And I dont see a VID on that copy of CPU-Z...did they take it out?) Do you have to pump that much volts thru it for 3.2ghz?

Have you reseated the waterblock already? Thats always step one, and 99% of the time it is the problem too.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 07:56 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,683

My System Specs

Default

Complete system specs, BIOS settings volts-wise and wc setup definition is required to assess those temps.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 10:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 36
Default

uploaded pics of bios settings

as for wc setup its ncix ultimate w/c system

pump > rad > cpu > reservoir > pump >
Attached Images
       
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 10:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 36
Default

as for complete system specs

P5Q pro
Q6600 G0
gskill 1066 ram
hx1000 psu
haf 932 case
xfx 4890 gfx
gskill SSD
2 x wD 1TB Drives
win 7 RC

Last edited by winnipegm; August 4, 2009 at 10:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 10:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 36
Default

i lowered the vocore to 1.25 in bios system still stable temps still no good
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 10:41 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,683

My System Specs

Default

Remount the block. Make sure you don't use too much TIM.
For 3.2, you should only need to raise the FSB. Volts are not needed (usually).
Never run Volts at Auto when oc'ing, especially the Vcore, Vram, Vfsb and Vnb. Learn your BIOS and equipment.
Ambiant temp is?
Rad setup inside case?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 36
Default

nice and cool in the house maybe 20c ish
haf 932 case rad mount inside top case blowing outward tons of air movement

remounted the heatsink 6 times yesturday small grain of rice line across heat spreaders
change vcore to 1.25v
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:46 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,683

My System Specs

Default

Rad??? Heatspeader???

Are you water-cooling the chip, or is it Aircooled?

Can we have a clear pic of the inside of your rig?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 36
Default

hope this helps?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Temp Sensor issues HalifaxJ Troubleshooting 5 March 16, 2009 01:39 PM
Q6600 OC with Water stability issues gazdag6 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 September 11, 2008 08:36 AM
temp issues and sli problems voklskier4452 Troubleshooting 15 June 7, 2008 10:23 PM
WTB: Decent Water Cooling System For My Q6600 saihossoku Buy/Sell & Trade 26 March 10, 2008 07:15 PM
CPU temp or Core temp? E6420 NOOB Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 18 May 28, 2007 06:07 AM