Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:02 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 36
Default

i was talking about the cpu i applied a small rice grain amount of thermal grease mx-2 across the heat spreader on the cpu
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:14 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Heatspreader (HSF) usually relates to an air-cooled cpu. When wc'ing, it's called a block.

Thanks for the pic; your setup should be fine for a whole lot more heat actually, with the 655 and the 120.2.

Do you know the exact room temp?
The D-Tek V1 may not be the best block for a Quad, and is very tricky to mount properly. Did you tighten the corners in an X pattern?
When you tested your Quad, was it with the side panel open, or installed? For an internal rad mount, you need a great deal of cool air - and with 4 HDDs it doesn't help.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 36
Default

20c in room

side panel always closed

there isnt alot of hot air comming from the case... these fans im running on the rad are

ebm-papst St. Georgen GmbH & Co. KG
Type 4606 N
Nominal voltage [VAC] 115
Frequency [Hz] 60
Speed [min-1] 3100
Power input [W] 18.0
Min. ambient temperature [C] -40
Max. ambient temperature [C] 90
Air flow [m3/h] 180
Sound power level [b] 5.8
Sound pressure level [dB(A)] 51


i find my qx9650 was alot cooler with this same setup :\
i guess ill just go buy a q8400 45nm since it will drop the temps :|

would as5 make a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:38 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

AS5 would make a difference, but not that much.

Run stock speed, stock volts. What are the temps at idle and under load (Prime95, 100% load), with and without the side panel. I'm tempted to say you do not have enough airflow in the case.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:44 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,502

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to agree with Charlie here. Do you have the side fan running too? From your picture it looks like the rear fan isnt running, and the front fan is hella-blocked by the 4 hard drives. Not to mention 1000w PS's create some good head inside a case, plus that 4890...

I would guess you have a negative case airflow, since the only fans actually doing anything are your two rad fans. Thats alot of hot air blowing across your rad. Try hooking up that massive side panel fan, moving some Hard drives (you only list 2, but there is clearly 4), and see if it helps?

An inline temp reading would probably solve this problem right quick.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 11:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 36
Default

yes fans are on fully i can remove all the hd's and do the test not a big deal the psu heat runs out threw bottom of the case...these are the new tests i ran with latest voltage drop better?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 12:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Much better - and remember that you are using IBT to test, which personally is overkill. Those temps look inline with that app. Try Prime95, latest version. Again, with and without side panel.

Heck, drop the Vcore even more...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 01:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 36
Default

how about now?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 01:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Getting better - with, or without side panel? Also, see if you can lower the Vcore more.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 01:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Something still doesn't seem right here....

What's your airflow up top like? Can you feel the air from those beastly fans blowing up through the top of your case?

If not, is it possible that the fins of your rad need a good cleaning? How about the internals of your block? Any chance it hasn't been cleaned in quite some time and has an algae buildup?

edit: What about the pump? Any chance you've started controlling the speed of it recently and it's not moving as much water as it used to?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; August 4, 2009 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Temp Sensor issues HalifaxJ Troubleshooting 5 March 16, 2009 12:39 PM
Q6600 OC with Water stability issues gazdag6 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 September 11, 2008 07:36 AM
temp issues and sli problems voklskier4452 Troubleshooting 15 June 7, 2008 09:23 PM
WTB: Decent Water Cooling System For My Q6600 saihossoku Buy/Sell & Trade 26 March 10, 2008 06:15 PM
CPU temp or Core temp? E6420 NOOB Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 18 May 28, 2007 05:07 AM