Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 12:30 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

i would leave data rates alone. always keep cpu vcore within .5 V of your ram volts
OCZ Technology | Products | Memory | OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 Gold Low-Voltage Triple Channel
your ram max safe is 1.65
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 01:01 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

What do you mean? So if my ram volt is 1.5V, my CPU volts shouldn't be under 1V? I think the stock voltage is 0.9V though.

Current settings:
Vcore: 1.185V
BCLK: 180
Changed everything back to stock/auto

Things I'm planning to change:
DRAM Bus Voltage: 1.5V
QPI Voltage: 1.1V

With these settings, my Vcore will be within .5V of my DRAM voltage for sure. Good? (y/n)

I've clocked my CPU to 3.78ghz with turbo (21x multiplier) @ BCLK = 180
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 01:06 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

you sir have got it right
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 02:36 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkh2 View Post
@ Airshehan - Thanks! My thermal paste at the moment is Tuniq TX-2 from way back when. Should I change to The Chill Factor thermal paste? These are the only 2 that I have, excluding the one that came with the waterblock. That one just looks really ghetto...

And yes, I think you are right. I think I will reduce my frequency, since I'm not aiming for any benchmarks. I just wanted to see if I could hit 4 Ghz :D

As far as extra case fans, the case I'm using right now (Thermaltake Xaser III, oldschool :P) is not too great. It's got seven 80mm fans that don't do much, really...
Yeah, I think you should try out the chill factor thermal paste and see if it does better or worse than the tuniq thermal paste! No need for you to keep the CPU at 4 GHz, around 3.6Ghz is fine! And congrats, you made it to 4GHz! Keep us posted
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 03:00 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Right, so here's what everything is at:

Vcore: 1.1750V
Vtt: 1.225V
VRAM: 1.5V

Other: Auto

BCLK: 181
HT: On
Turbo: On
Power saver thing: On

Ambient: 33C
Idle: 42 - 45C
Load: 62 - 67C

@21x Multiplier: 3801 MHz

Next order of business: Overclocking RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 04:04 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

nice overclock.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 08:28 AM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

That seems like perfect temps! Good work! Leave it at that! Now, you'll have a fast processor that will last for a while! Have Fun!
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 08:29 AM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

Btw, keep us posted on overclocking your RAM!
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2009, 10:15 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
@ Airshehan - Thanks! My thermal paste at the moment is Tuniq TX-2 from way back when. Should I change to The Chill Factor thermal paste?
Amazing with such highend hardward and cooling you would think purchasing a high qaulity TIM would have the same importance.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 05:11 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

30g tube of mx is only 20 bucks very good point EE
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I7 Stable @ 3.81 Ghz rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 March 10, 2009 11:37 PM
Q6600 overclock to 3.0 GHz HermesĄ˘ RAM 10 November 17, 2008 08:06 PM
2.84 GHZ on Q9450 CTA Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 42 October 25, 2008 11:11 AM
I need help getting my e8400 to 4.0 Ghz dopedave Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 July 8, 2008 09:38 PM
WTB: E8400 3.0 Ghz darksniperx Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 6, 2008 05:18 AM