Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 02:38 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 180
Default OC new i7 920 machine

I just got a bran new gaming comp on sunday (the stats are in my sig). I got 1600Mhz RAM. I was told that it will only run at 1333 until I OC the system. What would be the best settings? Im new to overclocking. I know where to set things, but i dont know the exact effect of everything.

Any help is appreciated. Thanx
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 02:40 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

If you are going to be doing some OCing and want to keep your temps down, i would recommend getting an after market heat sink as the stock one will slowly start to fail or not cool as efficiently compared to after market heat sinks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 02:51 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 180
Default

I have the thermaight ultra 120
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 02:53 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

I must have missed that as its at the bottom of your signature. You're going to want to be careful if its your first time OCing or even first time OCing the new 1366 systems, i haven't even gotten around to it, but just words of warning so you don't ruin your system. Hopefully guys like somecanadianguy will post in here with their personal experiences/advice for you
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 03:15 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 180
Default

:P Its at the bottom of my sig, cause i added it after your first message
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 03:16 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

How far do you want to push it?
Is it a D0 or C0/C1 stepping?
How often will you be running 100% load?
With a TRUE you'll likely be limited to about 4.0GHz if you're going to run it a lot.
Your particular chip may not even want to run at that speed though...
I only run 4GHz or more for benching as it gets hot.

It might be a good idea to check what your temps are now at stock settings.
If you haven't already, download RealTemp and Prime95 and run a test... a short test should be fine for this.
Keep a close eye on your temps and don't let it go past 80c (though it shouldn't even come close to that @ stock if your TRUE is on properly).
I know the i7 chips can handle higher temps, but if it gets that hot at stock with a TRUE then you have a problem.
Looking back at some screenshots I see my cores were reading 55c 54c 54c 52c at stock running Prime95.
If all looks good then you're ready start having fun.
If not, try reseating the TRUE / reapplying thermal paste.

About your RAM...
As far as I know it should be set to run at 1066Mhz by default.
I may be wrong about that though.

About taking my advice...
I built this system in March, and it was my first build.
It's also been my first experience overclocking as I've always been stuck using prebuilt systems.
I'll try to help any way I can, but I certianly don't know everything.
So far I've done pretty well, and haven't messed anything up...

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 31, 2009 at 08:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 02:49 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

If you want to get going...
Take Vcore off 'auto', set it to around 1.300V for and start raising bclk 10-20Mhz at a time and reboot.
I'd take a guess you should be able to hit at least 3.5GHz with that much Vcore, but there's no guarantees.
Or set Vcore to Intels "max" limit of 1.3750V and see how far you can push your bclk.

If you get into windows, check EasyTune6 (Tuner tab->Advanced->Voltage 1) to see what all your voltages are set to.
You can do that with Vcore on 'auto' but sometimes it feeds your CPU way too much if your bclk is high.
Then you can go into BIOS and set some of them manually to match what's in EasyTune.
You probably only need to set Vcore, QPI VTT, and DRAM... again though, I'm not totally sure.

From there you start upping bclk and if you can't boot or crash during stress testing either raise Vcore or QPI voltages one step and try again.
Keep Unclock Freq multiplier 2x Ram multi or 2x + 1 (eg, Ram multi 6, set Uncore to 12 or 13).
Set your QPI Link multi to x36, and PciEx to 101.

You'll probably not want to go much higher than 1.4V on the Vcore and 1.390V on the QPI Vtt, and shouldn't need to unless you have to get to 4GHz or more.
I'll take a guess and say your DRAM should be set to 1.65V, but I'm not certain.
DRAM probably shouldn't be left on 'auto' though, so I'd try 1.65V if the RAM says 1.65V.

Don't mess with the other voltages too much right now...
I haven't needed to raise them to keep stable @ 3.8GHz, and actually have lowered a couple.
I guess it depends on how far you want to OC.
If your BIOS is the same as mine (which I've heard it is) you'll see your settings go from white to purple to red as you raise them higher.
I don't need anything in the purple unless I want to hit 4GHz.

Or, if you only want a modest OC you can start lowering voltages... it's up to you.
I'm folding right now @ 3.486GHz with Vcore in BIOS set to 1.23750V.
For 3.8GHz I need 1.37500V to be folding stable... can run Prime95 with 1.36750V.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 31, 2009 at 03:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 03:45 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 180
Default

__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 03:47 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

If those are your full load temps after 30mins then you should be good to OC.
See my above post and if you have more questions ask away.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 31, 2009 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 03:56 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

load temps i don't think so but i guess he can hope
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting new i7 machine need advice Bubbzilla New Builds 47 May 21, 2009 09:13 AM
Machine burnt out. New machine needed Neutronium New Builds 15 March 18, 2009 12:23 AM
Dream Machine tehgooch Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 29 February 19, 2008 11:54 PM
New Gaming Machine FoxFire CPU's and Motherboards 8 September 22, 2007 05:45 PM