Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 04:09 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

I don't think they are load temps, i dont use real temp, but it says load is at 0.6%. This gets me thinking thats it idle (because since when do they tell you the load % of your gpu?)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 04:29 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Well I was looking at the 'Maximum' reading at the bottom and wondered.
Does look a little low, but he could have an AC close by...
Definately make sure you check your temps running something like Prime95.
Many people will tell you that idle temps are not important.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; August 1, 2009 at 08:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 08:05 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
load temps i don't think so but i guess he can hope
look under maximum
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 08:06 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 177
Default

ill try playing some crysis for a few hours. hard work, i know.

The fan is installed by professionals. I price matched with memory express, and they install the cpu, fan and ram, and updated the bios for free
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 08:25 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

In order to get an idea of real CPU load temps and OC stability you should run something like Prime95.
There are other programs you can use, but that's the one I used and it seems to work fine.
It's up to you how long you want to run it to consider your OC 'stable'.
I'd say at least 1hr to test stability... maybe 20-30mins for a quick temp test.
I've had it crash after 9hrs or more so it depends on how you'll be using your pc (how long you'll be @ 100% load).

|MG| Prime95 25.11 Download

I've heard Crysis is kinda hard on the CPU, but I don't think it stresses it 100%.

If you decide to go ahead with some real stress testing... don't be afraid of the blue screens.
Just restart and raise either Vcore or QPI/Vtt by one step... save, and reboot.
Pay attention to your BSOD (blue screen) messages.
Look for this line:

***STOP: 0x00000abc (abc will be numbers)

Generally 101 means you need more Vcore... 124 means more QPI/Vtt.
There are others you may run into, but you'll likely see those the most.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 31, 2009 at 08:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 03:45 AM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 177
Default

i notice that the load never really gets that high. it never goes above like 12%. The GPU is whats doing all the work. its at like 75C with fan at 70%. and i only get 10 - 15 fps. Is it possible to shift some of the work to the cpu? About temp, i played crysis for like 6 hours (i beat the game) and the max temps are 53, 48, 50, 50.
__________________
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Intel i7 920

Corsair HX1000W PSU

WD 1TB Black Cavair

Gigabyte UD-5 MoBo

Corasair 1600Mhz 6GB RAM

eVGA GTX 275
Thermalright Ultra 120
Window 7 Premium 64-bit

Samsung 275T Plus
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 08:13 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Again...
Use a program like Prime95 to stress test.
Games won't give you an accurate measure of CPU temps/stability.
They will heat your GPU up good, but most games barely use the CPU.
Those that do definately don't load it 100% the whole time.
I don't know if there even is a game that will max out an i7 right now.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 08:25 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Try OCCT to test your system. Does CPU and GPU testing. Check this thread: Overclocking tools of the trade
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting new i7 machine need advice Bubbzilla New Builds 47 May 21, 2009 09:13 AM
Machine burnt out. New machine needed Neutronium New Builds 15 March 18, 2009 12:23 AM
Dream Machine tehgooch Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 29 February 19, 2008 11:54 PM
New Gaming Machine FoxFire CPU's and Motherboards 8 September 22, 2007 05:45 PM