Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 12:56 AM
MittWaffle's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 142
Default P6T 3.8 to 4.2ghz - voltage difference.

I have my system 100% stable at 3.8 @ 1.25v vcore however when I go to 21x200 or 20x200 I need to hammer the voltage to 1.375-1.4375 vcore to stabilize it. I have IOH, ICH and QPI voltages optimized aswell.

What is causing this huge voltage gap?
Even a 200 MHZ increase causes a need for 1.375vcore up from 1.25

Last edited by MittWaffle; July 24, 2009 at 01:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 04:02 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

the sweet spot for i7 c1/c0 920 and this is jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 04:55 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

That's just the way it is really. It's highly dependent on the chip. Some may not need as much, others will need a lot, like yours. My i7 920 D0 can run 4 GHz at 1.18V, but runs extremely hot. The transistors in your chip may need some extra voltage to stabilize currents.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 01:12 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North York
Posts: 50
Default

Yeah i had the same thing with my D0 as well. I could reach 3.8ghz with stock volts except for ram which i put to 1.65 to rule out ram problems. Went from 1.25 to 1.3125 in bios to reach 4ghz and that's all i changed. I'm new to oc'ing the i7's so i don't know much about the other settings so i left them at default.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 12:09 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

I'm just curious. What do you have your IOH, ICH and QPI voltages set to? Also, are you running a C0 chip? What cooling do you have, and what are your temps?

I too, have the Asus P6T and am currently running a D0. I hit 4 ghz stable @ ~1.265V, but I'm trying to reduce voltage by optimizing the other voltages.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Core2Duo E4500 2.2Ghz 2MB Bradan Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 21, 2009 11:23 AM
[FS] E4500 11x200=2.2ghz 2MB Bradan Buy/Sell & Trade 6 March 18, 2009 05:29 AM
Asus P6T ... What's the difference? Bones CPU's and Motherboards 6 February 27, 2009 10:24 PM
FS: 4.2GHz E8400 zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 3 September 11, 2008 07:29 AM
C2D E6400@ 3.2Ghz Needs Advice Please?! bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 January 18, 2008 10:18 AM