Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2009, 10:14 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default EX58-UD5 bios help

Hi everyone, im trying to oc my i7 but i hit a wall....

That my config
I7 920 D0
ex58-ud5
3x2g dominator 1600
noctua u12p se 1366
tx750
hd 4850 crossfire
wb black 640
dvd burner
no case for the moment...

That is 2 config i can go stable

19x210 at 1.28v under load
20x200 at 1.28v under load

the only voltage seting i play with is vcore and qui/vtt(ram is at 1.65 on auto seting)

i try to do 20x 210 or 19x220, bolt boot but it's not stable..

i need to know what is the uncore volt in bios, and and voltage i need to up to get more than 210 blck

Thanks
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 06:40 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

Sounds like the same hole I have on mine. Try slightly upping the voltages and try 19x225.

Last edited by SKYMTL; July 23, 2009 at 09:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 08:02 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phil3_66666 View Post
the only voltage seting i play with is vcore and qui/vtt(ram is at 1.65 on auto seting)

i try to do 20x 210 or 19x220, bolt boot but it's not stable..

i need to know what is the uncore volt in bios, and and voltage i need to up to get more than 210 blck

Thanks
Phil
MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

Great Guide. Its designed for the Extreme, but works just as well with the UD5.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 09:55 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

Thanks guys, i will try that tonigt

BTW, anyone have probleme with windows 7 and adobe reader?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 11:34 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 475
Default

If the OP could write down your exact Bios setting and post em pls...

I have Giga X58 Extreme...your settings wouldn't be exactly like mine...but it will give you an approx idea. Here are my bios settings for BCLK @ 220 x20

CPU Clock 20
Intel Turbo - Enabled
CPU Cores - All
Cpu Multi - Enabled or Disabled
C1E - Dis
C3C6C7 - Dis
Cpu Thermal - Dis
CPU ESIT - Dis
Virt Tech - Dis
Bi-Direct - Dis

QPI Link Speed x36
Uncore + QPI 36
Uncore x16
Isochronus - Dis

Base Clock Control - 220
Advanced Clock Control
Base Clock 220
Pci Express 100
C1A2 - Dis

Performance Enhance - Quick
System Mem Multi - 8
Mem Settings - (I used lose settings till I found a good stable cpu volt).
10
10
10
28
1

Load Line Calibration Disabled
CPU V Core 1.41875
QPI/VTT 1.360
IOH Core 1.100
DRAM Volt 1.660 (no 1.65v avail)

Avanced Voltage Control
CPU Core 1.41875
QPI/VTT 1.360
CPU PLL 1.800

PCI Auto
QPI PLL 1.100
IOH 1.100
Rest are all auto cept Ram 1.660

I know some are duplicate settings...but figure I would try to match what my bios looks like...so you will have an easier time finding where things are.

To get to 222 BCLK I only had to up the CPU volts...everything else stayed the same. Even to get to 231BCLK (with Hard Mod and f8x bios)...I only had to up the CPU Volts...and up the PCI-E Clock to 112Mhz. Everything else stayed the same.

Not sure what cooling methods you are using...but watch your temps

Hope this helps
Cheers
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 05:14 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 267
Default

As Lion intimates above, there is a hard wall of 222 bclk with the Gigabyte mobos. It can be overcome by a) removing a resistor and soldering in a new one, and b) then upping PCIE frequency. So, unless you are willing to do that, 222 is max. The exception is v1.6 of the UD3 board, which apparently requires no modding to surpass 222 - but it only handles dual channel memory, not triple.

Lion says, my comments in bold:

Load Line Calibration Disabled I have better stability enabled, it also helps prevent vdrop (or is it vdroop, I forget)
CPU V Core 1.41875
QPI/VTT 1.360 I have to be pretty much 1.40+. Probably depends on memory sticks, tho could be processor dependant too.
IOH Core 1.100 I bumped this to 1.20 just to give it a bit extra juice, seems to help stability
DRAM Volt 1.660 (no 1.65v avail) Same, though I wouldn't be scared to get up to 1.700

Avanced Voltage Control
CPU Core 1.41875
QPI/VTT 1.360
CPU PLL 1.800 A poster on another site suggested 1.880. I leave it at 1.880.

PCI Auto Best to put in a number on ALL voltage and speed settings rather than staying with 'auto'. Auto is known to do wierd things, especially boosting voltages to scary high levels...I set this at 100 or 101.
QPI PLL 1.100 Auto 1.100 or manual 1.100? See above. Again, I set this higher 1.200....it also directly relates to QPI VTT which we know needs more voltage.
IOH 1.100 Auto or manual? Even if leaving same, set manually.

-----------------------------------------------------------

I'm on air with a C0 and am stable at 21x185 = 3.885, and I'm not close to done playing with it yet....though my temps are approaching the max I will put up with, right now 81C full load per RealTemp3.0.

Remember to have your cpu multiplier including turbo if you're using it set to an odd number, ie., 19, 21, etc.

Uncore is (memory mult X 2) or ((mem mult X2) + 1), the latter being more commonly suggested. So, 8X = 17, 10X = 21 are the settings I use.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 05:19 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phil3_66666 View Post

BTW, anyone have probleme with windows 7 and adobe reader?
Adobe throws up a warning about 'known compatibility issues', but I just click 'OK' or whatever to continue into the document and it reads them fine so far.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 05:57 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rouyn-noranda, QC
Posts: 809
Default

Thanks for your reply, i finaly got my problem... the horthbridge temp, i always look at my cpu but forget to check this one... i find my computer crash on every sething at 60c...

anyone know any aftermarket cooling for this board? except the ek kit(or any other water cooling parts)

Thanks
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 09:34 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keto View Post
As Lion intimates above, there is a hard wall of 222 bclk with the Gigabyte mobos. It can be overcome by a) removing a resistor and soldering in a new one, and b) then upping PCIE frequency. So, unless you are willing to do that, 222 is max. The exception is v1.6 of the UD3 board, which apparently requires no modding to surpass 222 - but it only handles dual channel memory, not triple.

Lion says, my comments in bold:

Load Line Calibration Disabled I have better stability enabled, it also helps prevent vdrop (or is it vdroop, I forget)
CPU V Core 1.41875
QPI/VTT 1.360 I have to be pretty much 1.40+. Probably depends on memory sticks, tho could be processor dependant too.
IOH Core 1.100 I bumped this to 1.20 just to give it a bit extra juice, seems to help stability
DRAM Volt 1.660 (no 1.65v avail) Same, though I wouldn't be scared to get up to 1.700

Avanced Voltage Control
CPU Core 1.41875
QPI/VTT 1.360
CPU PLL 1.800 A poster on another site suggested 1.880. I leave it at 1.880.

PCI Auto Best to put in a number on ALL voltage and speed settings rather than staying with 'auto'. Auto is known to do wierd things, especially boosting voltages to scary high levels...I set this at 100 or 101.
QPI PLL 1.100 Auto 1.100 or manual 1.100? See above. Again, I set this higher 1.200....it also directly relates to QPI VTT which we know needs more voltage.
IOH 1.100 Auto or manual? Even if leaving same, set manually.

-----------------------------------------------------------

I'm on air with a C0 and am stable at 21x185 = 3.885, and I'm not close to done playing with it yet....though my temps are approaching the max I will put up with, right now 81C full load per RealTemp3.0.

Remember to have your cpu multiplier including turbo if you're using it set to an odd number, ie., 19, 21, etc.

Uncore is (memory mult X 2) or ((mem mult X2) + 1), the latter being more commonly suggested. So, 8X = 17, 10X = 21 are the settings I use.

Gonna have to try those things in bold myself....to try and get past this 231BCLK.
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 X58 Motherboard Review MAC CPU's and Motherboards 15 May 11, 2009 12:28 PM
EX58-UD3R BIOS error... somecanadianguy Troubleshooting 0 April 12, 2009 09:56 PM
Gigabyte EX58-UD5/Exteme able to fit Forte? llama_egg CPU's and Motherboards 4 March 14, 2009 04:05 AM
GA-x58-UD5 and i7 920 zlojack CPU's and Motherboards 136 December 17, 2008 01:46 AM