Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 08:43 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default Safe test bench material?

It's generally easier to test a system, and especially a new build, outside of the case. In the past I have just used the motherboard box however I'm not exactly a veteran when it comes to this. So what material do you guys lay your boards on when testing them? The motherboard box seems pretty safe. I thought about using the motherboard anti static bag as well or even a rubber mat. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 08:44 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

rubber mat or cardboard is the best as it can't build any static.

static bags are bad cause it can hold static which could damage something.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 08:53 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

Thanks for the reply. I thought I had read somewhere that a static bag was a bad idea but I couldn't quite remember.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 09:24 AM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mibs View Post
Thanks for the reply. I thought I had read somewhere that a static bag was a bad idea but I couldn't quite remember.
The static bag discharges static on the outside of the bag, which leaves your motherboard danger. I use an anti-static mat underneath my motherboard and I also have the motherboard stands screwed in place to elevate it.
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 10:59 AM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

I've always just used the motherboard box or the static bag the MB came in on top of the MB box. I always ground myself on the computer case before working and have never had an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 11:08 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I prefer to lay things out on a shag carpet covered with balloons. jk- but In my opinion, if you're in a room without alot of carpet, and it's not the winter time, all you should need to do is touch a computer case before you start. There isn't much static electricity around the house in the humid summer.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 11:20 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I always just used a mb box or mdf, never had an issue.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 02:32 PM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

Alright thanks guys. I've never had a problem before or anything, I always do ground myself beforehand. The room has linonelum flooring so there isn't much to cause static electricity. Do any of you recommend acutally using an anti static band? Seems a little overkill to me. I know it's better to be sorry than safe I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 02:54 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I wouldnt worry about it, Ive been running caseless for 3 over years and Ive never had an issue no matter what the what the board was lying on.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 03:07 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mibs View Post
Alright thanks guys. I've never had a problem before or anything, I always do ground myself beforehand. The room has linonelum flooring so there isn't much to cause static electricity. Do any of you recommend acutally using an anti static band? Seems a little overkill to me. I know it's better to be sorry than safe I guess.
I have always used the MB Box, I wouldn't go to the trouble of a anti-static band, just ground your self and you should be fine. While you could still bork something, I never have and thats quite a few times.
But you never know

One of us will probably take something out now since we posted here
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
safe threshold for air OC'ing Mr. Cipher Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 February 13, 2008 02:06 PM
Safe to turn on new rig w/o video card. bobaban Troubleshooting 2 November 5, 2007 02:25 AM
this safe ? Jim RAM 3 July 27, 2007 03:14 PM
Vista 64bit vs. XP 32bit 4GB RAM bench comparo Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 May 14, 2007 01:09 PM