Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2007, 04:03 AM
h0nam's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20

My System Specs

Default E6300 + 965p Ds3

Hello, I'm new here.
I have googled around but could not find a solution to my problem, so I hope maybe someone here could give me some advice... thanks!

So, as the topic says, I'm using a C2D E6300 on a Gigabyte 965P DS3 3.3 (F12) mobo. Ram is 2GB OCZ Platinum Rev.2 PC-6400, EVGA 8800GTS 640mb for video card, and Vista 32bit. I've had this build for about 4 months now.

Right now, I have my E6300 running at 3.01ghz (430x7). I had to set the PCI-e frequency to 105 in the BIOS and +0.1 volts to PCI-e in order for PCI-e to run at x16; otherwise, it would be running at x1. I have been trying to oc it to 3.2ghz, and the only problem I have now is that the PCI-e stays x1 when I set the PCI-e frequency up to 110 in the BIOS.

Does anyone know how I can get to 3.2ghz while maintaining the PCI-e speed at x16?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by h0nam; July 30, 2007 at 11:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2007, 04:32 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Huh ? I think i get it. On most motherboards, there is a setting that let you lock the PCI-Express frequency so that when you Oc your CPU\FSB, the PCI-Express isn't following. Look for that setting on your mobo. I have never got you mobo personally but im sure there is that feature somewhere.

BTW: Welcome to Hardwarecanucks.com!
__________________
• - Asus P8Z68-V PRO
• - Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
• - Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
• - 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
• - Ultra X3 1000 Watt
• - Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
• - Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
• - Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
• - CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
• - Dell UltraSharp 24''
• - Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2007, 11:12 AM
h0nam's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your reply! There is a feature to set my PCI-e frequency; the problem is, when I lock it at 100, the PCI-e bus runs at x1 speed instead of x16. It seems that the higher the FSB, the higher the PCI-e frequency needs to be adjusted in order to keep it at x16. I've heard that this may damage the video card though, and so I am no going to try anything above 110 for PCI-e frequency... that's why I was wondering if there was any other way to make it work properly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2007, 11:01 PM
Somed00d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 69
Default

yeah its a known problem on dfi p965-s boards so probably others too..

did you try every setting between 100-110? or maybe lower?
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.2ghz (965 chipset holding me back)
DFI Infinity P965-S
Gigabyte Geforce 8500GT
Buffalo Firestix FSX800D2C-K2G 2X1GB PC2-6400 CL5
OCZ XTC Active Memory Cooler
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA2
MCE Wireless Keyboard / Remote
Logitech X-530 Speakers
Swiftech H20-220 Water kit
Swiftech MCW30 NB Cooling
OCZ PowerStream 600W
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 03:09 AM
h0nam's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20

My System Specs

Default

Hey thanks for the replies, but I got everything worked out... sort of.
It turns out that I needed to +0.1v to the MCH thing... although I'm really not sure what that is... This way, I could have my PCI-e locked at 100 and still have it running at x16. The only problem now is that I am overclocking my E6300 to 3.2ghz with the vcore at 1.45v, which I would consider extremely high, especially for a C2D. Right now I have it Orthos stable for 13 hours, but anything below 1.45v it becomes unstable.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 10:04 AM
Somed00d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h0nam View Post
Hey thanks for the replies, but I got everything worked out... sort of.
It turns out that I needed to +0.1v to the MCH thing... although I'm really not sure what that is... This way, I could have my PCI-e locked at 100 and still have it running at x16. The only problem now is that I am overclocking my E6300 to 3.2ghz with the vcore at 1.45v, which I would consider extremely high, especially for a C2D. Right now I have it Orthos stable for 13 hours, but anything below 1.45v it becomes unstable.
thats actually not too high. my E6420 stock volts was 1.35 and needed 1.55 to hit 3.2ghz

as long as your temps are good you shouldn't have any trouble running 24/7
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.2ghz (965 chipset holding me back)
DFI Infinity P965-S
Gigabyte Geforce 8500GT
Buffalo Firestix FSX800D2C-K2G 2X1GB PC2-6400 CL5
OCZ XTC Active Memory Cooler
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA2
MCE Wireless Keyboard / Remote
Logitech X-530 Speakers
Swiftech H20-220 Water kit
Swiftech MCW30 NB Cooling
OCZ PowerStream 600W
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2007, 07:11 PM
h0nam's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your reply, that's good to know... at least puts me a little bit more at ease lol!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2007, 04:02 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
thats actually not too high. my E6420 stock volts was 1.35 and needed 1.55 to hit 3.2ghz

as long as your temps are good you shouldn't have any trouble running 24/7
Strange..I only needed 1.375V for my E6420 to reach 3.2..and it is with the apparently bad L644G batch!

My settings on my DS3 rev3.3 (on the old F10 BIOS)

MCH +0.1V
FSB forced to 100MHZ
FSB +0.1V
CPU 1.375V
RAM 1:1 @400FSB stock volts
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2007, 07:30 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h0nam View Post
Hey thanks for the replies, but I got everything worked out... sort of.
It turns out that I needed to +0.1v to the MCH thing... although I'm really not sure what that is... This way, I could have my PCI-e locked at 100 and still have it running at x16. The only problem now is that I am overclocking my E6300 to 3.2ghz with the vcore at 1.45v, which I would consider extremely high, especially for a C2D. Right now I have it Orthos stable for 13 hours, but anything below 1.45v it becomes unstable.
Vmch = voltage of memory controller hub. It makes sense to raise vmch if you have pcie issues, basically it supports memory and video buses, ie. lets cpu, mem, vid communicate.

1.45v is fine, I wouldnt worry about it. :)
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GA-965P-DS3 Bios 11 ? Any luck? Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 0 May 30, 2007 04:40 AM
GA-965P-DS3 .. is revision 3.3 important? mbolduc CPU's and Motherboards 3 May 27, 2007 08:48 AM
e6850 at 500 fsb on Gigabyte GA-965P DS3 Babrbarossa Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 March 17, 2007 10:05 AM
TweakTown reviews the Gigabyte 965P-DQ6 Rev 3.3 Motherboard Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 February 12, 2007 05:51 PM
TechSpot stages Core 2 E4300 vs. E6300 overclocking battle Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 5 January 25, 2007 01:49 PM