Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2007, 09:57 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default Best E6xxx to overclock

Ok so I'm gonna be pickin up a asus p5b unless there is a better overclocking board and a e6xxx chip. But I'm curious what others think is the best one to overclock and provides the greatest results.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2007, 08:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 213
Default

Depends on how much money you have, and if you're looking for performance or bling rights. You can pick up an e6300 (1.86ghz stock) for 150 bucks, and some like mine (especially l625,l627,l635 codes, b2 steppings) clock from 1.86 to 3.5+ on air, and as im runnin 3.9 on water (BIX3, D4, tdx on a ds3 (vdroop mod)), and thats only cause my **** ram maxes out @ 560fsb 6-6-6-18/2.5v.

If you're looking for performance, the e6600 will clock to 3.6ish on air (from 2.4) but it has 4mb l2 cache and will perform much better then an e6300 clock for clock :)

Conroes are the best oc'ers in history, so u can't really go wrong. Just gotta find, or hunt down a good stepping :D

The e6400 is the same as the e6300 but will clock further with worse memmory because of higher multiplier (2.13ghz)

The e6600,700,800 are the same, but also with different multipliers. The e6600and6700 usually clock better then the x6800s...;()


The P5B is good for all conroes, but the gigabyte p965 DS3 is best for the e6400 and the e6300, not e6600+.

Have fun :)

Last edited by n-sanity; January 11, 2007 at 08:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2007, 01:34 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Is there some resource available that tells you which product runs are the best for conroes? I have an e6400 and I'm curious to know where mine fits in, given my somewhat modest OC.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2007, 01:44 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

How about the E4300? It's been getting extremely good review, is an excellent overclock and will be fairly inexpensive when it arrives.

At stock speeds it's nothing to write home about, but when overclocked I think it will be a better value/performer when compared to a E6300, even though it has a smaller cache and loss of VT support.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2007, 04:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

4300 looks promising, but I'm not ready to fork out $220 for it and I'm not in big need of VT
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2007, 05:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 213
Default

I got my e6300 for 140 bucks 4 months ago, and i've been runnning 3.6ghz 24/7 on stock air cooling with stock volts... running laps around x6800's @ 3ghz.... and the e43 doesnt size up clock for clock 1st of all, and second i'd like to c one oc to 3.6 on STOCK!

To answer ur question though, you're looking for an L6xx B or B2, and also prefferably for a L624/5/7/30/31 (b/b2) batch number wise.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2007, 06:19 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Darn it-- mine's and L631A571- It'll do 3.2 at stock. Unbelievable-- you're getting 1000+ dollar performance for under 200.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2007, 07:04 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

OK-- keep in mind I'm a noob (overclocking for a month now) but while reading the processor box I happened to notice that the stock voltage is 1.35V. duh- I've been running mine at 1.33! It's funny though- 3.2Ghz seems to the the magic number for this chip. Tonight I had it orthos stable for 20 min at 3.4 but had to use 1.43V to do it- the temps weren't bad so it didn't seem to be heat that was the problem. It just seems to be unhappy over 3.2, but I would have thought that if it would run that speed at 1.33, I could easily do 3.5 at 1.40- oh well-- maybe I really need H2O, (or a b-series chip).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2007, 07:53 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default

Every chip behaves a little differently depending on the stepping.

Mine scales up to around 2800 with minor vid bumps, but starts needing much higher bumps after that to get over 3g. 3050 seems to be the top end of it no matter what vid I throw at it. (Haven't tried any of the really stupid volts... this board will let me do over 1.8 on a 1.35 chip if I wanted to....).

You might find that Water Cooling your rig allows you to bump the volts up enough to get much higher clocks, or you might find that all it does is get you a few more clocks with cooler temps.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2007, 08:33 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 469
Default

How would this cpu with this batch number be?
L632B250, it is a E6600.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Successful Overclock vintank Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 January 25, 2008 11:09 AM
Problems with overclock FritzGuy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 December 10, 2007 06:14 PM
Help me Overclock my Firestix. Dethredic Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 November 9, 2007 09:15 AM
24/7 Overclock? bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 August 25, 2007 04:32 PM
Well I got one, now how do I overclock it? Supergrover Off Topic 11 May 1, 2007 02:30 PM