Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 07:39 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default See any thing i can make better ?

Field Value
CPU Properties
CPU Type DualCore Intel Xeon E3110
CPU Alias Wolfdale
CPU Stepping C0
Engineering Sample No
CPUID CPU Name Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3110 @ 3.00GHz
CPUID Revision 00010676h
CPU VID 1.2250 V

CPU Speed
CPU Clock 3995.0 MHz (original: 3000 MHz, overclock: 33%)
CPU Multiplier 9x
CPU FSB 443.9 MHz (original: 333 MHz, overclock: 33%)
Memory Bus 532.7 MHz
DRAM:FSB Ratio 12:10

CPU Cache
L1 Code Cache 32 KB per core
L1 Data Cache 32 KB per core
L2 Cache 6 MB (On-Die, ECC, ASC, Full-Speed)

Motherboard Properties
Motherboard ID 64-0100-000001-00101111-111008-Bearlake$0AAAA000_A7345IMS V1.10 111008
Motherboard Name MSI P35 Neo2-FIR/FR / P35 Platinum (MS-7345) (2 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 2 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394)

Chipset Properties
Motherboard Chipset Intel Bearlake P35
Memory Timings 5-7-7-20 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Command Rate (CR) 2T
DIMM1: G Skill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-10 @ 266 MHz)
DIMM3: G Skill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-10 @ 266 MHz)

BIOS Properties
System BIOS Date 11/10/08
Video BIOS Date 06/14/08
DMI BIOS Version V1.10

Graphics Processor Properties
Video Adapter XFX GeForce GTX 260
GPU Code Name GT200 (PCI Express 1.0 x16 10DE / 05E2, Rev A2)
GPU Clock (Geometric Domain) 576 MHz (original: 576 MHz)
GPU Clock (Shader Domain) 1242 MHz (original: 1242 MHz)
Memory Clock 999 MHz (original: 999 MHz)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 07:45 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,494

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfBane View Post
Chipset Properties
Motherboard Chipset Intel Bearlake P35
Memory Timings 5-7-7-20 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Command Rate (CR) 2T
DIMM1: G Skill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-10 @ 266 MHz)
DIMM3: G Skill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-10 @ 266 MHz)

Graphics Processor Properties
Video Adapter XFX GeForce GTX 260
GPU Code Name GT200 (PCI Express 1.0 x16 10DE / 05E2, Rev A2)
GPU Clock (Geometric Domain) 576 MHz (original: 576 MHz)
GPU Clock (Shader Domain) 1242 MHz (original: 1242 MHz)
Memory Clock 999 MHz (original: 999 MHz)
See if you can tighten those up. I know your ram is already overclocked from 400 to 537, but you still might be able to tighten up those timings to 5-5-5-15. May take a bit of extra volts, but that G.Skill is killer ram. I know. I have it in my system :P

And for the love of all that is holy. Overclock that 260 my good man!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 07:50 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
And for the love of all that is holy. Overclock that 260 my good man!
Especially since it's wc'ed using a full-cover block...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 07:56 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Hey John always good to see you :)
Ok what do i use to oc my wc gpu?
software and what shuld i oc it to ?
lol and my ram i need to set up in my bios i am assuming ?
and what should i up the voltage to ?

I am pretty maxed on the cpu oc and keep it stable tho:)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 08:02 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Ram? BIOS. Change the secondary timings one at a time, then use Memtest (MemTest: RAM reliability tester for Windows) to validate the change. I don't remember the max. volts on those sticks, but I'm sure Sagath with chime in.

GPU? Use eVga's Precision (EVGA | EVGA Precision | EVGA Precision) and change as follows:

core 650
shaders 1500
mem 1100

Those are my Folding-stable clocks on the BFG and evga 260 192 SPs that are installed in my Main rig.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 08:18 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,494

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Especially since it's wc'ed using a full-cover block...


*wimpers*. OC please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Ram? BIOS. Change the secondary timings one at a time, then use Memtest (MemTest: RAM reliability tester for Windows) to validate the change. I don't remember the max. volts on those sticks, but I'm sure Sagath with chime in.
Thanks Charlie. 2.1 is the 'recommended' max by G.Skill. Some people have taken it higher without issues. You shouldnt need to go higher then that, I have mine running at 1.9 at the listed timings in my sig. Your ram is OC'd a bit harder then mine (I keep mine at a 5:6 ratio, so I dont have a need to go higher). Try 1.9, if it gives you problems up it to 2.0 then 2.1. If it wont stay stable, back the timings off to 6-6-6-20 and reset the volts to 1.9, rinse/repeat. My hope is that it'll be stable at 5-5-5-20(15?) at 1.9 volts for you, like mine.

GPU? Use eVga's Precision (EVGA | EVGA Precision | EVGA Precision) and change as follows:

core 650
shaders 1500
mem 1100

Those are my Folding-stable clocks on the BFG and evga 260 192 SPs that are installed in my Main rig.[/quote]

Those are pritty conservative numbers charlie! Grab Furmark (FurMark: Graphics Card Stability and Stress Test, OpenGL Benchmark and GPU Temperature | oZone3D.Net) start with charlies numbers, and see how high you can go. This is a pritty good gfx overclocking guide to get you started: Up the Core until you get triangles/crashes, back it off 10-20mhz . Do the same with the shaders, until triangles/crashes. Ram is similar, but you'll see white (or green) dots when it errors.

nVidia has a GPU recovery message now (atleast in Vista). Thats the 'crash' I'm talking about.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 08:30 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Yes, I'm conservative about the 260s. This is my Main rig / work rig, I ain't pushing it...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 09:52 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

ok heres what i got so far :)

Field Value
Computer
Computer Type ACPI Multiprocessor x64-based PC
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
Internet Explorer 8.0.6001.18702
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name
User Name
Logon Domain
Date / Time 2009-07-04 / 13:44

Motherboard
CPU Type DualCore Intel Xeon E3110, 4000 MHz (9 x 444)
Motherboard Name MSI P35 Neo2-FIR/FR / P35 Platinum (MS-7345) (2 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 2 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394)
Motherboard Chipset Intel Bearlake P35
System Memory 4096 MB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)
DIMM1: G Skill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-10 @ 266 MHz)
DIMM3: G Skill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-10 @ 266 MHz)
BIOS Type AMI (11/10/08)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)

Display
Video Adapter GeForce GTX 260 (896 MB)
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260 (896 MB)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
Monitor Acer P244W [24" LCD] (LEB0D0078520)
Monitor ViewSonic VA1926w Series [19" LCD] (QRT074200251)

Multimedia
Audio Adapter Realtek ALC888/1200 @ Intel 82801IB ICH9 - High Definition Audio Controller [A-2]

Storage
IDE Controller Intel(R) ICH9 Family 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
IDE Controller Intel(R) ICH9R/DO/DH 4 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2920
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
Storage Controller SCSI/RAID Host Controller
Disk Drive SAMSUNG HD753LJ (750 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA-II)
Optical Drive HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-H62N (DVD+R9:10x, DVD-R9:10x, DVD+RW:18x/8x, DVD-RW:18x/6x, DVD-RAM:12x, DVD-ROM:16x, CD:48x/32x/48x DVD+RW/DVD-RW/DVD-RAM)
Optical Drive WK8589I BFX684T SCSI CdRom Device
Optical Drive WK8589I BFX684T SCSI CdRom Device
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions
C: (NTFS) 698.6 GB (589.2 GB free)
Total Size 698.6 GB (589.2 GB free)

Input
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Mouse HID-compliant mouse
Game Controller Microsoft PC-joystick driver

Network
Primary IP Address 192.168.0.100
Primary MAC Address 00-1D-92-85-53-22
Network Adapter Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (192.168.0.100)

Peripherals
Printer Microsoft XPS Document Writer
USB1 Controller Intel 82801IB ICH9 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-2]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801IB ICH9 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-2]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801IB ICH9 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-2]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801IB ICH9 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-2]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801IB ICH9 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-2]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801IB ICH9 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-2]
USB2 Controller Intel 82801IB ICH9 - USB2 Enhanced Host Controller [A-2]
USB2 Controller Intel 82801IB ICH9 - USB2 Enhanced Host Controller [A-2]
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device

DMI
DMI BIOS Vendor American Megatrends Inc.
DMI BIOS Version V1.10
DMI System Manufacturer MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.,LTD
DMI System Product MS-7345
DMI System Version 1.0
DMI System Serial Number To Be Filled By O.E.M.
DMI Motherboard Manufacturer MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.,LTD
DMI Motherboard Product MS-7345
DMI Motherboard Version 1.0
DMI Motherboard Serial Number To be filled by O.E.M.
DMI Chassis Manufacturer MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.,LTD
DMI Chassis Version 1.0
DMI Chassis Serial Number To Be Filled By O.E.M.
DMI Chassis Asset Tag To Be Filled By O.E.M.
DMI Chassis Type Desktop Case
DMI Total / Free Memory Sockets 4 / 2
i couldn't oc the ram it said oc failed everytime So i enable the SPD to get back on
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 10:15 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Did you bump the Vram to 2.1V?

And the 260 oc? How did that go?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 01:12 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

ok i set the mem voltage in the bios to 210 and it still gave me an oc error , so i had to enable SPD to get system back again .
i oced the vid card to 700
1600
1200
and my temps on a load are at 39 C
is trhat ok?
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone following the Susan Boyle thing? biff Off Topic 15 April 18, 2009 10:29 PM
The thing that bugs me the most. HermesĄ˘ Gaming 35 December 24, 2008 08:30 PM
How do you get the maple leaf thing? Gameplaywarrior Off Topic 6 October 19, 2008 04:30 PM
DirectCanada PIN thing tao5269 Off Topic 1 May 1, 2008 08:44 AM
The hall thing started from a cd... omgwtf Off Topic 6 November 15, 2007 03:48 PM