Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 10:23 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

ok, after this run I'll set my timings to 4-4-4-12-22-2t

oc'ed gpu to 955/1125 nets me 17.97k ~ 18k

GPU: max=35C, min=31C
CPU: max=43C, min=28C

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
What is your NB running @? I found the NB needed a little goose in volts to even get passed 3.75. For me that was +100mv.
NB is @ stock V core. I will increase it aswell.
__________________



Last edited by Cowboy; July 6, 2009 at 10:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 10:34 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

What is your NB running @? I found the NB needed a little goose in volts to even get passed 3.75. For me that was +100mv.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 10:50 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

set timings to 4-4-4-12-22-2t and get 18060 in 06.

Also upped the NB voltage, just a tad tho.

EDIT/Update:

Pushed the NB to 204 (205 would crash in '06) and got a score of 18.3k in 06'

ram @ 816 4-4-4-12-22-2t
cpu@ 3.876 ghz

Thanks guys, I got a stable score at just below 3.9 ghz. not bad.

I'm still open to suggestions on how to make it better. (I.e should i drop the multi a bit and up the NB for better ram performance at the same cpu freq?)
__________________



Last edited by Cowboy; July 6, 2009 at 11:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2009, 03:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 109
Default

If the new Phenoms are anything like the old Athlons, tighter timings usually gives you the better performance compared to higher clock
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2009, 03:43 PM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wall86 View Post
If the new Phenoms are anything like the old Athlons, tighter timings usually gives you the better performance compared to higher clock
good to know,

I've got my ram currently at ddr2-816 and 4-4-4-12-22-2t timings @ 1.88v

Any room for improvement?
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking HELP please Crysisfan11 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 May 27, 2009 10:15 AM
Overclocking help tzetsin Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 41 January 27, 2008 11:05 PM
Overclocking P4 1.8 Kassela Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 December 27, 2007 11:28 AM
Need help overclocking further Kessler Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 December 5, 2007 05:09 PM
Need some help on Overclocking ShinseiKen CPU's and Motherboards 10 July 11, 2007 07:41 PM