Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 07:35 PM
Magnetar's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default OC: P5Q Pro, Q9650, 8GB Ascents

Working on a simple OC for my system. Nothing to extreme or OCD.

Right now I'm testing it with the following settings:
423 Mhz Bus Speed (1692.2 Rated FSB) x9 Multi = 3807.4Mhz.
I have my vcore set to 1.2750, and it reads as 1.264 in CPU Z.
The RAM is at a 1:1 ratio, auto timings (5.5.5.18) at 2.1 volts.

Seems to be quite happy right now. We'll see if it stays that way though...
I played around for a while trying to keep it at 4Ghz but I wasn't comfortable with the temps.
Right now (at 3.8Ghz) the first core hits 61, and the rest hit 57 and 56.
It's running 2x Orthos small FFTs, affinity set for 2 cores per.

I always keep it below 60, but I'm considering letting it slide with 61 if it proves to be stable in the end.
Good idea? Please let me know what you think.

Sorry if I'm rambling, I'll blame it on a major lack of sleep..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 07:37 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Are you using Core Temp? My safe temperature is 65C. Besides, how often do your programs are as intensive as Orthos, OCCT, etc. Folding@Home could be one of them but besides that, not many.

Try using OCCT instead of Orthos. It's much better. Also are you stable with just 1.275Vcore? That's really low.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 07:45 PM
Magnetar's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Are you using Core Temp? My safe temperature is 65C. Besides, how often do your programs are as intensive as Orthos, OCCT, etc. Folding@Home could be one of them but besides that, not many.

Try using OCCT instead of Orthos. It's much better. Also are you stable with just 1.275Vcore? That's really low.
I'm using Real Temp 3.00.
True that, Gaming is the hardest I'll push this thing.

I'll use OCCT too. I was planning to after a run of Orthos.
Honestly, I'm not to sure which is the best way to test for system stability anymore. I just do the old time consuming, Orthos for 12 hours, Prime95 for 24 hours, and a run of OCCT for good measure.
If you know of a less time consuming way, please do enlighten me.

Yeah, I had my fingers crossed for this vcore!
I did have it running at 4.0 for a while (too hot) at that, but that was the lowest I could take it for 4.0.
After that I figured 1.275 was a safe bet for a low vcore at 3.8. Thus far it's paying off.


ps. When I touch my NB, its feels pretty hot.
Anyone know safe temps for it. Should I worry about it being on auto right now given the setting I listed I'm on??
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 05:36 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON
Posts: 105
Default

The Linkpack based tests seem to be the most stressful.
Use the OCCT Linkpack, or Intel Burn Test. If it is going to fail, these tests can flush it out within 15minutes, whereas Orthos may need to run for 8hrs before failure.
Be prepared for an extra 8-10 degrees with Linpack above Prime95 or Orthos.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 06:10 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnetar View Post
I always keep it below 60, but I'm considering letting it slide with 61 if it proves to be stable in the end.
What's another degree? to me 60 = 61. There's nothing wrong with that. I say go to 65 and call it quits if you want to stay safe.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 05:49 PM
Magnetar's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default

I passed OCCT Linpack. Temps got to 66 which is okay for Linpack IMO.
All other tests passed too.

Thank you all for you feedback!


Final data for those who may be on a similar journey someday:

3.8Ghz = 3807.4 Mhz
Bus Speed = 423
FSB Rated = 1692.2
Vcore = 1.2750 (CPUZ = 1.264)

CPU Ratio = Auto
FSB Frequency = 423
PCIE Frequency= 101
CPU Voltage = 1.27500
CPU PLL = 1.54
FSB Termination Voltage = 1.28
DRAM Voltage = 2.10
NB Voltage = 1.26
LLC = Auto
CPU Spread Spectrum = Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum = Disabled
CPU Clockscrew = Auto
NB Clockscrew = Auto
CPU Margin Enhancement = Optimized
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] P5Q pro and 8400 e0 Phillie Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 29, 2009 08:24 PM
Linux on P5Q-Pro anyone? The MAX O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 February 13, 2009 09:28 AM
Anyone running 8GB of Ram in the P5Q-Pro? Issues? The MAX RAM 7 February 10, 2009 07:19 PM
P5Q-PRO Build element291 New Builds 7 January 20, 2009 01:51 PM
p5q pro n0rd1c CPU's and Motherboards 1 November 22, 2008 11:49 AM