Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2009, 09:08 PM
Sheep's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Coquitlam, British Columbia
Posts: 104
Default Overclocking an E7400

Hi,

I'm a huge newb when it comes to overclocking, and most of the guides I've tried to read are way over my head. I know that FSB plus multiplier are what equals your speed, and the higher the FSB, the faster the system is on a whole. Here's my system:

Asus P5Q pro
E7400
G.Skill PC2-6400
Thermalright AXP-140
HD4870

Currently, I'm at a FSB of 333 with a multiplier of 10. The CPU voltage reading from CPU-Z is 1.3v. Should this be lower? With this FSB setup, should I be worried about my PCIE Bus? These are my only 2 real concerns.

Thanks,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 05:38 PM
Sheep's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Coquitlam, British Columbia
Posts: 104
Default

Ok no cream.



Sheep
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 05:40 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

trial and error try and lower the voltage until it will not boot or is unstable ( as long as the pcie is set to 100 mhz then your fine)on a p5q i got my e7200 to 3.8@ 1.36v
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 06:20 PM
Sheep's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Coquitlam, British Columbia
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
trial and error try and lower the voltage until it will not boot or is unstable ( as long as the pcie is set to 100 mhz then your fine)on a p5q i got my e7200 to 3.8@ 1.36v
Thanks fr the reply. With the current voltage my temps are still fine. I think I'll just leave that alone.

Thanks for clearing up the PCiE slot bus.

Sheep
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 06:56 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

no problem at all those chips run very cool
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 07:01 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

The E7400 runs a multi of 10.5 does it not? Why not set it to 10.5 and a FSB of 343 - 345 to get 3.6ghz, My E7400 ran these settings with great temps at 1.326v. Your motherboard should be auto configing your CPU to run a 10.5 multi since its the CPUs default.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2009, 12:44 PM
Sheep's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Coquitlam, British Columbia
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Realityshift View Post
The E7400 runs a multi of 10.5 does it not? Why not set it to 10.5 and a FSB of 343 - 345 to get 3.6ghz, My E7400 ran these settings with great temps at 1.326v. Your motherboard should be auto configing your CPU to run a 10.5 multi since its the CPUs default.
I lowered down the Multi just to be safe. I wasn't sure how well the AXP140 would cool the CPU. I'll change the Multi back to 10.5, and see how that goes. 333fsb is fine for me.

Thanks for the reply,
Sheep
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2009, 05:36 PM
Sheep's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Coquitlam, British Columbia
Posts: 104
Default

Changed the Multi back to 10.5 and running 3.5GHz.

Superpi 1m at 15 seconds, 2m at 40s flat.

Sheep
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2009, 06:07 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

raise the fsb till she won't boot then back off by 10 mhz and start to run some prime or occt stress tests to check if it's stable. and i always leave my TM function on
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2009, 07:36 PM
Sheep's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Coquitlam, British Columbia
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
raise the fsb till she won't boot then back off by 10 mhz and start to run some prime or occt stress tests to check if it's stable. and i always leave my TM function on
I think I'm good where I'm at. I don't think eeking out another 100MHz is going to make a huge every day difference.

Thanks for the help though,
Sheep
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] E7400 $130 shipped Realityshift Buy/Sell & Trade 6 April 24, 2009 12:18 AM
E7400 SLI overclocking build.. Realityshift Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1 March 9, 2009 02:54 PM
[WTB] Intel CPU E7400 tyreman Buy/Sell & Trade 7 February 22, 2009 02:47 PM
E7400 Machine xsever New Builds 5 January 21, 2009 02:14 PM