Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2009, 12:51 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,490

My System Specs

Default GTX 2xx Series overclocking!

First day of Vacation. The wife and I are flying out on Monday to Peru, to hike Macchu Picchu for 4 days. Total trip time is 14 days. VERY excited.

What this all means is that I have the next two days to do absolutly nothing but tweak out my GTX 275. Its under water, and so far I'm having crazy good success!



I'm still raising the core higher, and I havnt even started really on the ram or shaders! Just figured this was a good point to post a thread about the 200 series and overclocking them.

What kind of other success stories are floating out there?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2009, 01:32 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,490

My System Specs

Default

Core capped out at 780mhz on Furmark, any further and I got the windows driver recovery message. I gamed for 30 min on it to test stability at 780. I know its not a long time. I'll loop it over night to confirm. Thats an absolute insane overclock on water from what Ive read online!

Ram started getting artifacts at around 1300. I stopped seeing any at 1295, and backed it off to 1282 (2564mhz effective) just to be sure. This seems to be about max for the Samsung ram on the 275's across the web.

Shaders are up to 1720 right now. I'm folding with them at that, doing 30 second percents on a 353 pointer right now . I'm really not sure how far I can take this. How do you tell when the shaders are being pushed too far?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2009, 02:57 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

I would push the shaders until you start getting errors.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2009, 05:32 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

That is a good overclock- most cards seem to hit a wall in the low 700's, even under water.

I got pretty lucky with my own BFG GTX280, it's been running 777 core/1602 shaders/1404 mem for the last half year. But I suspect that it may have benefitted from soem aggressive binning, since it was their H2OC edition.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 08:53 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,490

My System Specs

Default

Ran it in the evening, only to find out my shaders couldn't hold up the 1720 (even tho they folded at that for ~6 hours...whats that all about?). I learned that shaders poop out the same way a GPU does on Furmark; You get the driver recovery error message. Tested it last night some more to get a ballpark on the shaders.

Final overclock after running it this morning for ~4 hours (and still going): 780core/1282ram/1660 shaders.

Kinda disappointed in the shaders. But then I realize that I paid for stock vanilla card, got a defaulted to SC clocks card, that Ive overclocked well beyond FTW speeds...And I shouldn't bitch about it
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 12:59 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Personally, I run ATI Tool and look for artifacts the same time I run furmark. I find that the heat of furmark coupled with the sensitivity of looking for artifacts makes for stable overclocks when you find your limits.

Just my 2c
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E8xxx Series Overclocking yycraven Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 August 28, 2008 08:17 PM
Overclocking 9800 GTX KO DavidDemise Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 July 29, 2008 07:24 PM
NVIDIA's GTX 200-series Specs Revealed Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 21, 2008 10:57 AM
Overclocking the 8800 series Babrbarossa Video Cards 1 March 18, 2007 08:58 AM
Kentsfield Sub-Zero OVERCLOCKING and Geforce 8800 GTX Benches! Misoprostol CPU's and Motherboards 22 February 14, 2007 12:07 AM