Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 11:56 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default GA-EP45-UD3P 435FSB wont post

I've had this motherboard for a while but only just recently decided to bother overclocking past 3.6GHz (waste of a QX at that speed). The problem I am having is quite odd. I am able to post at 434MHz x 9 perfectly fine, and it is two hours OCCT stable and increasing. But when I try 435MHz it doesn't even post. I'm using a 5:6 divider with my RAM, so even at 435, its only running 1044MHz, so still under spec (using 2.1V and 5-5-5-15 for overclocking, which is definitely 100% stable). I have tried increasing all of the volts a fair amount (in small increments) and it would not post. I have had this processor at 4.2GHz 24/7 stable when I had my P5Q-E so I know the processor has plenty more room in it. I have even posted at 4.3GHz with slightly higher volts by increasing the multiplier to 10 so the motherboard also has room for some more MHz still. I am currently running the newest BIOS, F9, but the problem existed when I had the F7 installed. Any advice would be appreciated.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 12:07 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

What PL, and CAS for ram?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 12:09 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
I've had this motherboard for a while but only just recently decided to bother overclocking past 3.6GHz (waste of a QX at that speed). The problem I am having is quite odd. I am able to post at 434MHz x 9 perfectly fine, and it is two hours OCCT stable and increasing. But when I try 435MHz it doesn't even post. I'm using a 5:6 divider with my RAM, so even at 435, its only running 1044MHz, so still under spec (using 2.1V and 5-5-5-15 for overclocking, which is definitely 100% stable). I have tried increasing all of the volts a fair amount (in small increments) and it would not post. I have had this processor at 4.2GHz 24/7 stable when I had my P5Q-E so I know the processor has plenty more room in it. I have even posted at 4.3GHz with slightly higher volts by increasing the multiplier to 10 so the motherboard also has room for some more MHz still. I am currently running the newest BIOS, F9, but the problem existed when I had the F7 installed. Any advice would be appreciated.
Intel chipsets are notorious for fsb holes which you very well may have found.

My DFI board I have is no good at 420 to about 450 which is the sweet spot for overclocking.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 12:10 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Every processor has an "FSB wall" that can't really be bypassed easily. On my Budget OC system (see signature) using the exact some motherboard as you, my e5200 wouldnt go above 330 fsb with a 12.5x Multi before becoming completely unstable and/or not posting at all. I dropped it back to 320fsb and started fine tuning from there - I'd suggest you do the same. good luck!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 12:20 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Every processor has an "FSB wall" that can't really be bypassed easily. On my Budget OC system (see signature) using the exact some motherboard as you, my e5200 wouldnt go above 330 fsb with a 12.5x Multi before becoming completely unstable and/or not posting at all. I dropped it back to 320fsb and started fine tuning from there - I'd suggest you do the same. good luck!
Its not the processor its the motherboard.

I know for a fact my processor can easily do 450+ but this DFI board will not.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 12:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Yeah, it's the memory subtimings, and, ergo, the bios, that causes "FSB holes".
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 12:25 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Didnt know what i was thinking when i said processor... Too late to change it now... lol...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 01:05 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

I just realized that I forgot to mention what really makes this odd. When I boot at 434MHz, I can use EasyTune6 and run 440MHz perfectly fine (one hour OCCT stable).

Here are my timings from MemSet (WOW that PL is horrid):
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 01:10 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

AND it is probably the source of your frustration. PL/CAS/Divider need to work together...one out of whack will screw with the others.

try PL7 or 8, if you can adj8sut in bios. I'd also suggest setting TRFC to 72, and TRD_wr to 8, as well as ead to precharge to 5.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2009, 01:30 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

I changed the tRFC and tRD_WR (write to precharge delated also changed itself to 17) with no success. I didn't see anything relating the the PL in the BIOS but I'll Google around and see if I can figure out how to change it.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q9450 + ep45-ud3p (F9) CTA Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 54 June 18, 2009 07:36 PM
[FS] Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P bigdee Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 11, 2009 07:44 AM
Add parallel port on Gigabyte EP45-UD3P esanity Troubleshooting 2 January 10, 2009 12:42 PM
Gigabyte EP45 DS3R or UD3P? Dark-Colonel New Builds 6 December 3, 2008 05:03 AM