Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 11:06 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default Q9450 + ep45-ud3p (F9)

i searched many forums/sites... its very rare...

so i try to do it myself for first time... 1/6 is successful... so i would need get helps from expert or experience with gigabyte...

gigabyte is much hard than asus... but i really like gigabyte over my old crappy p5q...

i am start with 3.2ghz... but try to accomplish 3.6ghz or higher...

my cpu vid is 1.2500 according to realtemp...

Code:
Advanced Settings
Limit CPUID Max. to 3.....................: [Disabled]
No-Execute Memory Protect............: [Enabled]
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)................: [Disabled]
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) ...........: [Enabled]
CPU EIST Function.........................: [Disabled]
Virtualization Technology................: [Disabled]
 
=====
 
MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)
Robust Graphics Booster ...............: Turbo
CPU Clock Ratio ..........................: 8
Fine CPU Clock Ratio.....................:.0
CPU Frequency ...........................: 3.2
 
 
Clock Chip Control 
Standard Clock Control
CPU Host Clock Control..................: [Enabled] 
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ............: 400 Mhz
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) .........:Set to 100
 
C.I.A.2 .................................:[Disabled]
 
 
Advanced Clock Control [Press Enter]
CPU Clock Drive...........................: 800
PCI Express Clock Drive.................: 900
CPU Clock Skew (ps)....................: 0
MCH Clock Skew (ps)...................: 0
 
 
DRAM Performance Control
Performance Enhance...................: [STANDARD]
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.).....: Disabled
(G)MCH Frequency Latch...............: 400
System Memory Multiplier ..............: 2.66D
Memory Frequency (Mhz) ..............: 1066
DRAM Timing Selectable ................: [Auto]
 
Standard Timing Control
CAS Latency Time........................:
tRCD .........................................:
tRP'...........................................:
tRAS..........................................:
 
Set all Suggested below to highest Values first.  Then later you can lower, one at a time, testing as you go
 
Advanced Timing Control
tRRD...........................................:
tWTR..........................................:
tWR............................................:
tRFC...........................................:
tRTP...........................................:
Command Rate (CMD) ....................:
 
Driving Strength Profiles
Driving Strength ............................:
 
Channel A
Static tRead Value.........................:Auto
 tRD Phase0 Adjustment...................:Auto
tRD Phase1 Adjustment...................:Auto
 tRD Phase2 Adjustment .................:Auto
 tRD Phase3 Adjustment..................:Auto
Trd2rd(Different Rank)....................:Auto 
Twr2wr(Different Rank)...................:Auto 
Twr2rd(Different Rank)...................:Auto 
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank)..................:Auto 
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...............:Auto  ps
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...............:Auto  ps
 
Channel B
Static tRead Value.........................:Auto
 tRD Phase0 Adjustment...................:Auto
tRD Phase1 Adjustment...................:Auto
 tRD Phase2 Adjustment .................:Auto
 tRD Phase3 Adjustment..................:Auto
Trd2rd(Different Rank)....................:Auto 
Twr2wr(Different Rank)...................:Auto 
Twr2rd(Different Rank)...................:Auto 
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank)..................:Auto 
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...............:Auto  ps
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...............:Auto  ps
 
Motherboard Voltage Control
Load-Line Calibration.……….............: Disable
CPU
CPU Vcore….………......1.250V*.......: 1.28125
CPU Termination…..... 1.200V*.......: [Auto]
CPU PLL…………………....1.500V*.......: [Auto]
CPU Reference………....0.760V*.......: [Auto]
 
MCH/ICH
MCH Core…………….....1.100V...........: [Auto]
MCH Reference….…….0.760V...........; [Auto]
MCH/DRAM Ref.…......0.900V...........: [Auto]
ICH I/O……………….....1.500V............: [Auto]
ICH Core…………...……1.100V............: [Auto]
 
DRAM
DRAM Voltage ……....2.060V............: [Auto]
DRAM Termination .…0.900V............: [Auto]
Channel A Reference 0.900V............: [Auto]
Channel B Reference 0.900V............: [Auto]
should i overclock ram first?

i also tried easytune6 and not good enough... if i do something wrong then its freezed, reset or etc...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.

Last edited by CTA; May 20, 2009 at 12:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 06:28 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

:[

can you please answer my questions

- will first overclock ram help overclocking cpu?
- can i still play with cpu term, ref, pll voltage? i did but it didnt work until i clear cmos...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 08:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

I had the same board with a Q9550, you should be good for at least 475FSB, very possibly, 500-510FSB, depending on your ram,



I would use Load-line calibration,


and try setting your MCH latch to 333mhz, seemed to give me a little better stability overclocking.

only voltages I had to increase for a successful overclock were,

CPU core voltage
CPU Termination voltage (VTT/FSB)
MCH(north bridge) Voltage
Ram voltage, depending on your ram, since your trying for higher FSB speeds I'm guessing you have PC2-8000 or PC2-8500


Oh I forgot I should also tell you, once your above about a 425Mhz FSB with that board, if you have the PLL voltage set to Auto, it will jump that voltage really high, it only needs to stay at Default voltage, 1.50 I think it was.



On my Q9550 for a stable 3.8Ghz
CPU core, Vcore - needed 1.344 with load line calibration, this was read in CPU-Z in windows. I believe in the BIOS it was actually set to 1.36,

CPU Termination/Vtt - I had around 1.3 I believe, or 1.34

MCH/northbridge voltage - took around 1.3 - 1.34

Make sure you have good case airflow,

make sure you have a good CPU cooler, don't let the CPU temp go over 70C, stress test with Prime95 Small ffts

I would suggest a Antec spot cool fan over the North Bridge heatsink, it can get toasty with the higher FSB speeds and the higher voltage.


Good luck!

Last edited by TerenceJ; May 20, 2009 at 09:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 09:34 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i would like to have 500fsb ;p but i think its impossible because i have to take a long time to finish 4.0ghz...

why do you recommend to enable LLC? i thought its better to disable LLC... i check other thread >_>;

i thought if i use 400mhz on MCH latch then i will get 1:1 ratio... right? or i misunderstand something?

so you said to overclock ram [voltage] first?


you seem not read my speficiation >_> and i am curious about your speficiation... can you please tell me your...?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 09:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

MCH latch is completely separate from RAM to FSB ratio

trust me, just set your MCH latch to 333Mhz, you still get the same Ram dividers,

Leave your ram so it runs at the same speed as your FSB to begin with, you can try overclocking it later, after you have the main part of your system stable


Some people are scared of LLC, from my personal experience, I have had no problems running it, I found without LLC, I had to set my Vcore quite a bit higher, and basically, you end up having the same Vcore under load without the LLC, then after you take the load off your processor, the Vcore Spikes up high again,

Its up to you, you can do it either way,


When it comes down to it, you OC your CPU to a higher frequency, it becomes unstable, and you bump the Vcore a little higher.



If I were you, I would set your CPU multiplier from 8 down to say 6, and try running a higher FSB 500Mhz, and see if your board can do it first,


There are a lot of good little OCing guides floating around for your board.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 10:18 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i see i see... i made a mistake... i will change 400 to 333

i will enable LLC since you have experience with it

so try fsb first then gain cpu multiple? thats interesting news to me... i will try to do that


yes i read some about overclock but the motherboard is pretty different...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 10:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

Hey I found some of my old Print screens that show my voltages and settings for OC'ing my Q9550, it will be very similar for your Q9450
Attached Images
     
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 10:27 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

nice but what is your specification?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 10:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

Q9550
Gigabyte GA-EP45-Ud3P
2 X 2GB Buffalo Firestix PC2-8500(1066Mhz)
Gigabyte 4870X2
TX750 watt Power supply


In my system, my CPU and my Videocard were watercooled. And in a Haf 932 Case

Also had a Antec Spotcool over the NorthBridge heatsink blowing air onto the NB to help keep it cool.


I see you have a Thermalright True 120, and a CM690 case, so you should have good case airflow, and the TRUE is a heck of a good aircooler, I would guess you should be able to get a good 3.6-3.8Ghz while staying under 70C with your processor.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 11:22 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

nice rig... you should get block for your SB and NB...

right now i have ICD paste without washer mod (my TRUE is still moving due to weak pressure of bolt) so max 45 degree C (according to realtemp)...

yes i hope for 3.6ghz ;p
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P bigdee Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 11, 2009 07:44 AM
Gigabyte EP45 DS3R or UD3P? Dark-Colonel New Builds 6 December 3, 2008 05:03 AM
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Review Comment Thread MAC CPU's and Motherboards 16 November 27, 2008 05:21 PM