Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 04:45 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

martin, if your ram is dead then you have lifetime warranty...

tyerman... sorry i am not understanding what your post is about... our settings are different...

anyway... i change a bit... i got it stable by 462mhz fsb at 8x = almost 3.7ghz

Code:
Advanced Settings
Limit CPUID Max. to 3.....................: [Disabled]
No-Execute Memory Protect............: [Enabled]
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)................: [Disabled]
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) ...........: [Enabled]
CPU EIST Function.........................: [Disabled]
Virtualization Technology................: [Disabled]
 
=====
 
MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)
Robust Graphics Booster ...............: Turbo
CPU Clock Ratio ..........................: 8
Fine CPU Clock Ratio.....................:.0
CPU Frequency ...........................: 3.696 (anyhow it displays 3.709)
 
Clock Chip Control 
Standard Clock Control
CPU Host Clock Control..................: [Enabled] 
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ............: 460 Mhz
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) .........:101
 
C.I.A.2 .................................:[Disabled]
 
 
Advanced Clock Control [Press Enter]
CPU Clock Drive...........................: 800
PCI Express Clock Drive.................: 900
CPU Clock Skew (ps)....................: 0
MCH Clock Skew (ps)...................: 0
 
 
DRAM Performance Control
Performance Enhance...................: [STANDARD]
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.).....: Disabled
(G)MCH Frequency Latch...............: 333
System Memory Multiplier ..............: 2.0B
Memory Frequency (Mhz) ..............: [924]
DRAM Timing Selectable ................: [Auto]
 
Standard Timing Control
CAS Latency Time........................:
tRCD .........................................:
tRP'...........................................:
tRAS..........................................:
 
Advanced Timing Control
tRRD...........................................:
tWTR..........................................:
tWR............................................:
tRFC...........................................:
tRTP...........................................:
Command Rate (CMD) ....................:
 
Driving Strength Profiles
Driving Strength ............................:
 
Channel A
Static tRead Value.........................:Auto
 tRD Phase0 Adjustment...................:Auto
tRD Phase1 Adjustment...................:Auto
 tRD Phase2 Adjustment .................:Auto
 tRD Phase3 Adjustment..................:Auto
Trd2rd(Different Rank)....................:Auto 
Twr2wr(Different Rank)...................:Auto 
Twr2rd(Different Rank)...................:Auto 
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank)..................:Auto 
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...............:Auto  ps
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...............:Auto  ps
 
Channel B
Static tRead Value.........................:Auto
 tRD Phase0 Adjustment...................:Auto
tRD Phase1 Adjustment...................:Auto
 tRD Phase2 Adjustment .................:Auto
 tRD Phase3 Adjustment..................:Auto
Trd2rd(Different Rank)....................:Auto 
Twr2wr(Different Rank)...................:Auto 
Twr2rd(Different Rank)...................:Auto 
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank)..................:Auto 
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...............:Auto  ps
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...............:Auto  ps
 
Motherboard Voltage Control
Load-Line Calibration.……….............: Enable
CPU
CPU Vcore….………......1.250V*.......: 1.4125
CPU Termination…..... 1.200V*.......: 1.34
CPU PLL…………………....1.500V*.......: 1.5
CPU Reference………....0.760V*.......: [Auto]
 
MCH/ICH
MCH Core…………….....1.100V...........: 1.32
MCH Reference….…….0.760V...........; [Auto]
MCH/DRAM Ref.…......0.900V...........: [Auto]
ICH I/O……………….....1.500V............: [Auto]
ICH Core…………...……1.100V............: [Auto]
 
DRAM
DRAM Voltage ……....2.060V............: 2.1
DRAM Termination .…0.900V............: [Auto]
Channel A Reference 0.900V............: [Auto]
Channel B Reference 0.900V............: [Auto]









notice one strange mark on end of graph at vcore... is it fine?

now what? start to overclock ram timing? well i will take information from mushkin forums...


btw. i will use it for heavily game or task only... i mean i wont use it for 24/7...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 05:54 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

I told you that the settings were different(doesn't change the basics)
Did you see me using Auto voltage settings? No.

Auto volting can and does make a difference in stability, IF all other items are good.
You have to many auto voltages set as well. they need to be more manual configurations on mb voltages. That is a FACT.

BUT maybe take it off turbo on graphics booster try auto. however that in itself won't work magic.



A regular 1 hour non Linpak Occt test means very little at 2 hours
try it on a 1 hour OCCT Linpak Test max 90% free memory.
If it fails within the hour on that test, then you have to go back again.

Its a quiick way of seeing where you are at.
But you knew all that already.
Anyway Good Luck with your endeavour, all the best.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; May 25, 2009 at 10:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 06:31 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

ok i will change it to auto...

well i already use occt 2.0a on all previous testings... i dont know if it will different result than previous version...

when i try to oc with mushkinsean's suggestion and it wont boot... but if i only change timing memory such as 5-5-5-15 and its not stable in about 20 mins as occt's error message said...


should i rasie more vcore or what?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 06:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON
Posts: 105
Default

I've got a Q9450 with the EP45-UD3P. Great board I'm getting 3.8ghz (see oc specs in sig).
I use Intel Burn Test to verify my OC as it is brutal. I can pass an overnight of p95 and fail Intel Burn in minutes if my OC isn't solid.

My only issue is load temps. With intel burn test I'm pushing into the low 80's at max fan speed. I don't seem to be able to get numbers even close to the review of the Vendetta II.
It'll prime in the high 60's though.

My Vtt is 1.34 and MCH is 1.34 ram is 1:1 at 5,5,5,10 @ 2.1volts. Reference is set at 67% respectively. Most other voltages are locked to normal as auto might run scary high volts.

I love this board, with my old board all I could get out of this processor was 3.2Ghz. Vdroop can be a little high once the speed and volts are upped but LLC takes care of the that. I don't want to push it higher than 1.35bios LLC to provide a buffer for those spikes that apparently happen with LLC. Without LLC I have to push the volts to 1.42 and still droop over 0.1v under load from bios setting.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 08:26 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

thats impressive... but its little strange that you got high 60's on vendetta... i think you should re-check it (re-seat? thermal paste? bracket?) or get better/epensive heatsink...

have you tried 4.0ghz...?


ps. "Reference is set at 67% respectively" as .67 on mch ref? correct?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 09:47 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

I am curious.

When all RAM setting are set to auto, what speed does the board run them at and, does it boot into windows that way? If you want, try it out. If it boots in, use CPUZ to see what timings the board has set for the sticks when set to auto.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 10:11 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i did... but i really dont know if its random or correct... i believe terence explained about ram in auto mode...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 11:03 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Do you have any applications that show you what voltage your RAM is running at once in windows? Maybe your board runs less voltage than what it is set at in the BIOS and could probably use some more to achieve the required amount. I know I had that problem with my motherboard when I was trying to get my stix to run at 1066. my board under volts everything except the CPU, it actually over volts the CPU. luckily they have a app to show what the real voltages are.

Anyhow... As soon as I upped the voltage to reach 2.1 real, my sticks became rock solid.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 12:13 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

sorry i dont know... i dont think there is...

if you want more accuracy then you could use your volt-o-metre... like reviewer did...


high end ram is usually stable when voltage is 2v to 2.2v... depend on brand and model...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 04:21 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lima View Post
I am curious.

When all RAM setting are set to auto, what speed does the board run them at and, does it boot into windows that way? If you want, try it out. If it boots in, use CPUZ to see what timings the board has set for the sticks when set to auto.
The MB will loosen the timings automatically if left in Auto. It seemed to be overdoing it though. I saw a bunch of 6's in my timings if I recall correctly.

I only ever see above 70 when running Intel Burn Test, which is a Linpack test. It seems like that test has an unbelievable ability to load my processor. I idle in the 40's and rarely see above 60 in normal use. The voltage seems to add heat at an exponential rate. Anything the displays above 1.31v in CPU-z seems to be a flame thrower.

I switched from the Vendetta I to the Vendetta II and saw my temps drop 15C under stress testing. I went from climbing into the high 90's to the low 80's. I use MX-2 applied similar to the HWCanucks review of the cooler.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P bigdee Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 11, 2009 07:44 AM
Gigabyte EP45 DS3R or UD3P? Dark-Colonel New Builds 6 December 3, 2008 05:03 AM
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Review Comment Thread MAC CPU's and Motherboards 16 November 27, 2008 05:21 PM