Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2009, 07:55 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

yes i mean cpu term... i confused it with pll >_>;

right now i use 1.34 on cpu term and 1.36 on mch... and start to work on vcore (now 1.3375)...

to run 470 mhz fs is not easy to work on :\ so i suspect i might can use 3.6-3.7 on air...

of course mine is still under 55'C maximum...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2009, 08:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

55C maximum on Full load with Prime 95 Small ffts?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2009, 08:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

bump your Vcore up a touch more, see if its more stable, 1.35(viewed CPU-Z) won't be bad for your CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2009, 08:34 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

well i use OCCT 2.0a

actually i jumped it to 1.4v due to my frustrate and i want to see what happen...

and it seems stable... for 20 mins,... i will try to lower the voltage... or maybe gain fsb... what do you think...


vcore: 1.4 ( 1.38 on cpuz or occt)
mch: 1.36
cpu term: 1.34

64'C maximum...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2009, 08:46 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

crap...

after exactly 30 minutes and its freezing...

any suggestions?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2009, 08:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

hmm, maybe your CPU just doesn't like that speed


If you want to see if your board can do that FSB and know that its not your CPU


Drop your muliplier to 7, drop your Vcore to say 1.35 in BIOS, and leave everything else the same, this way you can see if its your board, and factor out the CPU for now.

by dropping the CPU multiplier, 7 X 470 = 3290
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2009, 09:11 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

possible... i had enough for now >.>;

tomorrow i will do your suggestion at tomorrow...


i did calculate something...

if i want 1:1

3 = 355mhz fsb = 2.8 ghz
2.4 = 444mhz fsb = 3.5 ghz
2 = 533mhz fsb = 4.26 ghz

so q9450 can do up to 3.7 on air... very rare... average is 3.5

so i guess 460 (at 2.4 = 3.68ghz) is not impossible...

what do you think?


edit: have you watched this video; YouTube - Gigabyte EP45-UD3P Overclocking Howto - Part six - 720P HD ( and part 7) i believe its not right way to oc... and why all is normal (not auto) except vcore... o_O?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.

Last edited by CTA; May 21, 2009 at 09:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2009, 09:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

to me though, it sounds like your CPU doesn't like being clocked that high, your board should have enough volts for it to be solid.

By increasing your Vcore you did gain more stability, but not quite there, 1.38 is getting a little high, but your temps still good.

You may just have to settle for say 3.6-3.7Ghz
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2009, 09:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

oh thats for your Ram speed there your talking about I believe right?


Those dividers your referring to set your Ram speed in relation to your FSB



you won't notice much of a diff in Ram speed from 900Mhz - 1066Mhz


keep your Ram divider at 2.0 for now until you know you have a stable overclock on your board and CPU, then you can play around with your Ram speed after



Try shooting for a FSB of 450Mhz for now, and your CPU at 3.6Ghz, should be easy
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2009, 09:21 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

yes... but i believe 1:1 is best way to oc and stable...


i will try 460 (3.68ghz) first ;p
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P bigdee Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 11, 2009 07:44 AM
Gigabyte EP45 DS3R or UD3P? Dark-Colonel New Builds 6 December 3, 2008 05:03 AM
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Review Comment Thread MAC CPU's and Motherboards 16 November 27, 2008 05:21 PM