Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2007, 05:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada, AB
Posts: 3
Default C2D E6600 on a Striker Extreme

Alright, I'm fairly new to Overclocking, but in my readings I think I've grasped the idea, and how to do it.

First I boosted my VCore to 1.4 and then moved my FSB settings to "Sync Mode" and then gradually moved it up until I got my core to 2600 MHz.

I'm currently (and unfortunately) still using the Intel "shitsync" instead of any fancy water cooling setup.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2007, 07:32 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Need more specs like RAM, PSU, case.

Typically, you don't raise the Vcore before oc'ing. You first raise your FSB until you rig is unstable. Find out if you maxed out your RAM or CPU. If it's RAM, change multiplier or un-Sync. If it's your CPU, now is the time for more juice.

And you keep on going until you hit either a FSB wall, max. freq on RAM, too much Vcore or high CPU temps.

Speaking of which, you don't need a fancy WC set-up. Air-cooling is pretty close to par with WC. Noisy, but very efficient. At least change that Intel heatsink for something more efficient.

FYI, I did 3.1GHz on a WC E6320, without raising the Vcore... For sure you can reach 3.0 too, with that E6600 - even on air.

John
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2007, 06:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada, AB
Posts: 3
Default

Well, if I try to OC with my default VCore of "Auto", after restarting, my PC just emits a continuing beep which wont stop until I manually restart to reset the settings.
__________________
Asus Striker Extreme | Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.6 GHz | 2GB OCZ PC2-6400 XTC Edition Rev. 2 | BFG Tech 8800 GTX 768MB | OCZ 850W GameXStream |
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2007, 06:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Find out what is the default Vcore of your E6600. Set it at that value. Un-sync your RAM - that OCZ is not known to OC very well.

Start with that. Raise the FSB slowly (20 MHz), load Windows, start Orthos for 15-20 minutes. Check temps - max. 55ish C. If stable, raise FSB, re-load Windows, start Orthos, verify temps again. Stable? Wash again...

Once Windows won't load, raise Vcore slowly (max. 1.40 on air I believe - don't take my word for it) and start all over.

BTW, you got one heck of a rig!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2007, 11:23 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

You can also check the BIOS for what the current Vcore is and then set it to that in the BIOS. That might give you a hand with that issue.

Looking good though. I don't know Intel chips so I can't say much more than that :D
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2007, 07:43 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

If you want to simplify it for yourself Unlink the RAM so that you're not worrying about that yet.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2007, 12:00 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

how in F**king hell did you boot your Striker with OCZ ram which is default 2.2V and the striker only boots on 1.8V ...?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 12:50 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default I had same prob

I was told u could get a bios update for the rampant and ever existing prob of incompatible ram with the striker extreme.but stock you cant even boot with most ocz ram in that board if you found a bios rev let me know:rtfm:
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2008, 11:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Outside Toronto
Posts: 10
Talking My Sys is close to yours

My system is the lil brother of yer striker -supposedly-. I have a P5N32SLI-E -680i- which minus the LCD poster and SUPER DUPER Bridge\Phase cooler interconnect is the same board. No jokes.... peel off the sticker -i'm serious theres a sticker- that sez P5N32SLI-E and it sez "STRIKER EXTREME" under it. That being said, there is no reason why yer clocks cant match mine...I even have a 6600 like you do -albeit mine is slightly BBQ'd by now I'm sure- if ya want more info as too the details of how i got my settings just ask.

Spectre
__________________
Spectre's Specz:

CPU: Intel E6600 2.66 @ 3.97
Mem: 4G 667 @ 725 4-4-4-10 CR1
Vid: MSI 8600GTS 725\1500\2250
Mobo: ASUS P5N32SLI-E BIOS 1404
PSU: 550W Modded +2 60mm Fans
HDD: Seagate 500g 7200 32M NCQ
Case: Custom, 7 external fan
mounts, 5 internal mounts
Temps: CPU: 32 @ idle
52 @ full load
GPU: 44 @ idle
54 @ full load

Theres 13 Fans crammed in there, I have no life :)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2008, 11:06 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

I hit 3.4ghz on my P5N32-E SLI with a e6600 before the board died a painful death.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gauging Interest.. FS Striker Extreme / Intel C2D e6600 3Ghz r0k0 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 14, 2008 08:11 PM
AuzenTech Xplosion or HT Omega Striker BALISTX Audio 6 January 8, 2008 09:22 AM
Striker Extreme: Won't Boot! wpurcell CPU's and Motherboards 10 September 9, 2007 08:18 AM
Striker Extreme + 8500 Ballistix Tracer Don't play nice? CDE CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 23, 2007 05:24 PM
Striker Extreme/ compatible memory? wpurcell CPU's and Motherboards 2 August 23, 2007 01:41 AM