Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 10:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 146
Default

Intel Linpack does not work! its garbage =/ reason I say this is because I ran 20 passes on 3.9GHZ, but 3dmark 06 crashes.. I put my cpu @ 3.75GHZ (which is prime stable) It passes 3dmark without any issues :]... I can't get 3.9GHZ Prime stable, but apparently Linpack says its stable.. I think it either only works for intel.. or it doesnt work better then prime..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 01:26 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamcha View Post
Intel Linpack does not work! its garbage =/ reason I say this is because I ran 20 passes on 3.9GHZ, but 3dmark 06 crashes.. I put my cpu @ 3.75GHZ (which is prime stable) It passes 3dmark without any issues :]... I can't get 3.9GHZ Prime stable, but apparently Linpack says its stable.. I think it either only works for intel.. or it doesnt work better then prime..
Uhh yeah, running Linpack on AMD isn't exactly ideal.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 04:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Uhh yeah, running Linpack on AMD isn't exactly ideal.
It says it supports AMD cpu's..
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 10:27 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamcha View Post
It says it supports AMD cpu's..
Still, Linpack was made by Intel for Intel CPUs. AMD CPUs are far different so I doubt that it stresses the CPU the same way it does on an Intel.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 10:50 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Intel Linpack does not work! its garbage =/ reason I say this is because I ran 20 passes on 3.9GHZ, but 3dmark 06 crashes.. I put my cpu @ 3.75GHZ (which is prime stable) It passes 3dmark without any issues :]... I can't get 3.9GHZ Prime stable, but apparently Linpack says its stable.. I think it either only works for intel.. or it doesnt work better then prime..
I believe a number of folks on here are very similar to me when testing thier OC's...do not rely solely on one single test, but choose a combination of tests that have proven your OC's stable in the past.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2009, 04:46 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamcha View Post
3. Use the same stress-testing engine that Intel uses to test their products
before they are packed and put on shelves for sale.
This is the one that tells me its BS.
If Intel had a policy of testing their cpus this way, theyd have died and faded away in the 80s
It really doesnt do any more or less than Prime or the PI programs do,
which just try and execute very tight math loops.
50% at least of the processor functions do not get used when doing this.


Id stick with a diverse set of programs, since no one has a complete instruction test suite available for use.
Btw, Ive more or less given up on my project to do this due to lack of interest.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2009, 09:31 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
I believe a number of folks on here are very similar to me when testing thier OC's...do not rely solely on one single test, but choose a combination of tests that have proven your OC's stable in the past.
A lot of the time I just go about my usual things and do some gaming. If it doesn't crash, then it's good enough.

Though eventually I do get around to running Linpack/Prime95.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intel Smackover - any good? dadzilla CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 19, 2009 07:51 PM
Testing Intel Burn Test 64 and Prime 95 64 (Help?) appplejack Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 January 11, 2009 03:53 PM
could i burn out my mobo by....? andynerd CPU's and Motherboards 9 December 28, 2008 09:29 PM
Good test programs for new rigs. chouchou O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 22, 2008 05:01 PM
Burn time enzeo Storage 3 July 24, 2007 11:13 PM