Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 01:23 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Gigabyte Motherboards & Load-Line Calibration...

Anyone have experience using Load-Line Calibration on a Gigabyte board?
It's another thing that I can't seem to find any good info about.
Some say it's ok, some say it's not.

For my current OC of 3.8GHz I've tried with LLC and without.
Enabled I need to set Vcore to 1.34375V in BIOS... cpuz shows 1.328 idle; 1.312 to 1.296 load.
Disabled I need to set Vcore to 1.37500V in BIOS... cpuz shows 1.344 idle; same load voltages.
To me it looks like a good thing...
However I'm a little concerned about voltage spiking out of the safe zone.
How high could it be spiking with LLC off?

I'd like to hear some thoughts on Load-Line Calibration, particularly from people who are using Gigabyte motherboards.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; May 14, 2009 at 02:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 01:36 PM
HuttFuzz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 50
Default

Hey dude, i have the same board as you and there's no way i would OC without Load-Line Calibration. All it does is fixing the Vdroop. You see that you need more voltage without Load-Line because the Vdroop is bigger.

I think that's about it. Most poeple who OC with the GB boards use LLC.
__________________
Core i7 920(D0) @4.0 1.212v | Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | OCZ Gold 3x2GB CL8 | Silverstone FT01-BW | TRUE 1366-RT | eVga GTX275 FTW (713/1512/1260) | Corsair TX850w | Hitachi 500GB | Seagate 7200.11 750GB | Dual Screen (Dell 2208wfp & Viewsonic VP930b)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 02:56 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

It's sounding to me like this feature works a little differently on Gigabyte boards.
I had read that Vcore would go up under load with LLC or similar features enabled.
When I tried it and saw that was not the case I got a bit confused.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 03:19 PM
HuttFuzz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 50
Default

Ok, still works very well
__________________
Core i7 920(D0) @4.0 1.212v | Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | OCZ Gold 3x2GB CL8 | Silverstone FT01-BW | TRUE 1366-RT | eVga GTX275 FTW (713/1512/1260) | Corsair TX850w | Hitachi 500GB | Seagate 7200.11 750GB | Dual Screen (Dell 2208wfp & Viewsonic VP930b)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 03:34 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

On some motherboard's LLC will actually boost Vcore by 0.01-.02V, but I've never seen any definite pattern to this. As for whether or not you need it, the only way to know for certain is to pull out a DMM, and properly measure the Vdroop. Software monitoring simply isn't reliable enough to get an accurate picture for these purposes.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 03:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Regina
Posts: 196
Default

Don't worry safe oc voltage is actually quite a bit higher than 1.35.

Intel is usually pretty conservative and they list it at 1.55volts
http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/9374/attachmentk.jpg

I wouldn't do that under anything but water those. So you are probably pretty far from dangerous spikes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 05:40 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Are the other voltages affected the same by Vdroop/drop as the Vcore is?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 12:36 PM
someguyfromhell's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ...
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

Nope, no other voltages affected.

However I do not recommend you to enable Load line calibration. It was designed by Intel to reduce the stress on the VRMs.

Some good info:AnandTech: Overclocking Intel's New 45nm QX9650: The Rules Have Changed

Make sure to read the whole article too. Very informative.
__________________
Specs: C2Q Q9550 @ 3.5Ghz, Asus P5Q Deluxe, G.SKILL F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK, Sapphire Radeon 4890, Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w PSU, WD Caviar Black 640GB, Hitachi 2TB HDD, Windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 12:39 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

vdroop is GOOD!

Its like a dam in a river.

Hold back the water to much and you could have problems.

Let the water out and your ok.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 01:18 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I understand that Vdroop is supposed to be good.
There are a lot of people who say LLC is ok to use on Gigabyte boards though.
Isn't there a review on this site somewhere saying it's a good feature?
I don't know... right now I have it disabled.
Idle voltage for 3.8GHz is 1.344V... 1.312 to 1.296 under load.
I've found that my CPU needs 1.296V under full load to remain stable with this OC.
If I enable Load-Line Calibration I only need 1.312V idle, and under load Vcore is 1.296.
I'd really like to keep this thread going.
I appreciate all the input so far, but I still can't decide if I want to enable it or not.
Whether you use LLC, or not... think it's good, or bad... please share your thoughts/experiences.


*edit*
Here's the review...
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 X58 Motherboard Review
It's not the same motherboard, but the review makes Load-Line Calibration look like a good thing.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; May 19, 2009 at 01:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
gigabyte , load line calibration , motherboards

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD & GIGABYTE Proving Grounds Video MAC Press Releases & Tech News 2 May 14, 2009 06:14 AM
How Motherboards Are Made: A Gigabyte Factory Tour yamawho CPU's and Motherboards 8 September 13, 2008 06:29 AM
OCZ Unveils 8GB & 16GB Memory Kits for P45 Motherboards MAC Press Releases & Tech News 10 August 10, 2008 03:18 AM
ASRock P45 & P43 Motherboards Unveiled SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 18 June 2, 2008 10:35 AM