Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 12:24 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

What's your concern about not using it? Idle temps? Because those don't matter. If it runs full load at the same vCore in both settings, I'd leave LLC off.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 12:37 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I guess my only concerns would be the extra voltage needed while idle, and the instable Vcore under load.
With it disabled Vcore jumps from 1.312 to 1.296 under load...
If I have Vcore set to use 1.296 it drops to 1.280 and I'll get BSOD's.
With it enabled Vcore will stay at 1.296 under load.
I suppose it's not really a big deal with my settings, but I have the feature and I want to learn about it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 02:07 PM
HuttFuzz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 50
Default

Well for me , if you need less voltage in the Bios for it to be stable, then it's good. I don't see a point of leaving LLC off if it gives you a higher Vcore at idle.
__________________
Core i7 920(D0) @4.0 1.212v | Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | OCZ Gold 3x2GB CL8 | Silverstone FT01-BW | TRUE 1366-RT | eVga GTX275 FTW (713/1512/1260) | Corsair TX850w | Hitachi 500GB | Seagate 7200.11 750GB | Dual Screen (Dell 2208wfp & Viewsonic VP930b)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 07:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Regina
Posts: 196
Default

Man the gigabyte is holding me back those, I can't get the computer to boot at 222bclk.

I looked on forums and the only thing I can imagine helping this thing is a new bios.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 08:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

I don't remember where I read it, but my understanding of the feature is that it helps protect your system from spikes when it switches from full load to idle. Basically the system is throwing a ton of Amperage at the chip to sustain full load, but when it suddenly drops to idle, a slow (relative) reaction time to stop trying to feed the CPU at those levels will result in a very high momentary spike in Voltage.

I could be completely off base here, but that's what sticks in my mind.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 10:31 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

You are on the right track Mr Wilson....on Evga Boards its referred to as "with VDroop" and "without VDroop"
"Without VDroop" will require less vCore set in BIOS, but under full load the VCore wil rise substantially....
"With VDroop" will require more Vcore in BIOS, but the vCore will "Droop" or reduce substantially under load....

Thier has been a ton of discussion on the issue....for longevity of the CPU and to protect against Voltage Spikes it is recomended to keep "VDroop" enabled....as Enaberif stated "VDroop" is good....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 10:47 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I don't see Vcore go up under load with LLC enabled.

LLC Disabled:



LLC Enabled:

Last edited by somecanadianguy; May 19, 2009 at 11:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 11:02 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I don't remember where I read it, but my understanding of the feature is that it helps protect your system from spikes when it switches from full load to idle. Basically the system is throwing a ton of Amperage at the chip to sustain full load, but when it suddenly drops to idle, a slow (relative) reaction time to stop trying to feed the CPU at those levels will result in a very high momentary spike in Voltage.

I could be completely off base here, but that's what sticks in my mind.
One of the main proponents of that argument was Anand's Kris, as laid out in this article.

Personally, I'm in favour of Vdroop. I have yet to see it conclusively demonstrated that LLC does anything to lessen Vcore ripple under load. And by the time LLC matters either way, I think I care more about the quality and cleanness of the given voltage than the average reading that shows up on a DMM. If benching at X volts doesn't kill the processor, idling at X+0.02 volts will probably be just fine.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 02:47 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

VDroop is good, m'kay?

Here's a couple past posts from me, filled with good information, on the matter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
To the people asking, vDroop(called "Load-Line Calibration" in this case) is an often time misunderstood feature that's mandated by Intel. It was introduced with the Core 2 Duo, but its implementation wasn't too tightly interwoven then, with the i7 that's changed.

I forget the specifics right now but long story short, turning "off" vDroop causes the change from idle to load to be alot more harsh to the CPU then leaving it "on". The reason I put it in quotations is because the motherboard is actually doing more work when its "off" than when its "on".
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
By turning vDroop off, it makes the motherboard PWM's work MUCH harder, as well as being a bit harsh on the CPU. Personally, and this is just my opinion, your better off leaving the voltage higher with vDroop on, than the other way around.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
Don't be parinoid, just find what works best for you. vDroop being off or on isn't gonna damage your CPU. Worse case scenario? It might make your overclock unstable.

When it comes to overclocking, due to the fact vDroop is more interwoven with the i7's than before(C2D), more often than not your better off leaving vDroop on than off and setting the voltage 0.02v higher. While it hasn't been proven to cause instability one way or the other(and I do stress this), the reasoning is simple, with vDroop "off" the changes between various loads are alot more harsh and resulting "voltage spikes" could destabilize the CPU for a split second causing instability, crashes, and errors.

As an example, when you have vDroop "off", you'll notice that sometimes(not always) when you go from idle to load your vcore will actually go UP by an ever so slight amount. The reason this happens is when you turn vDroop "off" the motherboard monitors the vcore line, and whenever the CPU's vcore drops, even if only for a split second, it will "spikes/increase" the voltage to keep it as close as possible to your set value. Thats also why some vendors don't call it "vDroop off" but rather "loadline calibration" or some other variation.

Saaya explains it best! More detailed info about vDroop on i7
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!

Last edited by Chilly; May 20, 2009 at 03:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 09:29 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Chilly...I remember you providing me with those Posts a number of months ago! Presently I OC "with VDroop".....
that is one of the factors that could be a little "mis-leading" when Posting OC's and vCore:
1. Is the Posted vCore under load "with VDroop"...obviously that will indicate a much lower vCore
2. If VDroop "disabled", the vCore entered into BIOS is hardly representative of what your VCore is under load...as it will go up substantially.

I always tend to Post what the vCore value is that I set in BIOS "with VDroop" enabled. If anything, it will always go "down" from this value under full Prime load.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
gigabyte , load line calibration , motherboards

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD & GIGABYTE Proving Grounds Video MAC Press Releases & Tech News 2 May 14, 2009 05:14 AM
How Motherboards Are Made: A Gigabyte Factory Tour yamawho CPU's and Motherboards 8 September 13, 2008 05:29 AM
OCZ Unveils 8GB & 16GB Memory Kits for P45 Motherboards MAC Press Releases & Tech News 10 August 10, 2008 02:18 AM
ASRock P45 & P43 Motherboards Unveiled SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 18 June 2, 2008 09:35 AM