Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
View Poll Results: Is installing windows OC'd a good idea
YES 23 57.50%
NO 14 35.00%
I don't know 3 7.50%
Voters: 40. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 10:21 AM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Installing an OS overclocked

This came up in mIrc last night and I was too tired to get into it with John and I think here might be a better place to discuss it. My current rig will not overclock... the cpu itself is right on the edge of it's max speed and so I might be able to get 200mhz out of it with a ton of tweaking... so its not really worth it. Also the OS corrupts itself almost immediately.

I have OC'd in the past since the 440bx chipset which some of the older members would know was a legendary chipset.

The one thing i knew back then and to this day was never install an OS while overclocked... you ran the potential of having corrupted data on a fresh install leaving you with the possibility of an unstable OS before even trying for a max stable OC. I honestly thought this was just general knowledge however it appears it is not.

Todays software makes it easy to re-install an OS quickly if it becomes corrupted while tweaking... programs like Acronis can have you back up and running inside 20 minutes...

I'm curious as to what some of the pro overclockers feel on the topic.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 10:26 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,635
Default

I've always installed on a overclocked system and never had an issue.

Biggest reason for corruption is unstable memory not cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 10:27 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,986

My System Specs

Default

I've done it quite a few times with no troubles... although that's my stable 24/7 overclock.. (did it 2 nights ago)

If you're talking about the AMD 6k? Yeah don't do it... I had one of them and it was a finicky bitch to get even 100MHz out of it...

If it's 24/7 stable I don't see why not but.. if you don't think it's stable better off not taking your chances and making more work for yourself!
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 10:27 AM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Unless the OS was already installed in a completely stable system ( prime95 24hour, OCCT, 3dmark, run a few games for a few days, fold, whatever ) then it's fine to install the OS. Otherwise, corruption is inevitable.
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 10:29 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark View Post
Unless the OS was already installed in a completely stable system ( prime95 24hour, OCCT, 3dmark, run a few games for a few days, fold, whatever ) then it's fine to install the OS. Otherwise, corruption is inevitable.
Not true as you could do say a 5% or 10% increase in a overclock and still be perfectly fine.

90% of the time people forget to properly setup their ram which is the biggest reason for failure.

If your memory is meant to run at 2.1v and its set at 1.8v because you didn't change it.. corruption is yes then inevitable.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 10:32 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

As long as the OC is, or at least seems stable? Its usually (95% of the time )fine, even if you haven't stablity tested it yet.

I do it all the time and I've never had an issue, perhaps not the smartest idea, but its not harmful either.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 10:34 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Actually i never even attempted to install the os overclocked, the entire system was at stock settings while i was installing. I was overclocking AFTER doing a fresh install using STOCK clocks.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 10:47 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

I voted No, I install running stock settings, once installed I load my overclocked profile.

I have done it this way for years.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 10:50 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I install OCed all the time, but only when I know it's 100% stable. If you are not sure about that dont do it.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 11:08 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,635

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
I install OCed all the time, but only when I know it's 100% stable. If you are not sure about that dont do it.

^
^
^
^


What he said..... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's a safe load temp for an overclocked GPU? chouchou Video Cards 19 December 29, 2008 11:21 AM
recommended brand + overclocked models for HD 4870 x2 Generic User #2 Video Cards 6 December 5, 2008 10:21 AM
FS: Galaxy Factory Overclocked 8800GT thatguy Buy/Sell & Trade 10 July 25, 2008 11:45 AM
Hello from Overclocked Doc! Overclocked doc Suggestions & Feedback 3 August 7, 2007 11:18 AM
Brisbane Overclocked @ XS Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 1 December 15, 2006 10:13 PM