Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
View Poll Results: Is installing windows OC'd a good idea
YES 23 57.50%
NO 14 35.00%
I don't know 3 7.50%
Voters: 40. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 06:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

The way I do it works for me
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 07:11 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Comparing the time for reformat to the time to knock down and bring up an overclock, I will always bring back settings to stock first. The last thing I need to do is spend another hour fixing system screw-ups due to overclocking. (Gotta keep folding ya know)
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 06:25 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bismarck ND
Posts: 128
Default

What if your running a first edition of windows without the latest sevice pack? Do you think it would be safe then? (XP or Vista)
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 06:43 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Comparing the time for reformat to the time to knock down and bring up an overclock, I will always bring back settings to stock first. The last thing I need to do is spend another hour fixing system screw-ups due to overclocking. (Gotta keep folding ya know)
+1...totally agree...stable OC or not.....time it takes to knock FSB , vtt and vCore back to stock....vs the time it takes for a "full reformat" and installation....why?
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 07:58 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

I've done it both ways and never had a problem in the past.

Quote:
Biggest reason for corruption is unstable memory not cpu.
Correct, an unstable cpu will likely not show its weakness during the installation of the new OS as its not under any extreme usage.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2009, 12:05 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

It's just fine as long as you know things are stable.


Obviously if it's not stable, well, you're an idiot then
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2009, 07:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

+1 to needing it to be stable.

I wouldn't consider myself a pro overclocker, but I just installed an OS while overclocked (on a VM) and it did fine.
-- as a side note, I continued to fold 511 pt work units while the install was happening

If you try to manually revert everything to stock before installing the OS, I think it's too easy to miss something, e.g. you turn the voltage down on your RAM but forget to change the timings back to accomodate the lower voltage, therefore accidentally giving yourself an unstable computer.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2009, 08:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 146
Default

I install OC'd, as long as its at least 12hrs prime stable.. never had any issues..
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 12:12 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

i use to install overclocked
but it wont install nice 1 time outa 10
now i dont install overclocked
for that xtra 2 min not worth it
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 12:16 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamcha View Post
I install OC'd, as long as its at least 12hrs prime stable.. never had any issues..
He is talking a brand new build.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's a safe load temp for an overclocked GPU? chouchou Video Cards 19 December 29, 2008 11:21 AM
recommended brand + overclocked models for HD 4870 x2 Generic User #2 Video Cards 6 December 5, 2008 10:21 AM
FS: Galaxy Factory Overclocked 8800GT thatguy Buy/Sell & Trade 10 July 25, 2008 11:45 AM
Hello from Overclocked Doc! Overclocked doc Suggestions & Feedback 3 August 7, 2007 11:18 AM
Brisbane Overclocked @ XS Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 1 December 15, 2006 10:13 PM