Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 10:21 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,791

My System Specs

Default

I tried 3.6ghz (425x8) @ 1.4850 vcore. It was stable when I was using my computer everyday, but it was crashing during w/e while folding 24/7 for 2 days without me using it. The BSOD was related to video drivers when I checked in windows debugger. My temps were like 62 max with a Xigmatek s1283. I'm now at 3.2 ghz because the summer is coming and it's too hot in my room. Never played with the nb voltage, maybe I should! Anyways, my rig is out for now since my GPU is in RMA and BFG ****** up (card received monday but they updated the RMA friday after a message from me)
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 01:42 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,586

My System Specs

Default

Just passed 333x9 @ 1.1v (vdroop puts it at 1.07 via CPU-Z) 5 hour OCCT stress mark. Going to start dialing it up again. 1.2v@ 350x9 sounds like the next good testing point.

I'm wondering if my issues are NB Volts. I didnt play with them much beyond stock, mainly because like Charlie said, that chipset runs HOT. Its got a fan on it now, but damn, if I throw more volts (and thus heat) at it...Id start to get pritty concerned.

Maybe I should anyways, and if the board/ram goes, I'll have a good excuse with the wife to build a new i7 rig?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 01:45 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

You should be able to push at least 1.4v through the northbridge without it heating up THAT bad.

Do you know what the temps of your NB is currently?
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:00 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,586

My System Specs

Default

According to nVidias monitor, my temps and volts are as follows

CPU: 1.2v (vdroop is excessive on this board if thats what I had it set to, losing .1v to droop...)
FSB: 1.3v (stock volts)
HT(SPP-MCP): 1.45v (stock volts)
MCP: 55c (is this reasonable?) @ 1.5v (stock)
System (Northbridge?): 35c, volts not listed. I think 1.2v is stock?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:07 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,586

My System Specs

Default

Vcore:


Its set to 1.2 in the bios, but idling in windows its 1.1v, droops to 1.07v under load. Prime95 5 hours stable, as seen above.

Maybe the bios is just out 100mv? It would explain alot.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

1) Don't bother with OCCT I find it very unpredictable and unreliable.
2) Which direction is the air blowing on the NB heatsink? Out of heatsink or into heatsink? I've always found air blowing INTO heatsink works better.

If your northbridge is in fact only at 35 degrees its still quite cool if it started to climb into high 40s low 50s I'd worry.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 03:41 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Don't bother with OCCT I find it very unpredictable and unreliable.
Since when?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 06:32 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
1) Don't bother with OCCT I find it very unpredictable and unreliable.
2) Which direction is the air blowing on the NB heatsink? Out of heatsink or into heatsink? I've always found air blowing INTO heatsink works better.

If your northbridge is in fact only at 35 degrees its still quite cool if it started to climb into high 40s low 50s I'd worry.
I find OCCT to be better than Prime95.

@Sagath. You either got a really lucky chip, or OCCT/CPU-Z is reporting the wrong voltages.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 06:48 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,586

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
I find OCCT to be better than Prime95.

@Sagath. You either got a really lucky chip, or OCCT/CPU-Z is reporting the wrong voltages.
The VID on my Q66 is 1.2v. I'm sure its just my selection in boards thats holding this thing back. Maybe I should sell the chip, and both boards. Someone else can probably get this puppy to 3.8+

And then, maybe, I'll just move to i7...

Edit: Whats the valu on a 680i, P5k-Premium Wifi, and a 1.2VID Q66? Now Ive got myself thinking...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2009, 10:07 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

So... where you got it running at now?

I got mine 8hrs Prime95 stable running 9x370/3.33GHz at 1.30625V BIOS (1.344V in OS, my board over volts CPU voltage). It is pretty much as high as I will go for now as it would go as high as 60 to 62 degrees at times during the Prime95 torture test. I am thinking that I will have to lower it soon as well due to the oncoming summers heat, it was around 18 degrees outside yesterday when I started testing and fell a bit during the night.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dont know what to call it. kyle_L Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 7 April 3, 2009 06:08 PM
Why dont benchmarks include slightly older hardware? muse108dc Video Cards 11 December 19, 2008 01:03 PM
[FS] stuff I dont need Ken_C Buy/Sell & Trade 10 December 14, 2008 05:03 PM
Confused about ram cooling do I need it or dont I? Gameplaywarrior RAM 8 December 5, 2008 06:39 PM
AA dont appear to be working on my 9800GTX+ Gameplaywarrior Troubleshooting 13 November 1, 2008 08:17 PM