Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 12:39 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Well it BSOD'd after about 40 minutes....so:
1. Upped vCore to 1.3375v (still below 1.356v)
2. Upped vtt to +175mv currently at 1.375v
Nice, rj!
Are those voltages what show in cpuz, or what you entered in BIOS?
I'm still a little bit confused by that.

Either way...
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 12:57 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

No...those are Voltages entered in BIOS....just finished my Vantage run...highest score yet.....
Can imagine what my score would be at 4.2 Ghz vs 3.9 Ghz....
ORB - Compare
Gotta change my Sig..... :)

Now I'll continue running this OC thru the night.....P95 Blend.

Here's the skinny...you enter a vCore value in BIOS...in Windows it shows slightly less...thats called VDrop (the difference bwtween the two values)
Now...check out your Vcore under full P95 Load...even less..the difference between what shows in Windows Idle and what shows in Windows under full Load is what is referred to as VDroop.
Get it.....?...on the Classified Board I have a selection in BIOS called "without VDroop".......another added feature for us "hardcores"...hahahahahhahahaha...lets see if we can f_ck something up???....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 12:59 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm trying to get 206bclk x 19 to run Prime95 for more than a minute...
BIOS settings are
Vcore 1.375V (cpuz shows 1.344 idle, 1.298 load)
QPI/Vtt 1.400V
DRAM 1.600V
Everything else 'auto'

I wonder how much of a differenct the QPI Link of x36 has to do with my failures...
My mobo doesn't let me lower it any further than that.
I'll try more QPI/Vtt and see what happens.

Anyone with some more info about other voltage settings please chime in...
IOH core, ICH core, CPU PLL, QPI PLL...???
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 01:01 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

No luck with that?
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 01:02 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Whats your Memory divider at?...you have 1333Mhz correct?...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 01:04 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

My memory multi is at 6
I'm about to try Prime95 with these settings right now...
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 01:08 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

BSOD again...
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 01:30 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

What was your vCore at in BIOS....and vtt?...remember..every Chip is different...in the big picture...my Chip is prety good...considering I can get stable at 3.9Ghz with vCore 1.3375v...although..I still have to run P95 Blended for several hrs to be considered stable....I'm happy to be Posting this with P95 into about 25 minutes so far.....
Could be the Chip....but I certainly wouldn't rule out the Board.....

Tell you...really its a big mystery......just got to play with it!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 01:36 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

So BSOD after 35 minutes...bump up vCore to 1.35v...just a tad under the magic number...and start over agin (P95 Blend)......if it BSOD's again I'll go back to my stable 3.81 OC.....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 01:54 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I am wondering if maybe the better motherboard handles auto voltages better.
I've seen a lot of people setting some of their voltages manually to help stability over 3.8ghz.

I'm having trouble getting 3.8ghz stable...
200bclk x 19
RAM multi x6
Uncore Freq x13
QPI Link x36

Vcore 1.356V
QPI/Vtt 1.380V
DRAM 1.580V
everything else on 'auto'

Last night it ran Prime95 for over 1hr...
Tried it just now and BSOD'd after 20mins...
I was online this time, and that probably didn't help.
I'm going to mess around a little more and then I need some sleep.

Good luck to you, rj

Last edited by somecanadianguy; May 8, 2009 at 02:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EX58-UD3R BIOS error... somecanadianguy Troubleshooting 0 April 12, 2009 08:56 PM
No Sound!!! Gigabyte EX58-UD3R integrated audio somecanadianguy Audio 2 April 5, 2009 09:49 AM
Need help getting my i7 920 stable with gigabyte ex58 extreme 2slick4u Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 March 30, 2009 04:49 AM
[FS] Q9450, gtx 280, ep45-ud3r, amd 5400+ be nakano2k1 Buy/Sell & Trade 11 February 10, 2009 09:25 PM
Problems with ex58 extreme. sheepdogexpress Troubleshooting 5 December 7, 2008 05:04 PM