Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 03:42 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
One thing though...I would not immendiately crank your Memory that is rated at 1333 Mhz to 1444 Mhz...that is a very aggressive Memory OC!! Concentrate on your CPU OC keeping your RAM speed as close to spec as the divider will allow.
Thanks, rj.
That's pretty much what I'm thinking right now.
I don't want to go to far just yet.
Remember guys and girls, I'm still pretty new to this.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 03:45 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

So to bring up a previous question I had...

Could I try 200bclk x19 for 3.8ghz with memory multi of 6x for 1200mhz?
Would that be reasonable?
If I did that what would I have to do to my voltages?

I like where I'm at right now, but I want to learn as much as I can
and decide where I want to go.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 07:09 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
Is there some good info out there on QPI/PTT voltage?
I've seen people running with QPI/PTT under 1.3V on a 4ghz, 1.375 Vcore overclock.
Why do I need 1.36V for my OC?
I trust you know what you're talking about, but I'm really curious about this.
Can anyone help me understand?
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 07:23 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

Considering your 1333 RAM is going to limit you to a certain extent, why not go with
170 Mhz x 21 (Turbo Boost on) = 3.57 Mhz (good OC)
Therefore your Memory with a 2:8 divider = 170 x 8 = 1360 Mhz (slight OC RAM)

In most cases you'll be required to bump up your vcore and vtt...remeber with Memory running at 1360 Mhz you'll have to bump your vDimm up....I'd got to rated voltage (1.65v)

Now I'm sure you can see the advantages to getting faster RAM, as in 1600 , 1866 or even 2000 Mhz.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 07:35 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

How would the two setups compare in terms of speed?

180bclk x21 (with turbo on) for 3.78GHz
RAM @ 1080 (6x multi)

170bclk x21 (with turbo on) for 3.57GHz
RAM @ 1360 (8x multi)

I am thinking about getting better RAM, but before that I have to upgrade my video card so this will have to do.

I'm also still curious about trying 200bclk x19, with memory multi x6 (1200Mhz).
That's 3.8GHz and will have my RAM running closer to spec without going over (makes me think of The Price is Right...).
How would something like that compare to the other two setups?
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 07:48 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
How would the two setups compare in terms of speed?

180bclk x21 (with turbo on) for 3.78GHz
RAM @ 1080 (6x multi)

170bclk x21 (with turbo on) for 3.57GHz
RAM @ 1360 (8x multi)

I am thinking about getting better RAM, but before that I have to upgrade my video card so this will have to do.

I'm also still curious about trying 200bclk x19, with memory multi x6 (1200Mhz).
That's 3.8GHz and will have my RAM running closer to spec without going over (makes me think of The Price is Right...).
How would something like that compare to the other two setups?
Best thing to do is try one...get it Stable....Benchmark it!
Then try the other ones and Benchmark it...

In "real world" stuff, I would say that your faster CPU speed will be more noticeable than the faster Memory.....I'm not familiar with your Board / BIOS...how many Memory Dividers do you have, as in 2:6, 2:8, 2:10, 2:12, 2:14 are these what you have?
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 07:52 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,598

My System Specs

Default

Higher blck is always better than high ram freq.

When I have new (untested) parts, I always oc the ram first, find its max. frequency. How do I know my ram (stock 1333) can do 1440? Because at 1.65V it can run stable at 1620. With that known, then I can oc the chip, and adjust the ram freq and voltage accordingly, knowning that if I have an unstable oc, it's very likely the chip.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 07:52 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I had to check... it goes up to x18.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 09:38 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Here's a look at my temps at 180bckl x 21...
Vcore 1.328 idle... 1.280 under full load.
RAM running 6x multi for 1080Mhz @ 8-8-8-20



Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 09:45 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

For fun I want to try 200bclk x19... 6x memory multi.
Any voltage suggestions?
I'm guessing I wouldn't need too much more Vcore or QPI/Vtt as I'm close to 3.8GHz now. Would 1.54V DRAM run 1200mhz?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EX58-UD3R BIOS error... somecanadianguy Troubleshooting 0 April 12, 2009 08:56 PM
No Sound!!! Gigabyte EX58-UD3R integrated audio somecanadianguy Audio 2 April 5, 2009 09:49 AM
Need help getting my i7 920 stable with gigabyte ex58 extreme 2slick4u Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 March 30, 2009 04:49 AM
[FS] Q9450, gtx 280, ep45-ud3r, amd 5400+ be nakano2k1 Buy/Sell & Trade 11 February 10, 2009 09:25 PM
Problems with ex58 extreme. sheepdogexpress Troubleshooting 5 December 7, 2008 05:04 PM