Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 01:52 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I had my board revert to default settings too...
BIOS said it was because of a failed OC.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 02:12 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Voltage adjustments.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 02:21 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Mother Board ( Gigabyte ex58-ud3r )
Drivers ( Current )
Bios ( f5 )
CPU ( i7 920 )
CPU Cooler ( TRUE, Push only)
Memory ( XMS3 TR3X6G1333C9 3X2GB DDR3-1333 CL 9-9-9-24 )
PSU ( Corsair TX650 )
GPU ( Geforce 9500gt for another month )
Drivers ( 182.5 )
Operating System ( Vista Home Premium 64 Bit)

MB Intelligent Tweaker (M.I.T):
CPU Clock Ratio [20x]
CPU Frequency [3.6GHz] [180x20]
QPI Link Speed [x36] [6.48GHz]
Base Clock Control [Enabled]
BCLK Frequency (Mhz) [180]
Performance Enhance [Standard]
System Memory Multiplier (SPD) [6.0]
Memory Frequency (Mhz) [1080]
DRAM Timing Selectable (SPD) [Auto]
>>>Channel A+B+C
CAS Latency Time [8] [Auto]
tRCD [8] [Auto]
tRP [8] [Auto]
tRAS [20] [Auto]
Command Rate (CMD) [1] [Auto]
Profile DDR Voltage [1.5V]
Profile QPI Voltage [1.15V]

Advanced CPU Features:
Intel Turbo Boost Tech. [Enabled]
CPU Cores Enabled [All]
CPU Multi Threading [Enabled]
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) [Enabled]
C3/C6/C7 State Support [Disabled]
CPU Thermal Monitor [Enabled]
CPU Eist Function [Enabled]
Virtualization Technology [Enabled]
Bi-directional PROCHOT [Enabled]

Uncore & QPI Features:
QPI Link Speed [x36]
QPI Link Speed [6.48GHz]
Uncore Frequency [x17]
Uncore Frequency [3060Mhz]
Isochronous Support [Enabled]

Advanced Clock Control:
Base Clock (BCLK) Control [Enabled]
BCLK Frequency (Mhz) [180]
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) [100]
C.I.A.2 [Disabled]
CPU Clock Drive [800mV]
PCI Express Clock Drive [900mV]
CPU Clock Skew [0ps]
IOH Clock Skew [0ps]

Advanced Voltage Control:
Load-Line Calibration [Disabled]
CPU Vcore 1.3000V [1.3500V]
QPI/Vtt Voltage 1.150V [1.360V]
CPU PLL 1.800V [1.800V]
>>>MCH/ICH
PCIE 1.500V [Auto]
QPI PLL 1.100V [1.100V]
IOH Core 1.100V [1.100V]
ICH I/O 1.500V [Auto]
ICH Core 1.100V [Auto]
>>>DRAM
DRAM Voltage 1.500V [1.540V]
DRAM Termination 0.750V [Auto]
Ch-A Data Vref. 0.750V [Auto] (same for B and C)
Ch-A Address Vref. 0.750V [Auto] (same for B and C)

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

How does that look?
Should I manually set some of the voltages instead of having them set to auto?
Could I maybe back some of them down a little and still remain stable?

Last edited by somecanadianguy; May 5, 2009 at 04:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 02:23 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Either adjust voltages, or lower blck by 1.

QPI/Vtt Voltage 1.150V [1.340V] ----- should be 1.360V
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 02:26 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I wasn't sure about that one.
In my BIOS the 1.36V setting is coloured purple.
All other setting I chose were white.
I'll set it to 1.36, but I'm wondering how much it matters.
Everything seems to be working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 02:28 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

How about the memory?
I have it running at 1080Mhz now... 1.54V
Do I need the extra voltage to run it at that speed?
Stock speed is only 1066 @ 1.5V.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 02:53 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Purple means you are entering a set of parameters out of the reference design. Next is red, which means you better have proper cooling. Purple is fine.

I set up my Folding rig using the exact same parameters, and it's been folding for 48 hours with no hiccups.

Your XMS3 is stock at 1333, 1.5V - not 1066. Running 1080 is low with that voltage. My Gskills in the same Folding rig are running at 1440, 1.54V, even though they are rated for 1333.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 03:16 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Sorry, I meant default BIOS setting for ram is 1066 @ 1.5V
I wasn't sure if I should push it to 1444 right away...
If I decide to keep it at 1080 for now can I set voltage back to 1.5 or something?
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 03:31 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Is there some good info out there on QPI/PTT voltage?
Can someone here maybe help me understand something?
I've seen people running with QPI/PTT under 1.3V on a 4ghz, 1.375 Vcore overclock.
Why do I need 1.36V for my OC?
I trust you know what you're talking about, but I'm really curious about this.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 03:35 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Sorry Canadian Guy I'm not familiar with your Board....others as Charlie will be able to chime in I'm sure...

One thing though...I would not immendiately crank your Memory that is rated at 1333 Mhz to 1444 Mhz...that is a very aggressive Memory OC!! Concentrate on your CPU OC keeping your RAM speed as close to spec as the divider will allow.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EX58-UD3R BIOS error... somecanadianguy Troubleshooting 0 April 12, 2009 08:56 PM
No Sound!!! Gigabyte EX58-UD3R integrated audio somecanadianguy Audio 2 April 5, 2009 09:49 AM
Need help getting my i7 920 stable with gigabyte ex58 extreme 2slick4u Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 March 30, 2009 04:49 AM
[FS] Q9450, gtx 280, ep45-ud3r, amd 5400+ be nakano2k1 Buy/Sell & Trade 11 February 10, 2009 09:25 PM
Problems with ex58 extreme. sheepdogexpress Troubleshooting 5 December 7, 2008 05:04 PM