Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #131 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 10:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default my rig

Well, I finally couldn't resist anymore and decided to drop a lil money on a i7 rig myself. So just thought I would post my results. I had to do a bit of digging around for inforation on how to OC the system Coming from a Core2 based rig to this was a little change. I will say though I am very much liking it. I am running the older stepping i7 920 processor. On the EX58-UD3R. I didn't want to be spending 400+ on a board for a new system and when I saw this, I couldn't resist, great budget board. And it seems to clock very nicely. I think I'm more at the limit of my CPU than I am with the board.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #132 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2009, 02:12 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm happy with this motherboard.
As I push though, I wish I'd had at least another few hundred $$$ to spend on this rig.
For everday use this thing is amazing... i7 @ 3.8GHz =
Really, it was great at stock too, but who wants to run stock speeds?
Maybe when I get my next rig I'll go all-out, but for now I'm very happy.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; May 19, 2009 at 02:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #133 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2009, 08:42 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 401

My System Specs

Default

I have now convinced myself to spend $300 more to get an intel i7 system instead of AMD PII 720. For the $300, I get 6 GB ram instead of 4GB, a quad instead of x3. So, I need your advice fast since there is a good sale on at NCIX. Here is what I am considering:

Intel i7 920 D0 - I am going to get this locally to make sure it is D0. $360.
OCZ pc3-12800 DDR3 1600 MHz gold xtc 6GB - $79.99
Gagabyte EX58-UD3R $196.5
WD Caviar Black 640GB $83.99
Corsair TX650W 78.99
Powercolor Radeon HD4850 $114.99
Thermalright Ultra-120 extreme 1366-RT $81.4
Antec 300 case $65.72

Total $1062.

I saw a review of the antec 300 and it performs on par with CM690, but not sure if the TRUE will fit?
Is the Powercolor HD4850 any good?
I am not much of a gamer, and will not cross fire, but certainly will oc to 3.8 G on air, so I think PSU is ok?

Thanks for any quick comments, I'll have to order soon, as NCIX is on sale.
Reply With Quote
  #134 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2009, 10:14 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Looks good to me, but I'm no expert.
I was in here a couple months ago getting help on my build.
No idea about the TRUE in that case though... fits fine in the CM690.
Reply With Quote
  #135 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2009, 05:14 AM
eto's Avatar
eto eto is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 3
Cool

got this core i7 920 a few weeks ago, nice n fast out of the box, rich options on this cpu/mobo .. must .. tweak
im getting v close to stable with this setup
steep learning curve clocking this kit, i had a few bios clearances along the way, total refusals to boot
whatever, heres where im at now

Code:
# Motherboard :-GA-EX58-UD3R rev 1.0
# Bios :f6
# OCZ3G1600LV6GK 3 x 2GB
# Video card:-BFG GT260
# Power supply:-Pc Power & Cooling 750w
# Operating System:-xp/linux64/unix/linux32
# CPU and System Cooling:-Noctua
# CPU and System temps:-43c-70c
# Core i7 920 FBO/BATCH # 3836B177 stepping C0


Advanced CPU Features:
CPU Clock Ratio ................................ [20x]
Intel(R) Turbo Boost Tech .................. [Enabled]
CPU Cores Enabled ............................ [All]
CPU Multi Threading .......................... [Disabled]
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) ................... [Disabled]
C3/C6/C7 State Support .................... [Disabled]
CPU Thermal Monitor ......................... [Enabled]
CPU EIST Function ............................ [Disabled]
Virtualization Technology ................... [Enabled]
Bi-Directional PROCHOT ..................... [Enabled]


Uncore & QPI Features:
QPI Link Speed .............................. x36
Uncore Frequency ..........................   x21 (Always 2x memory Multi or 2x +1)
Isonchronous Frequency ..................[Enabled]


Standard Clock Control:
Base Clock (BCLK) Control ................ [Enabled]
BCLK Frequency (MHz) .....................[160]
PCI Express Frequency (MHz) ........... [100]

C.I.A.2 [Disabled]

Advanced Clock Control:
CPU Clock Drive ..............................[800mV]
PCI Express Clock Drive ................... [900mV]
CPU Clock Skew ............................. [0ps]
IOH Clock Skew ............................. [0ps]


Advanced DRAM Features:
Performance Enhance ...................... [Standard]
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P) ......... Not Present
System Memory Multiplier (SPD) ........ [10.0]
DRAM Timing Selectable (SPD) .......... [Manual]

Channel A + B + C

Channel A Timing Settings:
##Channel A Standard Timing Control##
CAS Latency Time ......................8
tRCD ..................................8
tRP ...................................8
tRAS ................................. 24

##Channel A Advanced Timing Control##
tRC ...................................45  (Should be = tRAS + tRP or above for stability)
tRRD .......................................
tWTR ......................................
tWR ........................................
tWTP .......................................
tWL ........................................   (tWTP Must = tWR + tWL + 4)(tWL Must be CAS Latency -1)
tRFC ..................................90
tRTP .......................................
tFAW ......................................
Command Rate (CMD) ................2T

##Channel A Misc Timing Control##
Round Trip Latency ...................



Advanced Voltage Control:

CPU
Load Line Calibration ................. [Disabled]
CPU Vcore ...............................[1.35625v]
QPI/VTT Voltage 1.150v ............      [1.320v]
CPU PLL 1.800v .......................[Auto]

MCH/ICH
PCIE 1.500v ...........................[Auto]
QPI PLL 1.100v .......................[1.100v]
IOH Core 1.100v ..................... [1.100v]
ICH I/O 1.500v .......................[Auto]
ICH Core 1.1v ........................[Auto]

DRAM
DRAM Voltage 1.500v ..............    [1.640v]
DRAM Termination 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-A Data VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-B Data VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-C Data VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-A Address VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-B Address VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-C Address VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
gives me CPU @ 3200mhz
Ram @ 1600

seems stable [Memtest/LynX/Prime95]
im not really after max clocks,
any suggestions where to keep tweaking

UPDATE: just noticed the batch numbers posted earlier; mine [in UK] is

FBO/BATCH # 3836B177
C0 stepping
EX58-UD3R v1.0

Last edited by eto; May 21, 2011 at 09:25 AM. Reason: # Core i7 920 FBO/BATCH # 3836B177 stepping C0
Reply With Quote
  #136 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2009, 08:58 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'd say either lower Vcore or go for a higher bclk...
With that much voltage I could get to about 3.6GHz with HT on.
What is cpuz showing it at?

I see that your Uncore freq is higher than your QPI...
Not sure if that's a problem, but it may hold you back.
My QPI is at 3600Mhz... Uncore 2600Mhz...
I only have 1333Mhz RAM though (running @ 1200 for now).

200bclk x 18 will give you 3.6GHz, with 1600 RAM(8x multi), and you shouldn't need more Vcore.
However, that would run QPI Link at the same as CPU, so I don't know if it's safe or not.

Also, open up Easytune and check what the 'auto' voltages are all being set to.
I found it better to set those manually in BIOS.

(Oh... is your chip C0 or D0? That could make a big difference too)

I could be completely off here, so I hope some more experienced members will offer some advice as well.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; May 26, 2009 at 09:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #137 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2009, 11:56 AM
eto's Avatar
eto eto is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 3
Default

yeah, after every volt change i look in Easytune and Everest and cpuid and whatever else to try to get near the truth
# 3836B177 .. 'B' so its not a first run, it says C0/C1 in Cpu-z
nice suggestions, ill post again
Reply With Quote
  #138 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 12:35 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 465
Default

Hi guys...I have read most of this thread....I am overclocking with a Gigayte x58 Extreme 920 D0.
Currently I am at 3.6 GHz with a volt of 1.18750. Am I doing something wrong...as I see some guys at 1.3v.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #139 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 02:47 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Could be a variety of reasons:

1) No two systems are the same.
2) No two processors are the same - some just need a little more voltage.
3) Some people add more voltage than is strictly necessary
4) Some people wind up using excess voltage because they didn't know to tweak some other setting instead.
5) The C0 steppings of the 920 generally seem to need a little more voltage on average.
6) Different people have different definitions of "stable". More intensive tests may need a little extra voltage.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #140 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 05:37 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 401

My System Specs

Default

I managed to installed everything and after reseating and lapping the vendetta2, I am now settled down to overclock. So, far I have reached 3.8GHz with vcore 1.2375v and vtt 1.16volt (1 hour of P95). Temp of core 0 max at 73c. So, vendetta2 is not doing as well as TRUE. I tried 4.0 GHz earlier with 1.25 vcore and it hanged on Prime95. So, I will not pursue that and be happy with 3.8 GHz for now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EX58-UD3R BIOS error... somecanadianguy Troubleshooting 0 April 12, 2009 08:56 PM
No Sound!!! Gigabyte EX58-UD3R integrated audio somecanadianguy Audio 2 April 5, 2009 09:49 AM
Need help getting my i7 920 stable with gigabyte ex58 extreme 2slick4u Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 March 30, 2009 04:49 AM
[FS] Q9450, gtx 280, ep45-ud3r, amd 5400+ be nakano2k1 Buy/Sell & Trade 11 February 10, 2009 09:25 PM
Problems with ex58 extreme. sheepdogexpress Troubleshooting 5 December 7, 2008 05:04 PM