Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 05:48 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 493
Talking Board Swap From Asus To Gigabyte

Swapped My P5Q out for the Gigabyte EP45-UD3P

Never have tried giga but so far not bad after realizing all the newer descriptions for bios settings.
P5Q is a good board make no mistake about it

Reloaded Vista and 5.8 score now

Runs on below



OCCT 3.0.1
Linpak
Test type custom
test duration 3 hr
Test mode max(90% free memory)



MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)
Robust Graphics Booster ............... Auto
CPU Clock Ratio ..........................10x
Fine CPU Clock Ratio.....................0
CPU Frequency ...........................3.55(355x10)
Clock Chip Control
Standard Clock Control
CPU Host Clock Control..................Enabled
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ............355
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) .....100 lock


C.I.A.2 .................................:[Disabled]
Advanced Clock Control [Press Enter]
CPU Clock Drive...........................800 default
PCI Express Clock Drive................900 default
CPU Clock Skew (ps)....................0
MCH Clock Skew (ps)...................0
DRAM Performance Control
Performance Enhance................extreme
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.).....profile1
(G)MCH Frequency Latch............... 333
System Memory Multiplier ..............2.40b
Memory Frequency (Mhz) ..............800 852mhz. actual
DRAM Timing Selectable ................Manual

Standard Timing Control
CAS Latency Time................5
tRCD .................................4
tRP'....................................4
tRAS..................................12
Advanced Timing Control
tRRD..........................................3
tWTR..........................................3
tWR............................................6
tRFC...........................................52
tRTP...........................................3
Command Rate (CMD) .................2 T
Driving Strength Profiles
Driving Strength ............................1066

Channel A
Static tRead Value..........................7
tRD Phase0 Adjustment...................auto
tRD Phase1 Adjustment...................auto
tRD Phase2 Adjustment ..................auto
tRD Phase3 Adjustment...................auto
Trd2rd(Different Rank)....................auto
Twr2wr(Different Rank)...................auto
Twr2rd(Different Rank)...................auto
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank)..................auto
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...............auto
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...............auto

Channel B
Static tRead Value.........................7

tRD Phase0 Adjustment...................auto
tRD Phase1 Adjustment...................auto
tRD Phase2 Adjustment ..................auto
tRD Phase3 Adjustment...................auto
Trd2rd(Different Rank)....................auto
Twr2wr(Different Rank)...................auto
Twr2rd(Different Rank)....................auto
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank)..................auto
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...............auto
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...............auto

Motherboard Voltage Control
Voltage Type.………... Manual
CPU
Load Line Enabled
CPU Vcore….……….....1.35000v
(cpu vid range 0.850v-1.36250v)
CPU Termination….....1.340v
CPU PLL…………………...1.500V
CPU Reference.…………0.848v

MCH/ICH
MCH Core…………….....1.240V
MCH Reference….…….0.728
MCH/DRAM Ref.….....0.980v
ICH I/O……………….....1.500V
ICH Core…………...……1.200v

DRAM
DRAM Voltage ……....1.96v
DRAM Termination.0.980v
Channel A Reference 0.980v
Channel B Reference 0.980v

Advanced Settings
Limit CPUID Max. to 3....................Disabled
No-Execute Memory Protect............Enabled
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)................Enabled cpu throttles according to load on it.
C2/C2E State Support....................Disabled
x C4/C4E State Support..................Disabled
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) ..........Enabled
CPU EIST Function.........................Disabled
Virtualization Technology................Disabled Enabled if you use VMware/Virtual PC
Integrated Peripherals
Legacy USB Storage Detect ..............Enabled
Other settings
Lan 1 enabled
Lan2 disabled
green Lan disabled
on board serial port 1 disabled
on board parallel port 1 disabled
On board sata/ide device disabled
onboard 1394 enabled
sata port 0-3 native mode enabled
sata raid ahci disabled
All usb 1.0/2.0 controller enabled
have usb mouse and keyboard all that enabled
floppy drive1.44 enabled…….I use one
floppy 3 mode support disabled
delay for hdd 0
hdd smart drv disabled
initial display first PEG
first boot device OS hard drive
I use boot F12 key for anything else I need to call up
2nd boot device disabled
3rd boot device disabled
password check set up not used
cpu warning temp 70c/158f
cpu fan fail warning enabled
power fan fail warning disabled
sytem fan fail warning disabled
cpu smart fan control disabled have arctic freezer pro on want it on from get go.
pnp/pci all autos

Bios F-9
E-7300 cpu 45nm LGA 775
Thermal 65w
Buss 1066MHz.
Thermal Spec 74.1c
L2 Cache 3Mb.

Updated







__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.12
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; May 25, 2009 at 08:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 09:57 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

why not ahci it makes a big difference if you do large file transfers
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 10:39 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
why not ahci it makes a big difference if you do large file transfers
Not really. AHCI is more useful for hot swap and etc.

Enabling write cache and advanced performance will yield good results.

Seagate 250 .. No AHCI
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 12:17 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 493
Default

I might do ahci sometime I know enough to be dangerous to do it without a re install but

I don't\won't really utilize the advantages of ahci.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.12
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; April 4, 2009 at 04:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 04:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 493
Default

Updated
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.12
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 04:40 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

sorry you can benchmark it to death but unless you transfer upwards of 200 gigs a day( not everyday but a whole lot more then most) ahci makes a huge differance in the real world i save almost 5 to 10 hours a week not worry about file transfers because of ahci. do some large i mean large file tranfers and time it with a timer then tell me what you save cause i have done this it's worth it for me (look into it a little even before you comment. i mean the name says it all and if you know how a storage device works you will understand why it makes them faster)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; April 16, 2009 at 05:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 08:12 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 493
Default

I am not benchmarking it to death period.
ALL I care is its stable
I have more important things to do
I don't download movies or any large files unless you call newest driver files and bios large files.
And I don't game either.
Probably my largest downloads is MS Update site.

My ONLY reason to post the settings was it MIGHT help somebody see whats up with these settings on something they have.


from tweak town home of gigabyte..Yes, the SATA Detection is slow in all Gigabyte boards, they are working on updating the BIOS with new AHCI Detection Rom's. Some of the boards already have the new one now. AHCI is always slower then IDE mode for booting, because in IDE mode the AHCI BIOS does not have to load to detect anything. If you are not hot swapping your drives then I suggest you run normal IDE mode

I found that to be true on an older series giga board
last years one i forget the model.
It matters not anyway.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.12
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; April 16, 2009 at 08:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 09:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Default

I have the ep45-ud3l board ,almost same bios I am oc'ing my e5200 any suggestions on the settings in bios?
Thks
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 11:28 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

and tyreman i was not talking to you about your post i was talking to enabrief ( tyremen you did not post any benchmarks ) about the hd tach bench i have found most of these bench's to not come close to real world use. and all i asked was why no ahci just curious.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 11:38 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

and the boot time we are talking about here is less the 1/2 second for the achi bios to load.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cheap replacement for bricked asus board esanity CPU's and Motherboards 0 February 10, 2009 03:19 PM
Asus mother board with eatx12v help please mpis CPU's and Motherboards 12 November 25, 2008 01:46 PM
FS: BNIB EK Waterblocks set for Asus board zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 20, 2008 07:23 AM
No Boot/display on brand new Asus P5N-MX board the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 17 June 18, 2008 02:55 AM
Any reviews of this Gigabyte Intel Micro ATX board azn_outlaw CPU's and Motherboards 3 June 6, 2008 07:10 AM