Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2009, 12:34 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 178
Question Cant figure out how to OC my dell???

I have a P4 dell 5100 @ 3Ghz that ive been trying to OC over the past few days and i havn't had much luck. I download BIOS Agent and it said this:





I don't really know what much of it means but i noticed it said the max speed was 4Ghz. I also have a pic of the BIOS:



The only thing that i could find that had anything to do with making it faster was something called speedstep. Could someone please help me. I have overclocked once before but i don't really know what im doing.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2009, 12:35 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Its a Dell.

Chances of successful overclocking is pretty nil.

They don't give you that option.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2009, 12:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Traditionally, any of the prefab computers have their bios options completely crippled. Even in cases where it looks like a retail motherboard (you can find the model # on the board itself) more often than not it's slightly different that the one you can get through retail channels and trying to flash a different bios file into it will brick the board.

Probably not the answer you were looking for, but it's an unfortunate truth.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2009, 11:51 AM
someguyfromhell's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ...
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

Windows overclocking is your only choice, every time you restart your pc, the overclock is lost. SetFSB and Clockgen are your best choices
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2009, 11:59 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

Much like my Mains Board (Intel Brand, DG35EC) its locked into one mode.
Dell's , HP's etc etc are all setup for Stability , and thus they lock out most of the Normal BIOS options to prevent users from doing anything to the board.
Probably gonna be a no-win situation on that one.
Hate to say it, but I realized that myself too.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2009, 12:16 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

I have an HP laptop with a locked out bios, I have it software overclocked a little from 2.0ghz to like 2.2ghz, havent had any problems with it so far but I wouldnt push it any further then that. I used clockgen for that overclock. I also had an Acer box with an x2 5000+ in it that I downloaded a modded bios for, it was good for another 200 mhz there too maybe a bit more, but it also allowed me to run my ram at 677 instead of 400 >.<
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help me figure the minimal wattage of my mini-itx machine baov Power Supplies 5 September 30, 2009 01:13 PM
See if you can figure this gem out Bojamijams Troubleshooting 14 January 8, 2009 01:27 AM
A dell buy mailaw New Builds 2 November 27, 2008 06:04 PM
FS: Dell 2407WFP (Rev. A04) alexroland Buy/Sell & Trade 5 June 2, 2008 04:58 PM